We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tandayapa Bird Lodge
Ranked #58 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect.”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

This lodge is in the middle of nowhere, frequented by more birds and hummingbirds than you can believe. The only access was on foot or by mule but also the accommodation rooms and the food was top class. I cannot believe it is possible to do this on this location. It is only possible because the staff are top class. Give it a go, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: As usual pay the money for the best. We did and it was SO much worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SKImember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    22
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
20
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is a very special place! Following a steady upward climb of approximately 20 minutes from road to lodge, we were delighted to take off our hiking boots and settle into our room, which was actually quite new, very clean and large, and included an entire back wall of glass overlooking the cloud forest. The alfresco dining is another short hike up from the group of rooms we stayed in, but the reward is hummingbirds, many, many species and all in abundance, at the feeders surrounding the dining area. While the trails on the property did not produce many birds for us, 6:30 a.m. at the dining area promises not only all the coffee you want, but also tons of birds within 10 to 20 feet of your java! But a great lodge is often the result of special people and this lodge has Estalon and his wife. From carrying our heavy duffles up and down the trail, to pointing out every bird he could possibly find for us, to serving up meals dressed in his finest black-and-white checked vest and dress slacks, Estalon is a gentle (and silent) warrior. I promise you, if you stay for over two days you will want to bring him home with you! Meals here are simple, but tasty and yes, feel free to have a glass of wine with your dinner! The famous Nono-Mindo birding road runs through here (well, back down at the bottom of the mountain that is) so it's an excellent idea to get a bird guide and transportation and spend a day birding this road. We stayed three nights and two full days. Perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wearytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I have visited Tandayapa Bird Lodge before, but it has been a few years, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is even better! first, the hummingbirds at the feeders are truly the best such display in the world. Really. There literally are 50 hummers present simultaneously for viewing, and the species count per day was 18 during my Feb stay. The booted racket-tails will land on your finger if you are near the feeders. You dont need binoculars!!
The rooms in the hotel are clean and tidy. I did not detect any mold as is commonplace in all of the other Ecuador cloud forest lodges that I have visited.
Birding day trips from the lodge allow you to visit Silanche, Milpe, Yanacocha, and other bird preserves.
The lodge trails are in good shape, and during my stay some powerful woodpeckers were roosting every evening in the dead alders behind the lodge. it was easy to see them at dusk, just by stepping out the lodge door and looking up the hill.
The meals at the lodge were quite good and Ecuadorean. Soup course with every lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OregonBirder95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
503 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

This lodge is entirely focussed on birdwatching and the hummingbird feeders around the patio are always abuzz with activity (we saw fifteen species). Accommodation is basic, the rooms are very small, but comfortable. The food is not elaborate but lovingly prepared and more than adequate - especially the soups. The manager and all the staff were exceptionally friendly and always willing to help.

Our guide, Gabriel and driver, Antonio, were great fun to be with and Gabriel was very knowledgeable. Antonio was pretty good at spotting birds too, but could speak no English. We went on four trips close by and a little further afield and saw many new birds.

If you are a birder, this is a great place to stay for a few days, but you need a guide for the trips. The lodge has trails but they were steep and slippery and without a guide you will have difficulty finding the birds.

Even if you are not a birder, a day watcxhing the hummingbirds can provide much enjoyment.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank What
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We saw a lot of hummingbird feeders at various lodges during our three week stay in Ecuador, but these were the best ever! We spotted 14 species without any effort. They also feed a Giant Antpitta which is great for photographs. The food is good, the trails are good, the rooms are excellent. It's so safe here you don't even get a key to your door! There was a expert volunteer here (Leo) who helped us find birds- including a quetzal- for free. Tandayapa is a must for birders , and it combines well with Mindo which is only an hour away. Our itinerary was organised by Andes Conexion - a brilliant company that helped me massively when I had an accident.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Des Langford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

First i have to say, that this report is just about a day trip, which I organized by myself. I had to take a bus at 7:35 and arrived at Tandayapa at 9:20. I did not go all the way from the main street to Tandayapa village but took one of the pick-ups to take me up. The people here are really nice and normally you give them like 25cents for taking you up, eventhough mine didn't want my money... I think this is a really good advice, because otherwise you have to walk over an hour, no matter how fit you are (I'm 16 and very fit!)
So I arrived at the Lodge and went at the very first to the "Hide" hoping to encounter some bird, but I was too late and since there hadn't come people in the last days they hadn't put new food out...
So I went back to the Lodge and then walked down almost all of the trails and even a little part of the Nono-Mindo Road.
Then I talked with a volunteer worker, who soon became my friend and he showed me some birds around the Lodge...
I spent some time, checking the hummers, but I'd already seen them before.
I got a total of 55 birds I could identifie by myself, and many birds, like Furnariids were seen but I couldn't identifie the exact species...
Included in this birds were:
Sickle-winged Guan, Red-billed Parakeet, , 14 hummerspecies, Masked trogons, Red-headed Barbet, Crimson-rumped Toucanet, Powerful Woodpecker, Immaculate Antbird, Andean Cock-of-the-rock, and as a real special bird, because it hadn't been seen since 2006 in this area, a Black Solitaire. All birds were sitting and allowed very good views.
The field-guide "Birds of Northwest Ecuador" is very helpful.
Overall this trip was a full success the only thing that wasn't that good is, that you have to walk alot, if you want to find the birds...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maffong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We arranged the 3 day/2 night private birding package with Tandayapa Birding Lodge as part of a 23-day vacation throughout Ecuador. Reservations went smoothly and everything met our expectation of a remote, high altitude “cloud forest” experience. An expert bird guide and driver were provided from Tropical Birding (www.tropicalbirding.com). They were excellent! Over the three days, we saw 175 different species of birds – non stop birding from 5:30 am to sunset at 6 p.m. Well worth the money.

The lodge is inviting and comfortable. The rooms are clean; bedding is basic but there were enough wool blankets to keep us warm. Unfortunately, our room had a damp, mouldy smell which was disturbing. The meals are fixed and the food is not bad, but not the highlight.

Views over the treetops of the forested valley are incredible from the lodge, which is perched 50-60 meters above where vehicles are parked. Fortunately, strong men carried our luggage up the concrete trail to the room. The trails are also often slippery so bring appropriate footwear; also in this wet high altitude environment, it is necessary to be reasonably fit, cautious and agile. Overall, we enjoyed this experience very much.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank UrsaMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
19.8 mi away
Las Terrazas de Dana Lodge
23.7 mi away
El Abrazo del Arbol
El Abrazo del Arbol
#4 of 7 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
19.7 mi away
Casa Divina Lodge
Casa Divina Lodge
#2 of 7 in Mindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hacienda Rumiloma
Hacienda Rumiloma
#37 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
16.0 mi away
Bellavista Cloud Forest
Bellavista Cloud Forest
#1 of 4 in Tandayapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sachatamia Lodge
Sachatamia Lodge
#3 of 20 in Mindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandayapa Bird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandayapa Bird Lodge

Property: Tandayapa Bird Lodge
Address: Km 52 via Calacali-La Independencia, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tandayapa Bird Lodge comprises of a main building (where ten of the rooms are located), and another outlying building with two further rooms. The main lodge has been designed with convenience in mind;there is no need to hike between your rooms and the dining area. The outer rooms are used for those who wish for more seclusion, away from the main building. The entire lodge is based within verdant cloudforest, on the western slope of the Andes in Ecuador, virtually on the equator. The lodge’s centerpiece is the balcony, where a series of feeders bring in a variety of hummingbirds species daily. Over 30 hummingbird species have been recorded, and usually more than a dozen species come in daily. Forest trails are available on site, and the lodge is situated within a core of excellent birding and nature areas, and so is often used as an extended base to visit these too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tandayapa Bird Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing