We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don´t count on them”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Alcala
Ranked #33 of 228 Quito B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don´t count on them”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We made a reservation and got it confirmed even twice-the second time the day of arrival. But when we showed up they pretendet not to know anything about it. No excuses no nothing. Very rude! So if you want to be sure to get a room, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank taunusdrache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    30
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
12
22
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

This place is Awesome ! It is perfect for what I wanted and the Price is Right ! Staff ... Awesome !
Very helpful with every question I asked. I was even given a Nickname which seems to be what I get everywhere i go ! LOL WiFi worked great so i could keep in touch with emails and Facebook when i got back from my daily adventures ! Walking distance to anything I wanted. Breakfast and coffee was delicious ! But most of all I loved meeting with the other guests every evening after our adventures in the common guest area and enjoying some beer or wine and having a Blast ! I make friends for life every time I go there and we stay in touch on Facebook ! I can't wait to go back ! Johnny

Room Tip: Private room with a private shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed here almost a week in late March 2012.
Clean room, private bath/consistent hot water, lots of pressure. Good value, especially with free Wi-Fi and breakfast included. Wi-Fi worked excellent.
Guests have kitchen privileges, bottled drinking water available 24/7.
Excellent security.
Very friendly, and helpful staff!!
Just a couple of blocks walk to the center of Mariscal shopping, restaurant, nightlife area.
I'll readily stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at Hostal Alcala. If you want to stay in Gringolandia/Mariscal, this place is great. The rooms were big enough, the bathrooms were small, but with good water pressure and stable temperatures, and everything was clean. The breakfast was great! Buffet style for coffee/tea/hot milk and toast. They made you eggs and gave you fruit and juice. Very filling for those of us with larger appetites. We paid about $17 per person per night with breakfast included. The beds are a little old but good enough for us. We were not too crazy about the neighborhood, very noisy and not very safe, but the hostal is very good about locking the doors and they give you the keys to the outside gate to get in at night. The gentleman (Jorge, I think?) at the desk is very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldCitizen19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Decent breakfast and great location. Little loud on a Friday night for a while (noise not from the hostel but a neighborhood bar) but got quiet by 11:00. Staff was great, did our laundry, got a taxi ordered for us successfully, at really early times in the am to the airport, my friend left at 4:00 and mine was at 5:15. Able to walk to lots of restaurants. Also had an internet computer available. We had intended to stay at Posada del Maple but they were full and sent us here. You can use the kitchen and also they have filtered water. And there was always hot water, didn't have to ask for it as we had to at some places. The double room was $16 a piece including taxes.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryjanerafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I reserved a room at Hostal Alcala more than a month in advance, and confirmed a week beforehand, but when I arrived at the hotel around midnight (I told them I was going to arrive late) after a long bus ride, there was no room for me. I had to go to several other nearby hotels, all of which were full, before settling for a shared room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neomorphus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quito hotels

Sosnowiec, Poland
Level Contributor
210 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Very near to the new town center. Friendly staff but they don't speak english. They have kitchen for tourists' use. Price $25/night (couple). A lot of various channels on TV.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrzemekC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#51 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andino
Hotel Andino
#27 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Del Maple
Posada Del Maple
#30 of 228 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#35 of 228 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal El Arupo
Hostal El Arupo
#30 of 254 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcala

Property: Hostal Alcala
Address: Luis Cordero E5-48 (1187) y Reina Victoria | La Mariscal, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Alcala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Alcala is serving tourists in the world since 1998. Located in the famous La Mariscal 300 meters from the Plaza Foch, tourist heart of Quito, due to its high concentration of restaurants, cafes, bars, operators tourism, nightclubs and souvenir shops and only minutes from downtown and other attractions, in addition to all major transportation lines. We have communal spaces, patios, terraces and TV room with fireplace and free WIFI. Equipped kitchen and free use self-service coffee and tea for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcala Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing