We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Alcala - DO NOT STAY THERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Alcala
Ranked #33 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hotel Alcala - DO NOT STAY THERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

The hotel is locate in the La Mariscal district which is like Miami’s South Beach minus the affluent gays and keeping the gangs, bumper to bumper traffic, graffiti, discarded booze bottles and urine smell. There is a disco behind the hotel that starts blasting music at 6pm and doesn’t shut down until 3am – 6 days a week. On the front street urban yuts spend all night signaling each other with shrill whistles and shouts. Ear plugs and Ambien couldn’t even help. The hostess/manager, Tonya, does not speak a word of English and apparently very little Spanish, as she could never understand a word we said in either language - and they weren’t complicated conversations. It was an obvious inconvenience for her to leave her soap operas for any request – even when we wanted to pay our bill. You will not feel welcome here either in the neighborhood or in the hotel. We stayed in Old Town, the historic district, when we returned from the Galapagos Islands and the atmosphere was much cleaner, quieter and safer.

  • Liked — juice with breakfast
  • Disliked — noise and cold rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sv_makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
22
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2007

This hostel was good for the price. It was in close vicinity to some nice restaurants, internet cafes, and small shops in the Marsical district. Staff were friendly and helped us with our luggage; they did not know English but we could communicate with them with pretty minimal Spanish so it wasn't really a problem. The hostel also had a 'no visitor rule' for safety purposes, which made us feel at ease.
The room was quite small as is standard in hostels, but it was nice and quiet and overlooked a pretty garden. The dining room was warm and welcoming, the breakfast was lovely, and they even made eggs catered to your liking. I would recommend this hostel for people on a
budget looking for accommodation in Quito.

  • Liked — It's peacefulness and breakfast
  • Disliked — musty-smelling rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank lstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2007

My Wife and I stayed at the Alcala for 4 Nights during New Years '07. The hostal is clean and the staff is friendly. The staff speaks very limited english but are very willing to help you in anyway possible. The breakfast is relatively good and it is a great time to meet fellow travelers to exchange ideas and experiences. The location is good, lots of restaurants, travel agents and bars/clubs nearby. The free internet in the common area is cool but was slow and rarely operating properly.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JaSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton
Level Contributor
221 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2006

My adult daughter and I stayed here twice and then I returned for one more night in Feb 2006. Our first time, we had rm 4, two twin beds, TV, crappy shower. The second time, we had rm 11, bigger room off of an upstairs patio and there's only one other room opening onto the patio. We had a single and a double bed, good shower. Both these rooms were $28 (rate inc. taxes/breakfast of eggs or pancakes, lg fresh juice, toast, jams, coffee, tea, hot choc).

When I returned, I was alone and had rm 3, 2 twin beds, HUGE bathroom, really good shower, $18.50.

The best room appeared to be rm 8 (also $28), it was a large room, mini refrigerator, big TV, recliner, opened onto the other side of the upstairs patio (was the only room there).

The personnel don't speak Spanish but it does not appear to be a problem. The place was clean and in an excellent location . . . I would stay there again. Oh, they have free internet, too.

Hope this helps,
Sandy (in Denton)

Helpful?
16 Thank behrens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#30 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#52 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Arupo
El Arupo
#34 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Andino
Hotel Andino
#28 of 226 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal El Arupo
Hostal El Arupo
#29 of 249 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
8.8 mi away
Posada Del Maple
Posada Del Maple
#30 of 226 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alcala

Property: Hostal Alcala
Address: Luis Cordero E5-48 (1187) y Reina Victoria | La Mariscal, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Alcala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Alcala is serving tourists in the world since 1998. Located in the famous La Mariscal 300 meters from the Plaza Foch, tourist heart of Quito, due to its high concentration of restaurants, cafes, bars, operators tourism, nightclubs and souvenir shops and only minutes from downtown and other attractions, in addition to all major transportation lines. We have communal spaces, patios, terraces and TV room with fireplace and free WIFI. Equipped kitchen and free use self-service coffee and tea for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alcala Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing