We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A plush hotel in Centro Historico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Relicario del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Ranked #45 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Thornbury, Victoria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A plush hotel in Centro Historico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

We were very pleasantly surprised with the elegance of this hotel when we entered from the street, as the exterior of the building is quite simple. The furniture and furnishings are beautiful, with original artwork on display (and available for sale). We were fortunate to have a lovely large room at the top of the building with a great view, (the disadvantage of no lift was outweighed by the lovely room).
Breakfasts were varied and delicious and we also enjoyed wonderful Pisco Sours in the evening.
The location is terrific, a very short walk to Plaza Grande which has excellent restaurants and beautiful buildings.
The staff, although speaking minimal English are very helpful. There is also a computer available for guests to use.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    38
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
58
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We moved here from small hotel in El Mariscal because we didn't want to keep taking taxis to historical sights and museums & el Mariscal can be very noisy. Best decision ever. It is 1.5 blocks from Plaza Grande thus easy walking to all parts of Centro Historico. Can't imagine a tourist staying anywhere but the old town.
We absolutely loved this hotel! It is small, quiet, lovely. It is so much more fun to stay in a house built in 1705 (remodeled for hotel 3 years ago) than a cookie cutter modern hotel. The staff was outstandingly friendly. Desk personnel speak English, tho bit of Spanish helps and is more fun. Rooms immaculate and quiet as they open on interior open spaces. Our room was next to an interior covered patio which was like a private patio. We spent time reading in the upstairs living room furnished in a traditional style, and in the top floor room with views over the city and a telescope.
We concur with everyone else, the breakfasts are outstanding.
Oh Yes we could get wifi in our room and there is a computer for guests

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Our group of 8 stayed at the Relicario del Carmen for 3 nights prior to a Galapagos trip and one night upon our return. The location is great--a 2 block walk to the main square and the tourism office, small grocery store around the corner, and plenty of restaurant within walking distance.

Our rooms were comfortable, spotless, and beautifully furnished. Bathrooms are small but modern, equipped with hairdryers, toiletries, and lovely bath linens. This two story hotel lacks an elevator but this posed no problem for our group, half of whom were seniors.

The daily breakfast was a feast--a different fresh fruit juice each day, a large basket of assorted warm breakfast buns and breads, eggs cooked to order and/or cereals. We ate their set dinner twice: soup, salad, entree, dessert, and wine. Both times the food was fine, but the table service was 5 star!

If I return to Quito, El Relicario del Carmen will be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tangerine46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel in the old town of Quito is perfect for a break to see the city. It has a unique style with original artefacts. It is comfortable and elegant.
I cannot speak highly enough of the staff, everyone was friendly and exceptionally helpful. Everyone tried very hard to understand us and to help us understand them - a few words of Spanish go a very long way here.
We originally booked a triple room but, when we realised it was too small for us for 5 nights, the manager was very helpful in making alternative arrangements. The rooms we moved to at the front of the hotel were very well appointed and surprisingly quiet, given that they overlooked the street. The single rooms are quite small but adequate.
Breakfast was an amazing experience, fresh food beautifully served. I enjoyed the personal service rather than the ubiquitous buffet breakfasts. I agree that the pastries were delicious.
There are a few lovely restaurants nearby and a trip to Mariscal for a bit of tourist food and drink is only $3 by taxi. We found the location to be ideal.
The old town of Quito is beautiful and this hotel is the ideal base from which to explore.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Their website doesn't do this hotel justice--it is much better. It is elegant, interesting, and all the staff are attentive and obliging in every way. It is a relatively safe short walk to the main square, and if you don't feel like going out its small restaurant offers good food. The breakfasts were of a very high standard with fresh juice and eggs cooked to order, and the best pastries we had in Ecuador. Our three nights there were a great success.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_J_BChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

The hotel itself is quite nice & location is perfect - however the service level from the staff is extremely poor - we had booked a trip where we returned to Quito several times - and the staff promised to put us in a particular room every time. This did not happen which was a great disappointment for us as we specifically was promised this.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank shp-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relicarm, Manager at Hotel El Relicario del Carmen, responded to this review, 29 January 2009
This review was written by angry guests. They reserved a standard room and we kindly let them stay the first night in our luxury room with a nice view to the street without additional charge. They expected the same room at their next entrance some days later. We coulden't give them this room, because other guests, who paid the higher rate, were assigned to that room. They missunderstood and insisted to be given that room. In compensation we kindly offered them a first class dinner without any charge and they accepted. We feel their reaction of writing their response was unfair. Also insulting our staff as not capable is absolutely not true. They were treated fairly and in a kind manner. It is our first such incident and has made us aware how problematic it is to give away free upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed four nights here and really enjoyed it. The hotel's decor is beautiful and there are some very nice public sitting areas. September is not the tourist high season so the hotel was not very full, which made it feel as if it were our own private house in Quito's old town.

The room was rather small, but no more so than many I have seen in Europe or Japan. The bed was very comfortable (if you like firm, which I do!) and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was generous and good.

If you like having interesting sights within walking distance of your hotel, then staying in the old town is much better than in El Mariscal.

  • Liked — Location in old town, and beautiful decor
  • Disliked — Internet didn't work for 3 of our 4 days
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#19 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Plaza Sucre
0.3 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#35 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Relicario del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Relicario del Carmen

Property: Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Address: Venezuela 1041 y Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#16 Family Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Relicario del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly historic house, dating back to 1705 has just opened it??s door as a hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. It is beautifully renovated with great emphasis on the original details and has all the comfort expected today, including a central air conditioning system. All the furniture is handmade by recognized Ecuadorian artisans and many original paintings decorate public and private areas. You will live in a real historic surrounding. The hotel is definitely declared non-smoking. It is located a block away from the main square "Plaza de la Independencia", the Government Palace and very close to many historic monuments of Quito. We also have an exclusive dining room and coffee-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Relicario del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Relicario Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing