We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Colonna Quito
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$504
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
62
0
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
0
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terraceunique furniturefabulous propertygracious hostsfantastic stayevery guesthighest recommendationold townglass roofbed and breakfastspent severalhistoric districtother guestslonger stayfive star hotelfresh flowerspresidential palace
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We just returned from a 3 night stay in Quito. Villa Colonna's location is superb. It is ideally situated in the historical and cultural center of Quito, within walking distance to the Presidential Palace, Plaza de San Francisco, numerous artisan shops and restaurants.

However what really sets Villa Colonna apart are the owners, Debra and Pascal, and their attentive staff. We arrived quite late but our driver, David, was waiting for us at the airport, as promised. Always a relief to see your name on a sign! Upon arrival at Villa Colonna, Debra and Pascal greeted us warmly, gave us a quick tour of their beautiful home and offered us light refreshments, which were welcome after a long day of travel. The pictures, while fabulous, do not do their home justice - the reality is even better. Definite WOW from common areas, kitchen, bedrooms, interior courtyard, rooftop terrace, unique furniture and artwork. Our bedroom had a lovely sitting area, exquisite linens, large shower with an ample supply of hot water. The following day we peeked in on some of the other rooms that didn't have guests and each room is as comfortable as the next. Fresh flowers, which Debra arranges, are everywhere. Beautiful and unique - just like Quito, just like Debra and Pascal.

Breakfasts were sumptuous and plentiful - fresh fruit, fresh eggs, fresh produce, fresh baked baguettes and breakfast breads. While we eat everything, attention is also paid to guests with dietary concerns. No one goes hungry! We were invited to dine with Debra and Pascal in the evenings and chose to do that twice. Again everything was organic and locally sourced. Our meals were fabulously prepared by Pascal. It's difficult to describe how delicious they were - the flavour and spices were luscious and the conversation around the table with Debra, Pascal and fellow guests is what made the evenings truly memorable.

As for attractions and day trips, we didn't have the opportunity to venture outside of Quito, but Debra and Pascal have a list of vetted, bilingual tour guides. Other guests raved about the quality of service and tours. We did however have a couple of personal walking tours with Debra and Pascal which was unexpected and pleasant. The changing of the guards at the Presidential Palace is something to see as are the numerous parks and squares dotted throughout Quito. I could go on and on, but all good things must come to an end. We were sad to leave, but we'll definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ckgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaColonnaQuito, Owner at Villa Colonna Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hello to the Grays,

Now what can we say but WOW!! First off thank you for noticing all the details and special touches we have done to make Villa Colonna a beautiful and relaxing hotel.
Pascal enjoys creating interesting meals and I enjoy creating the many flowers arrangements in our suites and around the hotel.
Quito sure is an incredible city filled with colours,sounds, music and life and for us to share that with our guests is wonderful. The changing of the Presidential guard every Monday is something to experience and one we don’t want them to miss out on. Living here we have the time to seek out special hidden away spots that most people would not get the chance to discover.
I will mention your kind words to our staff as well as David.
Best part was reading you will return, we look forward to more fun evenings around the table with you both.

Wishing you a 2018 filled with happiness,

Pascal & Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We stayed at Villa Colonna twice, both before and after a visit to the Galápagos Islands. It is a beautifully restored old building in the old town. Nothing could be better. It is well situated; the rooms are extremely comfortable and a good size; breakfasts are fresh, tasty, served at a time to suit you; and Debra and Pascal, the proprietors, are extremely generous and thoughtful hosts. They have lots of tips on restaurants and things to do, and have a range of tour guides that they can make arrangements with at short notice. They were also very helpful for us in booking restaurants and taxis when our Spanish wasn’t up to it. We did dinner in one night. It was a superb meal that we enjoyed with Debra and Pascal and some other guests. Nothing is too much trouble! We recommend Villa Colonna highly.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Kauaiguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaColonnaQuito, Owner at Villa Colonna Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hello to our Australian friends,

How thoughtful of you to have taken the time the day you left to write this wonderful review. We were happy to have been able to schedule for you a few last min tours especially the one to the Quilatoa crater which takes you on a travel through beautiful countryside.
As our first Australian guests you sure set the bar high for the many we have arriving soon.
Was a pleasure to have spent time with you both and we wish you many more adventures as you continue exploring new countries.

Warm regards,

Debra & Pascal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We just returned from a wonderful week in Quito and wanted to write about our stay at the amazing Villa Colonna. What a lovely hotel! We arrived late in the evening and were warmly welcomed by the owners, Debra and Pascal, in spite of the late hour. They took us on a quick tour of this immaculately restored colonial home, filled with elegant furnishings, original artwork and fresh flowers. From the first moment we knew that we were in for a wonderful stay. There were even fresh flowers in our room! The next morning Debra and Pascal prepared an elegant breakfast and then personally guided us on a walk through Colonial Quito, pointing out the sights and getting us oriented. That evening, Pascal offered to cook for us, and prepared us locally farmed rainbow trout and fresh organic vegetables. That was only the first of several memorable meals with Pascal, Debra and other hotel guests. Villa Colonna also can arrange a number of day trips and tours, a service which we took advantage of while we were there. Their knowledgeable guide, Lincoln, took us to main attractions like the Mindo Cloud Forest and the Quilotoa Crater while also showing us many out of the way sights that we would never have found otherwise. It's hard to say enough good things about this lovely hotel - Villa Colonna is the perfect combination of elegance, comfort and hospitality...when you are there it feels as if you are visiting friends.

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaColonnaQuito, Owner at Villa Colonna Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Bond,

What a wonderful review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for for mentioning the different things we do here to make sure our guests have the best time in Quito. Pascal especially liked reading how much you liked his breakfast and dinner creations. I will let Lincoln know about your kind words, we are so appreciative of him and the excellent service he always provides for guests.
I know you had mentioned a week was just not enough time to see all you wanted and we welcome you and your wife back anytime.

With the warmest of regards,

Pascal & Debra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We had a brief but memorable stay here with Debra and Pascale -- terrific location, beautiful, immaculate rooms/bathrooms (the photos are accurate), outstanding food, and lovely hosts. We were there on a Monday, and Debra and Pasquale took us on a brief walk around the center of the historic district tp point out sites we might want to return to and to see the changing of the presidential guard. They even sent a video of our excursion after our return. They could not have been more hospitable, and offered to have us stop back during our layover return for afternoon tea on the rooftop deck. The wifi was excellent -- reliable feature for people who really do need it.

It was easy to book with them directly, and they arranged our airport transportation. They can also arrange local tours and day excursions.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex186804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaColonnaQuito, Owner at Villa Colonna Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay here in Villa Colonna. You were a pleasure to have and we always love to show the guests the Monday changing of the guards at the Presidential Palace. Not many countries would do that every week.
We trust all was wonderful in the Galapagos and Pascal is happy you enjoyed the video he made for you of Quito.

We send wishes for more fun family adventures..

Debra & Pascal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

When you pass through the door and enter the patio you are immediately wrapped by the peaceful elegance. Everything at Villa Colonna is dedicated to harmony and you have the feeling of being in the hands of Pasithea. After months of intense work we needed this invitation to happiness. We enjoyed a delightful moment sitting down at the host table of Debra and Pascal after a day of discovery and sharing a delicious and healthy meal where the exquisite simplicity suggests a chef who understands the flavors of the soul. It was difficult to leave our suite so pleasant although discovering Quito is magic and plunges the walker in another time. Thank you very much for your welcome, your attention that took us away from impersonal big hotels to find this moment of warm and relaxing intimacy. Thanks also for the laughs, your precious advice and sharing your culture. We hope to come back at another time.

Room Tip: I visited one more suite and i understand that each suite is unique ! the whole house is a sanctuary and so are the suites...
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axellotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaColonnaQuito, Owner at Villa Colonna Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Axelle,

Thank you for your beautiful review of Villa Colonna. How wonderful to read you both enjoyed your time discovering Quito’s beauty and history. The city and surrounding countryside has so much to offer and everyone says they wish they had a few extra days here.
Our “ host table “ has been very well received and I agree with you that Pascal is a fabulous chef. He loves to be creative and have our guests experiencing the many different flavours of Ecuador.
Of course your always welcome to come back, we would like that very much.

Best wishes to you both,

Debra & Pascal


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews