We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you can afford it, don't go anywhere else.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Grande
Ranked #32 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Uberaba, MG
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“If you can afford it, don't go anywhere else.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Yes, the Plaza Grande is way more expensive than anywhere else you would stay in Ecuador. But the unbeatable location and great rooms with Jacuzzi make it worthwhile. Haven't tried the restaurant but there are great dining options walking distance. One of them is the Vista Hermosa, definitely recommended.
If I'm ever in Quito again, budget permitting, I'll surely return to the Plaza Grande.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    29
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
124
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

Plaza Grande Hotel Quito is a very fine hotel: excellent service, very friendly and efficient staff, very good restaurant. We have been there on three different times during our stay in Ecuador - by the third time we almost felt like being at home. Location absolut perfect, you cannot be more centrally located.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

A very charming and welcoming hotel located in the heart of a UNESCO Heritage Site. Everything about the hotel blends in with the external environment in Quito. It's location is perfect for a walking tour of Quito.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and very well maintained. The minute you enter the suite, you think that you've gone back through time. The hotel did an amazing job in balancing the old world charm with modern amenities (e.g. jacuzzi baths and Direct TV!). In fact, we loved the room so much that we were perfectly happy sacrificing a bit of sight seeing to enjoy the room more.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant also serves one of Quito's best Ecuadorian breakfasts--you can't beat watching over the Plaza Grande while enjoying queso con chocolate.

It's an experience well worth every single penny spent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cosmic_dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana C, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We really are proud of our hotel and our staff… and that just seems to shine through to our guests.

We take pride in serving our guests and having them leave satisfied with everything we have to offer. Please do tell your friends about us… as it’s word of mouth that makes us so successful.

We look forward to being your boutique hotel of choice on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Very smart hotel, excellent restaurant and very comfortable rooms. Staff could not have been more helpful. Very good position in the Old Town on the main square.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanmoretravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

you must experience this place to believe the old world charm and desire to serve still exists. from the moment you enter the hotel you are the most important person ever. nothing is too much trouble for the many staff waiting to serve you
we only ever went to the local food restaurant which was superb. we visited it again when we were staying round the corner because this hotel was full. the personal charming friendly service was beyond belief. the breakfasts were the same. the room or suite was vast and it just got better as we explored the different attributes of an old style room with sitting area overlooking the grand plaza. this busy place shows a goldfish bowl of their culture and is lovely to see as everyone seems so happy going about their busy lives.the shower was one of those where you dont want to come out and there was also a jacussi. the welcoming tray of chocolates was in keeping with the indulgent all round service. i cant wait to go back. book early as of course it is popular

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helenCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana C, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our ecuadorian breakfast in Café Plaza is no longer a secret. It’s quickly becoming a very popular please as our guests (and repeat guests) and local costumers not only find it a great value and tradition.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay! Please do tell your family and friends about your experience with us. Word of mouth is one of our best friends as we have so many people come visit with us based on recommendations of loved ones. Next time please ask about our new menu at La Belle Epoque restaurant, it is a fantastic flavors´ combination!.

Warm regards from Plaza Grande Hotel!!,

Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Lovely old world hotel overlooking the Presidential Palace and gorgeous Plaza in the heart of Old Quito.
the service was fantastic including a freshly blended fruit welcome drink as soon as you walk inside.. There were rose petals scattered around the giant bathtub and sink, chocolates on our pillows at night and very comfortable beds. Free wifi. The breakfast which was included had a wonderful assortment of cereals, sweet rolls and fresh fruits and had the option of eggs made any way you wished. The staff was extremely accommodating whether it was flagging a cab, grabbing your luggage, serving cocktails...they were there to help with a smile. Kudos to the management and staff of the Plaza Grande. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana C, Director of Sales at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We take pride in serving our guests and having them leave satisfied with everything we have to offer.

Please do tell your friends about us… as its word of mouth that makes us so successful.

We look forward to being your hotel of choice on your next visit to "the middle of the world".

Warm regards,

Sales & Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I would highly recommend The Plaza Grande Hotel. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were luxurious. Rose petals and snacks upon your arrival make a nice touch.

I have two warnings about this hotel - room size and noise level. The first night we stayed in a big, beautiful room but paid the same high rate for a smaller room on our second visit. Try and get the larger room which has a sumptuous couch and small dining table. My second reservation was the noise. Those rooms facing the town square are the priciest and noisiest. We faced the back of the hotel which was quiet and had a beautiful view of the city and mountains. Definitely a great location where you're able to walk to historic churches and sites.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 114 in Quito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
3.3 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Grande

Property: Hotel Plaza Grande
Address: Garcia Moreno N5-16 | Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Family Hotel in Quito
#8 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Spa Hotel in Quito
#12 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Plaza Grande rises above Quito's central square, known as the Plaza de la Independencia. It was one of the first hotels ever constructed in the capital, and has been extensively renovated and remodeled to become the finest boutique hotel in the city. It is the ideal place from which to explore the wonders of this timeless city. Quito was declared a UNESCO "World Heritage Site" in 1978, thanks to its historic center, which is the largest and best preserved in Latin America. The colonial center of the Franciscan city of Quito is a treasure trove of baroque art and architecture, including buildings, churches, monasteries and narrow streets that reflect Ecuador's unique blend of indigenous and Spanish cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing