We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in the Center of Old Town”
Review of Hotel Plaza Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Grande
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have trouble finding anything to complain about with this hotel. If I did mention something, I would just be nitpicking. From its location on the main plaza of the historic center, to the large, richly appointed rooms, this hotel is a winner in every way. The staff is friendly and the fresh flowers in the room are a wonderful touch.

We stayed 7 nights and can't believe there is a better place to stay in the old center. We were able to walk to all of the sites. The room was large with a seating area and dining table with chairs. The bathroom was large and richly appointed with a whirlpool tub. We had a small balcony overlooking the street, presidential palace and the mountains beyond. There were even some English channels on the satellite TV. The staff was excellent and helpful. I can't give enough kudos to this place.

One additional note, we did not experience any noise on the Saturday evening we were there unlike another review which mentions it.

Room Tip: I might try and avoid the rooms facing the main square. We originally thought we wanted to face the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramonjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at many Haciendas and Hotels in Ecuador and this was by far the best. We felt totally spoiled the instant we arrived. Hot towels and a drink to refresh ourselves on arriving, a small bottle of wine and plate of appetisers when checking into the room, a jacuzzi bath surrounded by rose petals, I could go on and on. A totally blissfill experience thanks to all the friendly staff who made us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel three times over three weeks, and loved every moment that wasn't on a Saturday night.
The staff is excellent and more than helpful. The restaurant is excellent, and the rooms are wonderful.
The problem is that they have weddings, quinceranos, whatever, parties pretty much every Saturday night on the fourth floor. One night on the third floor, I literally thought some one was using a jackhammer upstairs. Another Saturday on the second floor, it was still too loud for sleep. Luckily, I was moved on the first Saturday to the second floor, where the noise lessens enough for sleep by about 10:30pm.

It's difficult to come up with a fair rating for this hotel. On any night other than Saturday, it's easily a five. On Saturday, a two maybe ?
I would heartily recommend this hotel to any one, as long as their stay doesn't include Saturday.

Room Tip: Third floor has good views, but you want the lowest floor possible on Saturday nights.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion and suggestions about our Hotel, we will consider all of them to improve our services.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon break.We mentioned in the booking that it was our honeymoon but didn't expect the bottle of champagne in the room or the lovely chocolates and all the roses and petals neatly placed around the room,it was beautiful to see.
The room was perfect,very clean with lovely furniture and real character and it gave the feeling that you were in a beautiful house rather than a hotel room.
The staff are excellent and very friendly from all the receptionists to the porters.
It is the little touches as mentioned before that separate good hotels from great hotels and this is definitely the latter.
Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Montyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Four of us had a late lunch in the beautiful and elegant restaurant on a Sunday afternoon. The service was excellent and friendly. Surprisingly the prices were very reasonable.

We ordered from the menu. Two in our group ordered "the world famous club sandwich," that came with French fries and cole slaw. It was okay, nothing to brag about. Another ordered sea bass that she claimed was delicious, but could not finish the large serving. I ordered goat stew with rice, avocado, and a small salad. That was flavorful and scrumptious, too much food for me. It was mmmm, mmmm, good!

I give the restaurant 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geaux-saints-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I celebrated my wedding in San Francisco salon at Plaza Grande couple years ago. I have to say the service was fantastic, the room was incredible, and the staff was extraordinary. I only want to say thank you for all your help. My guests were so satisfied with the service that they always remember the quality of the food and the service. Thanks Plaza Grande you helped me to have the wedding of my dreams!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Echoing almost all the other reviewers, we thought the hotel was excellent - huge rooms, sumptuous decor, vast marble bathrooms including jacuzzis decorated with fresh rose petals, all the usual amenities of a 5 star hotel - alongside friendly and professional service, remarkable particularly because of the early and late arrivals & departures of many tourists (we arrived after midnight and left at 5.30 am!). The hotel's cafe was good though a little quiet on the Sunday evening we spent there. Definitely a great place to stay in Quito.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobsiej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for shearing your experience, we work very hard to make our guests very happy and make them feel at home.

We hopefully can host you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 111 in Quito
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 111 in Quito
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#18 of 111 in Quito
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Grande

Address: Garcia Moreno N5-16 y Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Family Hotel in Quito
#8 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Spa Hotel in Quito
#14 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £253 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Plaza Grande rises above Quito's central square, known as the Plaza de la Independencia. It was one of the first hotels ever constructed in the capital, and has been extensively renovated and remodeled to become the finest boutique hotel in the city. It is the ideal place from which to explore the wonders of this timeless city. Quito was declared a UNESCO "World Heritage Site" in 1978, thanks to its historic center, which is the largest and best preserved in Latin America. The colonial center of the Franciscan city of Quito is a treasure trove of baroque art and architecture, including buildings, churches, monasteries and narrow streets that reflect Ecuador's unique blend of indigenous and Spanish cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing