We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plaza Grande”
Review of Hotel Plaza Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Grande
Ranked #28 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Plaza Grande”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in mid February. We were extremely pleased with the facilities and the service.
It is a beautiful old hotel that is very well maintained.
The front desk booked a tour of the historic district for us, the guide was informative and interesting.
It was our first trip to Quito and if we return the Plaza Grande will be our first choice of hotels.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike2030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    31
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
132
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great beds,service,food,art. Loved the wood work and old cultural feel it is somewhat like the old Fairmont properties. Take the time to walk the hotel and look at the great bronze and paintings. the opera at dinner was also enjoyable

Room Tip: get a plaza view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scootertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Usually, I find that 4 or 5 star hotels in Central or South America are sorely lacking in the details, even if they are charming and enjoyable. The Plaza Grande is an exception. Every detail, including the astoundingly attentive service, is perfect. They seem to have 3 employees for every guest, or that is how it feels. And the staff is very Professional and Gracious (with capital letters), not the usual impersonal-but-polite employees. Lovely snacks waiting in the room when we checked in, table littered with rose petals, as were the bed and bath. Room service arrived with more complimentary snacks later in the evening, including a small bottle or red wine! Over and above service and offerings, but even without these special extras, the hotel shines. Every room is a suite, Jacuzzi tubs in nice sized marble bath, all in a lovely, well maintained, historic building right on the Plaza. We choose an interior room to ensure quiet, but many rooms have balconies over the street, and I believe the front plaza room is very deluxe, but didn't see that one. Part of the Conde Nast Johansen Group, which in my experience is a good recommendation. We were at another hotel in town, and after walking into the Plaza Grande and experiencing the gracious doorman, historic building, massive flower arrangement of long stem red roses on the table (maybe 100 roses?) we knew we wanted to move. It ranks as one of the top hotels in all of South America, IMHO, if you like history and boutique hotels. FYI, website rates are high, try dropping in if you are in Quito, or maybe if you email them directly, you can get a reduced rate if they are not full. Very worth a splurge.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

From the moment you step in, you know you made the right decision. The warm towelete and welcoming drink start the process. Rooms are well furnished in the grand old style of another day. Beds are large and sleep comfortable. Room service was prompt and all food served as we were in the restaurant. Bathroom well appointed and the shower with enough water pressure and heat that is still lacking in many hotels. The location can not be beat. The Historic section is a great place to walk, eat sightsee, and more. Never felt not secure at any time. Day or Night. Churches were grand. Some of the most beautiful in the world. Hotel staff went out of their way to try to track down our lost luggage.

If you want to stay in the north end as some choose stay at the JW Marriott, but otherwise come to the Plaza Grand for the Perfect Stay

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms and all had pluses and minuses. Plaza suites some noise great roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cozysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is where I did my wedding reception. Everything was magical! The decor, the service, the food was excellent, and the event coordinator was the most professional yet caring woman. The staff was extremely kind and I am thankful for making my wedding unforgettable. I also stayed here and the suite was gorgeous! Especially the view!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakeoversVane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, and your very special moment with us, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Small, classy and elegant. Right on the main square.
One's every need is anticipated - including, in our case, breakfast at 4 am. Unobtrusive but impeccable service. Cozy bar on the 1st floor. Nice breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spadina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I have trouble finding anything to complain about with this hotel. If I did mention something, I would just be nitpicking. From its location on the main plaza of the historic center, to the large, richly appointed rooms, this hotel is a winner in every way. The staff is friendly and the fresh flowers in the room are a wonderful touch.

We stayed 7 nights and can't believe there is a better place to stay in the old center. We were able to walk to all of the sites. The room was large with a seating area and dining table with chairs. The bathroom was large and richly appointed with a whirlpool tub. We had a small balcony overlooking the street, presidential palace and the mountains beyond. There were even some English channels on the satellite TV. The staff was excellent and helpful. I can't give enough kudos to this place.

One additional note, we did not experience any noise on the Saturday evening we were there unlike another review which mentions it.

Room Tip: I might try and avoid the rooms facing the main square. We originally thought we wanted to face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramonjamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directora V, Director General at Hotel Plaza Grande, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your opinion about our Hotel, we are very grateful that you spend a good time here.

We hope we can host you again in your next visit to Quito.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#2 of 111 in Quito
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlota
Carlota
#15 of 111 in Quito
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#9 of 111 in Quito
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
3.3 mi away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#5 of 111 in Quito
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Grande

Property: Hotel Plaza Grande
Address: Garcia Moreno N5-16 y Chile, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quito
#7 Family Hotel in Quito
#8 Business Hotel in Quito
#9 Spa Hotel in Quito
#13 Luxury Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Grande 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Plaza Grande rises above Quito's central square, known as the Plaza de la Independencia. It was one of the first hotels ever constructed in the capital, and has been extensively renovated and remodeled to become the finest boutique hotel in the city. It is the ideal place from which to explore the wonders of this timeless city. Quito was declared a UNESCO "World Heritage Site" in 1978, thanks to its historic center, which is the largest and best preserved in Latin America. The colonial center of the Franciscan city of Quito is a treasure trove of baroque art and architecture, including buildings, churches, monasteries and narrow streets that reflect Ecuador's unique blend of indigenous and Spanish cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing