We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many better options in Quito”
Review of Jhomana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jhomana Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel itself is clean enough, though our bathroom smelled like a sewer.

It just lacks all kind of charm, when we came back at night after 10 pm, the porter was clearly annoyed he had to let us in.
You can´t count on the breakfast hours - waited 45 minutes after announced opening time until we gave up...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I am a backpacker with 40+ countries visited, from 'less than basic' to luxury accommodation experience, age 37.
Stayed for 4 nights.
Comfort: clean, spacious pleasant, bright twin room with 2 big, comfy beds, extra blankets available on request (cold at night), small tv with local channels, wi-fi in the room, hot shower, bathroom basic with paint falling off the ceiling ocassionally but it was not a big issue for me; paper thin walls, you can hear people walking up and down stairs and at the corridor (thankfully not too many guests upstairs during our stay).
Service: very kind and helpful staff speaking English, especially big thank you to Estaban who helped us with directions (really nice guy, very good customer service skills), basic but big terrace on the roof (nice for cig break,) ); pc with internet available close to reception (did not use though); small kitchen available, breakfast included (roll with ham or jam/yoghurt, coffe/ tea, juice; extra scrambled eggs for $1); map of Quito given; guesthouse offers good value trips to Otavalo, Cotapaxi, etc.for $45 (we did on our own for much much cheaper); attached local restaurant offers good value lunch for $2.5.;
Location: quiet small street, beside the police station; I tried to choose the safest option and it felt relatively safe (pickpocketers I guess are everywhere in Quito); 40min walk to Old Town, walking distance to Trobe and Metrobus, well connected with north and south terminals with frequent buses to Otavalo, Mindo, Latacunga (keep your belongings tight while on the bus, saw the guys planning to steal my partner's jumper). Cruz del Sur station (we traveled from Lima) 10mins on foot. ATMs close by but be aware of 'observers', we had to walk away to other ATM for security reason.
Overall very good first experience in Ecuador.Also we have not been robbed, nothing was stolen from us which I consider as success in Quito.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank frogANDpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed at Jhomana Guesthouse for 5 nights, and it was wonderful! Patrick, the owner, did everything he could to make the stay perfect! He arranged sight seeing for us (ask him to book a trip to the Galapagos for you, best price around!), and stored our luggage for us at no charge. The rooms were clean, spacious and inexpensive. The street noise was quiet, even with the window open, yet very close to everything. I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eubie_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Very good experience at a modestly priced guesthouse. Stayed a total of 11 nights over three stretches from Dec. 30 to Jan. 20. Staff is very friendly and eager to accommodate all requests. Owner Patrick is quite personable. Location is excellent, easy to walk to Colonial Quito, big national museum, Plaza Foche. Easy cab distance to Teleferico, Ofelia bus station, etc. Next to a national police station, so neighborhood is safe. Rooms are small to average, ask for two beds if you really want more space. Private bathrooms are adequate and fairly clean. Hot water is not super plentiful, but OK. Other amenities: Good WiFi; nice library and some cooking facilities; water, coffee and snacks for sale in lobby; included breakfast at cafe next door is not really worth the trouble. We paid $43 a night for two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night before leaving on a trip to Cotopaxi. Room and bathroom was not too clean. Lighting in the room was very dim, making it feel more dingy than it is. Got the room for 40$ in a happening area... Can't complain too much. The cab they arranged for us didn't show to pick us up at the airport.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SKLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I am really happy with my stay at the Guesthouse, its the second time I am staying there. The location is good, but its not too noisy in the night. The serivce from the staff was really good and I got a lot of help and information.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Rebeckaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I lived in Quito for more than two years and when I go back to visit friends about once a year I always stay at Jhomana. It offers a good location, reasonable price, and great flexibility. I usually leave the city to go stay with friends for a couple of days, and staff is always very accommodating with regards to storing my luggage (at no extra cost) during a couple of nights. They also show great flexibility with allowing me to use the kitchen to make my own dinner during longer stays (especially useful on Sundays when many restaurants in Mariscal are closed). The location is excellent on a quite street of Mariscal and with 5 min walking distance to the Trole, which will take you to the heart of the old centre, and 10min walking distance to the Ecovia, which will take you to the big stores and shopping malls up north. Close to the Trole there is also good priced grocery store (Santa Maria) where you can get all the snacks and food items you need during your stay. An added benefit is that the price advertised is what you pay - many other locations add taxes to the advertised price.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have windows to internal patio, try to get one with a nice window, for example the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LottaAMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Kanela
Casa Kanela
#40 of 247 in Quito
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 112 in Quito
782 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.8 mi away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 112 in Quito
706 reviews
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jhomana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jhomana Guesthouse

Address: G Ramirez Davalos E4-42 | corner Ave Amazonas, Quito 111111, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: £20 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jhomana Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jhomana Guesthouse, Quito Ecuador is situated in the middle of the world. The capital is Quito. In the middle of the part of Quito called Mariscal just 100 meters from Avenida Amazonas you find Jhomana, close to all banks, bus terminals, discothèques, bars, restaurants, shopping malls etc, but jet far away from all the noise. Your Peaceful Home in the Middle of Everything Our guests that are coming back to us often say "It feels so good to be back home again!" We consider that very flattering, since our main goal is to make our guests feel like they are at home, enjoying their stay with us. At Jhomana among many other services you have free access to our guest computer with Internet connection. The whole hostel with surroundings and outside areas are also WI-FI connected. sta fireplace At Jhomana we help you to plan your vacations in Ecuador. We have a lot of knowledge and experience about tourism in Ecuador. We believe that our guest shall not run around and look for, book, pay tours. Our guests should enjoy Quito's beauty and touristic sites, while the staff at Jhomana search, book and pay your tours. We get better prices than you, we know where to look and that not to book. For your convenient, all day tours start from Jhomana, so instead of waiting for others to arrive to the pickup point, you enjoy your breakfast in our cozy restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jhomana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing