We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were great, but the room was not.”
Review of Jhomana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jhomana Guesthouse
Ranked #55 of 226 Quito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Staff were great, but the room was not.”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I booked a room for a single with bath based on the reviews here. I was supposed to be met by a driver at the airport but that was messed up. Staff were great, but the room was not. The bed was comfortable in room 206 but after that it was all downhill. Every time I managed to doze off another car alarm would wake me. The shower in the microscopic bathroom had hot water but the pressure varied, causing quick reactions as it changed from hot to cool and back again, and the drain was slow so I ended up in a pool of water around my feet. The sink is loose on the wall. The carpets badly need a clean.

To be fair, maybe it was just that room but I can't recommend Jhomana based on my experience..

I booked in for two nights but checked out after one.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
23
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

If you plan on staying here in the dorm, be prepared for a little bit of street noise and a lot of light pollution in the room. The individual rooms looked very nice, but I did not stay in one. The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. You are located very close to Gringolandia, which is both good and bad, depending on what experience you want to have.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYhitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

My husb and I stayed here on 2 separate weeknights on out way in and out of Quito. ... Hostal Jhomana is a great value for value-smart travelers. For a great price, the hostal is clean, showers are good, beds are decent for ecuadorian hostel beds, street noise very little.
Included breakfast just decent but its cheap to "upgrade" for cheese or egg or yogurt at the table...Free Wi-fi...Free secure storage... (make sure you're locked up).. They have a lot of other services but we weren't there long enough to use them.
The staff is helpful and friendly. Most signage is in both Span and English, however I don't know if they spoke English or not.
Location is convenient. It's a short walk to two good neighborhoods.. The Mariscal bar district "Gringolandia" and the Amazonas business zone..
Transportation... Hostal Jhomana will call a reliable cab company to get a cab for you...take advantage of this. No matter where you stay in Quito, if you're getting in a cab with all of your luggage then you should be safe .... we got a cab from the airport $6 at the taxi stand kiosk inside the airport.. we paid a lady at the window and got a receipt so we didn't have to take our $$ out in a cab or in the street.... no matter what always safe.

Overall, Hostal Jhomana is a great value and if you can get a room (it's very popular with groups) I recommend it.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank muhranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveling
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

The rooms were clean and warm. Based on other reviews we requested a room on the 2nd floor (others had said the 1st floor rooms were musty and loud). $36 a night for a double seems a little high, but they had parking and spotty wifi.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

We stayed in April for a few days there. We can recommend this hostel. The staff is very friendly and helpful (they answer every question with patience) and the rooms are very clean and nice. We had a very nice stay there!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9teuferl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#25 of 112 in Quito
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
NU House Boutique Hotel
NU House Boutique Hotel
#33 of 112 in Quito
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 112 in Quito
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
10.1 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jhomana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jhomana Guesthouse

Property: Jhomana Guesthouse
Address: G Ramirez Davalos E4-42 | corner Ave Amazonas, Quito 111111, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jhomana Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jhomana Guesthouse, Quito Ecuador is situated in the middle of the world. The capital is Quito. In the middle of the part of Quito called Mariscal just 100 meters from Avenida Amazonas you find Jhomana, close to all banks, bus terminals, discothèques, bars, restaurants, shopping malls etc, but jet far away from all the noise. Your Peaceful Home in the Middle of Everything Our guests that are coming back to us often say "It feels so good to be back home again!" We consider that very flattering, since our main goal is to make our guests feel like they are at home, enjoying their stay with us. At Jhomana among many other services you have free access to our guest computer with Internet connection. The whole hostel with surroundings and outside areas are also WI-FI connected. sta fireplace At Jhomana we help you to plan your vacations in Ecuador. We have a lot of knowledge and experience about tourism in Ecuador. We believe that our guest shall not run around and look for, book, pay tours. Our guests should enjoy Quito's beauty and touristic sites, while the staff at Jhomana search, book and pay your tours. We get better prices than you, we know where to look and that not to book. For your convenient, all day tours start from Jhomana, so instead of waiting for others to arrive to the pickup point, you enjoy your breakfast in our cozy restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Jhomana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing