We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good overview”

Quito Historical Old Town Tour
Ranked #14 of 117 Tours in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First, we’ll go to the "Inti-Nan" In-Situ Museum (at about 2400 meters above sea level, about 7800 feet), where you can see replicas of the Ecuadorian Highlands and Amazon and, of course, to learn about the Quitu-Cara culture, their comprehension, long before the Geodesic Mission, on the stars, and, therefore, the empowerment of the term "Center of the World"; this visit takes about 45 minutes (entrance not included).
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good overview”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Took to main attractions with extended stop at outlook over Quito on the main hill. Very good if want to go to the Tenerife cable car. A couple of hours round trip. Start early to make most of hop on hop off to the attractions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Strathcona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    99
    16
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A welcome change from the Modern Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

There was 5 in our party and we booked the Old Town Tour at the beginning of our holiday via the agent from Wild Wings who collected us from the airport. We were due to stay at the Dan Carlton again at the end of our Galapagos/ Cloud forest tour and we knew we would need to fill some time before leaving for our evening flight home. Quito covers such a huge area that it would be very difficult and perhaps unsafe to try and sight-see without a guide. I cannot be sure but I think we paid around $30 per person and the trip lasted over 3 hrs. We were collected from our hotel at 9 am by our driver for the week George and our new Guide. Sorry I cannot remember his name.

After seeing the modern Quito in the area of our hotel, which was lacking charm and could have been part of any City in the World, the old town was so much more interesting. The guide was very knowledgeable about every aspect of Quito, including the history, politics and even the doings of the current Spanish Royal Family, that every minute was interesting.

We drove to several areas, visiting 2 churches and then had a walk round. The old buildings are beautiful, many Spanish in appearance with their fancy iron work. It was so interesting just standing a watching the street vendors going about their business. The man selling water from a container, a lady with a huge pack of toilet paper on her back, another lady selling woven baskets, several folk selling lottery tickets.
It was particularly amusing when a old lady was walking with what looked like a stray dog ahead of her. A man appeared with a animal catching noose and tried to grab the dog. All hell broke loose. The old lady attacked him and was soon joined by another old lady who was also trying to punch him. A minute later two policemen appeared to try a sort them out. We couldn't understand what they were saying, but it ended up with the first lady walking off with the dog. You don't see that every day!

Although it was very busy and we were holding on to our bags very firmly, we did feel relatively safe, due to the large police presence. The only time we came in direct contact with a local person was standing in the square in front of the Palace. A tiny, little old lady approached one of our group asking for money. We had been previously warned not to encourage begging, so our 6ft 15 stone friend politely refused. The next he knew she had punched him in the back and hobbled off. His face was a picture, we couldn't stop laughing, If only the camera had been ready to capture the moment!

We ended up driving to a fantastic high view point which showed the City all around us, while our guide pointed out various landmarks. A fitting end to the tour. He returned us to our hotel although would have been happy to drop us off at a restaurant had we wanted.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Important for understanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booking a guided one day tour with a competent English speaking guide is a worthwhile event. Lots of interesting facts and history from the Aztec period thru the Spanish and on to modern times.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“passing through history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Worth the time and don't forget the lens. Always enjoy a historical tour, situates you and informs you ... then go investigate what you want more of.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kouragaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Churches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovley town. A lot to see and take in such a historic town. Visited most of the churches. They are all different but as interesting. Our lunch was in a superb restaurant by the square called Casa Gangotena.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erlina52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quito Historical Old Town Tour also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Quito Historical Old Town Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing