We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Quaint”

Quito Historical Old Town Tour
Ranked #15 of 115 Tours in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: First, we’ll go to the "Inti-Nan" In-Situ Museum (at about 2400 meters above sea level, about 7800 feet), where you can see replicas of the Ecuadorian Highlands and Amazon and, of course, to learn about the Quitu-Cara culture, their comprehension, long before the Geodesic Mission, on the stars, and, therefore, the empowerment of the term "Center of the World"; this visit takes about 45 minutes (entrance not included).
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

we stayed at Casa gardenia whihc was vey centrally located in the old town . Walked everywhere foudn it ot be very safe even at late hours there were police on the streets. Plaza Grande was nice with a lot of nice shops for souveniers and ncie palces to eat!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rafatp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    99
    16
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“breathtaking..”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Its not the the world's first city to be declared UNESCO's World Cultural Heritage Site for nothing! Quito's historical center has so many things to discover. So many breathtaking churches, including favourite gold-coated in the inside La Compania or the imposing Basilica where you can see the whole city from its towers. take a coupe of days to discover its magic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gaengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Old town Quito”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Quito is an amazing city. I've been here three times now and the city tour we did through Klein tours, arranged through online through the Galapagos Travel Center (with whom we also booked our boat for Galapagos online) was the best I've done. We were two families with kids and my father. We first visited El Panecillo with its very large statue of the Virgin Mary for an overview of the city, thenon to the Basilica, and on to the Government Plaza, Plaza de San Francisco and the Cathedral. Make sure not to miss all of the creatures of Ecuador carved into the side of the Basillica in place of gargoyles! Not sure why no one had pointed that out to me before! Our guide, Gloria, was excellent.
As we knew we would be tired after our late night arrival the night before, we asked that a lunch be included and it was at a fabulous restaurant overlooking the square at San Francisco. Just perfect!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quito touring”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Quito has an amazing history! Start here! We were on a guided tour via motor coach, with an excellent guide! City sites as well as country side adventures and tours were provided for us by Gate1Travel! I highly recommend them!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old Town Tour - Sunny Roads Tour”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First day highlight was visit to Old Town Quito and its many plazas and historic churches. We hired a car/driver (recommended) operated by Metropolitan Touring/Sunny Roads Tour company, and our driver was an excellent narrator of the many significant and historic events in Quito over the centuries.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quito Historical Old Town Tour also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Quito Historical Old Town Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing