We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find”
Review of Cayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cayman Hotel
Ranked #36 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed at a couple of places in town between various trips in Ecuador, and this one was the best that I came back to twice. Rooms are extremely clean, with bright lighting and good comfort. The condition is not pristine in every room, but it was better than other places charging much more, and the common areas are very relaxing. Staff is very accommodating and the breakfast is respectable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explore_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is a great property with very friendly staff. The room was immaculate and the beds were comfortable. This is a great value and a great location. We arrived late (about 11 PM) but that was not a problem. the desk clerk buzzed us in and then showed us where to park our car. The parking was right at the hotel and off street, plus it was only $2 per night. We only stayed here one night, but that was because we were headed to the coast the next morning. I would have stayed here on the return leg of my trip, but they were booked. The breakfast was excellent, with fresh juice and fruit. They even gave us some fresh fruit to take with us on our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnailBoyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

When we arrived, the nice owner picked us up on the airport even she had to wait for us three hours in the middle of the night (exactly 1 am). We stayed at Cayman Hotel for 5 nights. We had the room 8 with the terrace on the roof so we could spend some evenings alone with stars and 360 degrees view of Quito around us. The Hotel is situated nearly to the nightlife district (many clubs, restaurants, cafes, shops) but on quiet and small save street. They have receptionist there 24 h a day (English spoken) so we could come back at every time we wanted to. I felt there very save. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful specially to offer nice trip around in Quito and to the jungle. The owners are experienced travelers themselves, so they estimate very accurately the needs of adventure seeking guests. They also have great scientific knowledge about the region (ethnography, history, geology etc.). They give us plenty of useful information for future trip and for the cruise on Galapagos Islands.

The hotel is very clean (white bathrooms with hot shower) and comfortable, has nice garden when we saw hummingbirds feeding very often. We used their computer with Internet and had great time on the excursions everywhere we met friendly people.

I definitely recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cayman for 2 nights. As other guests have noted it is small, clean and offers free wifi. However it has several drawbacks that would lead me to suggest you look elsewhere for the price. We arrived late at night and had the last choice of room. Our room fit only a double bed, no more and had a window that looked out into the breakfast area. Starting at 7am every morning we were woken up by the noise. Make sure when booking a "double room" to call and specify two twins or a queen, the bias seems to be two twins. The bathroom was also minuscule. The hotel is well located near the square. I did not feel unsafe personally, it is a more quiet street with many hostels. In terms of being a base camp for exploring quito, the staff spoke English but had no real ability to assist in booking restaurants or day trips. We were intending to come back to Quito and spend our last night in the hotel, but despite asking and confirming 4 days in advance a queen sized bed, we again arrived late at night to be told only twins were available. We left and found a boutique hotel nearby for only $20 more.

Room Tip: request a 2nd floor room (not first)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Really nice, quiet small hotel. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Lovely friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Hello,

My wife and I went to see 14 mid-range hotels and hostals for a visit of my sister and her family to the Mariscal. It is amazing how much they vary in quality and how little one can ascertain from the hotel websites and photos! In the end we thought this was the best one and they stayed there for 5 nights in July 2011. Here are their comments.

Positives:
o Very clean, recently refurbished, good bed linen etc. As good or retter than almost all the others in the same price range.
o Nice hot showers.
o Close to Plaza Foch (5 mins walk away), so places to eat and drink etc.
o Very nice little garden to sit and relax in with a beer whilst watching a few hummingbirds.
o A lot of brochures in the hotel to plan trips.

Neutral:
o Cost was OK - perhaps a little pricey at 58 dollars for double and 34 for single but hotels are getting more expensive in Ecuador (minimum wage is now getting to be reasonable).
o No TV in the rooms although there is one downstairs and also a computer for internet.
o I can't remember if the WiFi worked or not.
o The people at the front desk speak a little English but this could be improved.

Negatives:
o Breakfast was not the best, you had to pay a dollar to have eggs as extra and the juices were perhaps not up to normal standard in Ecuador. We mentioned the former to the hotel and perhaps they will make the eggs free in future. It is a minor point but if you pay 30+ dollars for a single I think this should be included.
o On Friday and Saturday night it is noisy if you have the front room. There was an alternative "matremonial" room downstairs although it is dark.
o Obviously the zone is not 100% safe but that is unfortunately how Quito is these days and not related to Cayman. But once inside there were no security problems (which in my experience is always the case as long as you do not leave valuables in obvious sight).

All in all I certainly would recommend this hotel.

Peace,

Jonathan

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan_smoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I'd heard about the hotel from the family friends, who greatly recommended it, and they were absolutely right
1) SERVICE: the service is professional, helpful and nice - the receptionists are always there, ready to assist in anything (so friendly as well!), the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, and (good) breakfast is served quickly. The hotel has also laundry service and snack bar - I cannot comment on those, however (haven't used)
2) AMENITIES: I stayed in a single room and was also pleased with it - always had warm water in the shower (stayed in Ecuador for 6 weeks altogether, and the 2 days in Cayman were the only ones when I actually enjoyed my showers..), comfortable bed, small desk and sufficient storage space. The hotel has WiFi if you're travelling with your own laptop, and a computer with free internet access (seemed I was the only one using it at a time though!)
3) LOCATION and SAFETY: Also, the hotel is located in one of the quiet streets of the Mariscal, hence I had no problems with noise at night (though in Quito I guess nobody can ever guarantee that..). Before, I stayed for some time in a place just few blocks away (juan leon mera), and the difference was massive, so be cautious when booking anything in that area, especially if you're a light-sleeper! The main gate being locked at all times can initially seem to be a nuisance (need to ring every time want to get in or out) but at the end of the day - it makes you feel secure which for me, travelling alone, was an important thing. I'll d definitely return to Cayman, when in Ecuador ever again, and recommend it to anybody travelling to Quito.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magda_ula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 113 in Quito
193 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#38 of 113 in Quito
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Zentrum
Hostal Zentrum
#37 of 113 in Quito
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#5 of 113 in Quito
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Filatelia
Hotel Filatelia
#50 of 113 in Quito
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#34 of 113 in Quito
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Hotel

Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-29 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range: £28 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cayman is an European owned and family operated Hotel; an intimate place in a world-class cultural touristic destination, Quito, Ecuador. Our hotel provides an alternative to big hotel chains, offering high standards, a peaceful surrounding, the highest individual customer service and a warm family atmosphere. Our professional staff will make every effort to make of your stay, a memorable one. After a day of exploration, our guests staying in one of the eleven rooms that the Hotel offers, can enjoy of an open air terrace, a romantic garden, a peaceful sitting room with a chimeney or a dramatic roof terrace overlooking the Pichincha Volcano from one of our exclusice rooms. Each room is unique and has been designed with tradition and elegance, using a color palette inspired by the warm and earthy colours of the Andes. They're immaculate, light and airy, equipped with the necessary amenities to make your feel at home. In your room, you will find fresh towels and a local Arriba Chocolate of the highest quality placed on your pillow to be savored. The beds are covered with ecuadorian textiles, using the finest cottons and traditional indigenous designs. If you must stay in touch, we have WIFI throughout the property for those with mobile devices, and a computer workstation for guests without a computer. The Hotel is located on a quiet side street in the Mariscal neighborhoud, just two blocks away from the Plaza Quinde and 15 minutes away from Quito's Colonial Old Town. It occupies an original refurbished house from the beggining of the XX century, part of the UNESCO Heritage site, while its surroundings have everything you need for a perfect holiday: museums, galleries, shops, boutiques, spas and more than 100 restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing