We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quito Ecuador”
Review of Cayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cayman Hotel
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
montreal, canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quito Ecuador”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Located well in tourist area. Other areas a tourist would go to are within walking distance or a short taxi ride. Hotel is pleasant with very comfortable rooms, and beds. Clean. Try to get room 8 as it has a private roof top terrasse. Outside noise can be intrusive, but they give you free earplugs! Did not bother us. Breakfasts are minimal and not great. Staff speak marginal English, and not very friendly or helpful.

Room Tip: Not a front room as this is on the street and noise can be high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank las-Montreal_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
35
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Very comfy hotel in the heart of Mariscal. The room was very clean and updated. The staff was friendly and knowledgable. The wi-fi worked great from my room. This is only the second place in Ecuador I've been comfortable leaving my laptop out and not locking it in my suitcase every time I left the room. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBruceCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed at a couple of places in town between various trips in Ecuador, and this one was the best that I came back to twice. Rooms are extremely clean, with bright lighting and good comfort. The condition is not pristine in every room, but it was better than other places charging much more, and the common areas are very relaxing. Staff is very accommodating and the breakfast is respectable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explore_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is a great property with very friendly staff. The room was immaculate and the beds were comfortable. This is a great value and a great location. We arrived late (about 11 PM) but that was not a problem. the desk clerk buzzed us in and then showed us where to park our car. The parking was right at the hotel and off street, plus it was only $2 per night. We only stayed here one night, but that was because we were headed to the coast the next morning. I would have stayed here on the return leg of my trip, but they were booked. The breakfast was excellent, with fresh juice and fruit. They even gave us some fresh fruit to take with us on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnailBoyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

When we arrived, the nice owner picked us up on the airport even she had to wait for us three hours in the middle of the night (exactly 1 am). We stayed at Cayman Hotel for 5 nights. We had the room 8 with the terrace on the roof so we could spend some evenings alone with stars and 360 degrees view of Quito around us. The Hotel is situated nearly to the nightlife district (many clubs, restaurants, cafes, shops) but on quiet and small save street. They have receptionist there 24 h a day (English spoken) so we could come back at every time we wanted to. I felt there very save. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful specially to offer nice trip around in Quito and to the jungle. The owners are experienced travelers themselves, so they estimate very accurately the needs of adventure seeking guests. They also have great scientific knowledge about the region (ethnography, history, geology etc.). They give us plenty of useful information for future trip and for the cruise on Galapagos Islands.

The hotel is very clean (white bathrooms with hot shower) and comfortable, has nice garden when we saw hummingbirds feeding very often. We used their computer with Internet and had great time on the excursions everywhere we met friendly people.

I definitely recommend this hotel very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Cayman for 2 nights. As other guests have noted it is small, clean and offers free wifi. However it has several drawbacks that would lead me to suggest you look elsewhere for the price. We arrived late at night and had the last choice of room. Our room fit only a double bed, no more and had a window that looked out into the breakfast area. Starting at 7am every morning we were woken up by the noise. Make sure when booking a "double room" to call and specify two twins or a queen, the bias seems to be two twins. The bathroom was also minuscule. The hotel is well located near the square. I did not feel unsafe personally, it is a more quiet street with many hostels. In terms of being a base camp for exploring quito, the staff spoke English but had no real ability to assist in booking restaurants or day trips. We were intending to come back to Quito and spend our last night in the hotel, but despite asking and confirming 4 days in advance a queen sized bed, we again arrived late at night to be told only twins were available. We left and found a boutique hotel nearby for only $20 more.

Room Tip: request a 2nd floor room (not first)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Really nice, quiet small hotel. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Lovely friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#41 of 110 in Quito
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#28 of 110 in Quito
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#36 of 110 in Quito
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 110 in Quito
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#16 of 110 in Quito
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Hotel

Property: Cayman Hotel
Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-29 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#21 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cayman is an European owned and family operated Hotel; an intimate place in a world-class cultural touristic destination, Quito, Ecuador. Our hotel provides an alternative to big hotel chains, offering high standards, a peaceful surrounding, the highest individual customer service and a warm family atmosphere. Our professional staff will make every effort to make of your stay, a memorable one. After a day of exploration, our guests staying in one of the eleven rooms that the Hotel offers, can enjoy of an open air terrace, a romantic garden, a peaceful sitting room with a chimeney or a dramatic roof terrace overlooking the Pichincha Volcano from one of our exclusice rooms. Each room is unique and has been designed with tradition and elegance, using a color palette inspired by the warm and earthy colours of the Andes. They're immaculate, light and airy, equipped with the necessary amenities to make your feel at home. In your room, you will find fresh towels and a local Arriba Chocolate of the highest quality placed on your pillow to be savored. The beds are covered with ecuadorian textiles, using the finest cottons and traditional indigenous designs. If you must stay in touch, we have WIFI throughout the property for those with mobile devices, and a computer workstation for guests without a computer. The Hotel is located on a quiet side street in the Mariscal neighborhoud, just two blocks away from the Plaza Quinde and 15 minutes away from Quito's Colonial Old Town. It occupies an original refurbished house from the beggining of the XX century, part of the UNESCO Heritage site, while its surroundings have everything you need for a perfect holiday: museums, galleries, shops, boutiques, spas and more than 100 restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing