We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good hotel to stay”
Review of Cayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cayman Hotel
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Banos, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“a good hotel to stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

hotel is in a save region, clean hotel, friendly staff. only thing was, that wifi was not stable working in all rooms. good restaurants are in walking distance.
the staff was very helpfull with ordering chinese food ,-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHeckly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    46
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
35
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This was a great hotel! Small, quiet and very clean. I stayed in a single room with a comfortable bed, private en-suit, hot water, good wifi, and a beautiful view of the back garden. The other people in my party had a double room that had a surprise access to a roof balcony. We only stayed for one night but I would have been very happy to enjoy it longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great place to stay with a cosy backyard and very comfy livingroom. Freshly remodeled rooms with new bathrooms, wifi, hot shower water and great breakfast. Located on the quiet street in otherwise happening neibourhood. Moderate price of 60-70 dollars a night, but well worth it.

Room Tip: backyard facing rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mace4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For what i paid for, i couldnt have asked for a better choice. The room is clean, the bathroom looks brand new, hairdryer is hooked up :-) Great location, hotel staff speaks good English. The only thing is that wi-fi is limited so I have to get out of the room to search for signals.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haheho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I stayed here 4 nights over 3 separate occasions. As a single traveller I enjoyed my stay at Cayman Hotel. I stayed in both a single room and a double room (all on the first floor) - each with a private en-suite. The rooms were very clean - with towels and toiletries provided. The hotel is gated and this provided peace of mind. In addition, you can store luggage if you head somewhere else - then return here (as I did for my Galapagos Tour & Otavalo trip).
The location is fantastic - right in the heart of the new town - La Mariscal District. This is a tourist area and is full of restaurants, cafes, bars and nightclubs. All of which are only a short walk from the hotel. I walked alone at night (to and from dinner) around this area and did not feel unsafe - as there were always people around. I had great meals at The Magic Bean and Uncle Ho's - both of which are close by.
The location is close to many services including the post office, pharmacy, banks, tourist booking agents, the police station, supermarket etc. Laundry can be done two doors down at a very cheap price. The hotel is close to public transport and I caught a taxi from the hotel to the old city (I walked back and it took around 40minutes) and to the airport at reasonable prices. The hotel will phone and organise taxis for early airport transfers etc.
The staff speak basic English, Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and the hotel offers a shared lounge. The hotel provides a basic breakfast for $3USD - bread, jam, coffee, tea, and eggs.
Overall, I was very pleased by my choice of accommodation and its location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ness_orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent 8 nights here in Feb 2013, over 3 visits. 2 short blocks from the center of Quito's popular Mariscal Sucre hotel, hostal & restaurant district. Clean, compact rooms. WiFi, lounge & dining area all work well. Good breakfast. Staff speak basic English. Owners are well-traveled. Safe & friendly.

Room Tip: #5 on 2nd floor @ front is noisiest; #4 off dining room faces garden; #8 has roof-top terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Overall: very modern, recently built/renovated hostal that is very close to the main strip of mariscal sucre. friendly and accessible staff
Pros: clean, new facilities, comfortable beds, shared living room and kitchen, free wifi
Cons: thin walls that transmit sound through the house\

Stayed here for one night before setting out from Quito. I was very impressed at the quality of the facilities. All the furniture, bathroom fixings, and decor seemed new and very well maintained. The staff was friendly and always accessible. They speak a good amount of English, understanding more than speaking. Most of the Mariscal Sucre shops and restaruants are moments away. The house is on a quiet street, but walls to the building and rooms are a bit thin, and noise is easily transmitted throughout (e.g. someone coughing, flushing the toilet, coming in/out of the main gate).

Breakfast is included but was not ready in time for our group before we left for the bus station

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyojin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#41 of 111 in Quito
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#32 of 111 in Quito
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#18 of 111 in Quito
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#37 of 111 in Quito
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Hotel

Property: Cayman Hotel
Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-29 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#21 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cayman is an European owned and family operated Hotel; an intimate place in a world-class cultural touristic destination, Quito, Ecuador. Our hotel provides an alternative to big hotel chains, offering high standards, a peaceful surrounding, the highest individual customer service and a warm family atmosphere. Our professional staff will make every effort to make of your stay, a memorable one. After a day of exploration, our guests staying in one of the eleven rooms that the Hotel offers, can enjoy of an open air terrace, a romantic garden, a peaceful sitting room with a chimeney or a dramatic roof terrace overlooking the Pichincha Volcano from one of our exclusice rooms. Each room is unique and has been designed with tradition and elegance, using a color palette inspired by the warm and earthy colours of the Andes. They're immaculate, light and airy, equipped with the necessary amenities to make your feel at home. In your room, you will find fresh towels and a local Arriba Chocolate of the highest quality placed on your pillow to be savored. The beds are covered with ecuadorian textiles, using the finest cottons and traditional indigenous designs. If you must stay in touch, we have WIFI throughout the property for those with mobile devices, and a computer workstation for guests without a computer. The Hotel is located on a quiet side street in the Mariscal neighborhoud, just two blocks away from the Plaza Quinde and 15 minutes away from Quito's Colonial Old Town. It occupies an original refurbished house from the beggining of the XX century, part of the UNESCO Heritage site, while its surroundings have everything you need for a perfect holiday: museums, galleries, shops, boutiques, spas and more than 100 restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing