We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you’re not coming as part of an organized tour, you are likely to get shafted”
Review of Cayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cayman Hotel
Ranked #36 of 111 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If you’re not coming as part of an organized tour, you are likely to get shafted”
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed here for three nights before our Galapagos trip, and the first two days were great: terrific location in the heart of the bar/restaurant rows of Mariscal but on a quiet(er) leafy street, with fast broadband, simple but tasty breakfasts and a delightfully bright and cheerful place to enjoy them in. Our first room (#11) was upstairs, and though small with not much storage space, was clean, had a view out onto the street, and despite a clogged shower drain, I considered it fine value at $38/night (+tax) including breakfast for a double room.

Alas, we had to move to a different room for the third night, and what a difference! Still priced at $38/night, Room 3 (and 2, across the way) were tiny in comparison, with not even enough space for a nighttable between the two slim twin beds, and the only window opening out onto the breakfast room.

I only thought it reasonable to ask for a discount but the request was instantly dismissed by the owner/manager/boss Halina, with whom previously I had exchanged several friendly emails re: the booking. Her reply: “it’s not my policy to offer discounts for those rooms”, as she stubbornly pointed to the displayed rate card.

The next morning as we were literally getting into the cab, I thought just to check and see which room we’d been assigned upon our return…and was informed it was Room 3 again, for both nights. Halina stayed away in the office, even after the receptionist went to inform her of our dismay. When we tracked her down, she explained that she, THE BOSS, “had no control over this situation” and that she had “five years of relationships with tour operators who block-booked many of the rooms, after coming by to see them all and cherrypicking for their tour guests” and thus there was nothing she could do.

So there you have it.

To sum: if you’re staying here with a tour group, you’ll likely be very pleased with your room (Room 4, in particular, is a terrific twin with lots of space and a nice view out onto the side garden) and everything else about the place. If not, be sure to specify that you don’t want to stay in Rooms 2 or 3 (or the ones downstairs looking out into the breakfast room) because you’ll be paying the same price for a room that’s less than half as good as the others. With not even a discussion of a possible discount.

  • Liked — The location and the wireless
  • Disliked — The totally inflexible boss
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MHTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    46
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
35
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2008

I stayed in this hotel for several times, at the beginning and at the end of my year living in Ecuador & used it as a base for all my tours at the first couple of weeks. It is a very nice, clean and warm looking place. But It's charm is the fact that the service is exceptionally good and friendly, the service is very personalized. The staff would go out of their way to help me with everything I ever needed. Everyone spoke English, some better than others, but all tried their best to be helpful. It is greatly located; in the same city center, close to restaurants open until late and an international & national bus station.

Although it is not luxurious hotel(evidently for the price) it is a very comfortable place, with all the facilities needed. They have a luggage room & a safe box for free for guests, that come in handy while traveling. WIFI in all the hotel (they just put it a couple of weeks before I came), a computer with internet for guests and another very useful thing they offer is the shuttle service they offer from the airport to the hotel for $10.

The hote also has a really nice garden (the only one I saw in Quito, generally the city has a lot of concrete) & the rooms I liked the most are the ones with view to the garden of course.

  • Liked — Service, Location, Facilities, English Speaking Staff, Cleanliness, Safety, Garden
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joannelars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

For a budget hotel, this is one of the best I've experienced.
I had booked another budget hostel in La Mariscal area, which was a huge dissapointment. I walked the area and entered around 10 different hostels before deciding to move to this one.

I went to Quito for work reasons and needed a cheap, quiet and comfortable place. This combination was difficult to find, as I was not looking for the typical noisy backpacker place. The Hotel Cayman was a great decision. I ended up very happy!

Friendly and efficient staff, beautiful house, spotless beds and spacious rooms. The decoration is simple but with a great style.
The garden is huge and beautiful. Bathroom and towels also spotless and well mantained. I have no complaints at all.

I recommend you check the pictures in their website.
If you go, ask for the rooms overlooking the garden, either in the first or second floor.

  • Liked — beds, bathrooms, cleaniness
  • Disliked — no wifi, although they do have a shared PC with internet access.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank natoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The room was small and basic, but clean and nice. The room is surrounded by cream-yellow walls and gives a warm feeling. Each room has a picture drawn by an artist from Otavalo, Armando Buitron Rojas, which makes you feel that you are in Ecuador. For the first part of the stay, I had a room upstairs, which was more private and quite, therefore perfect for me.The other half of the stay, I was given a different room on the ground floor, which was nice in spite of its location right across from the frontdesk, with a great garden view where you can see hummingbirds if you're lucky! The hotel staff, including its owner were very kind and nice. One of them speaks perfect English and it was a great help for me. The hotel is located in the safe area on a more quiet street compared to others, which is nice. I would definitely recommend this place for your stay in Quito, Ecuador.

  • Liked — hotel staff
  • Disliked — nothing much
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank March W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

I spent almost 2 weeks at the Cayman. It was ok, but I felt like I could have gotten a better deal across the street at Arupo.

What I liked:

Friendly and helpful staff.
Cute room -- I had to request a new bedspread since the one I had smelled like BO.
Hot shower most of the time.
Good location if you plan on staying in Gringolandia (I will stay elsewhere next time).
Safe.

What I did not like:

The BO bedspread.
Skimpy breakfast -- 2 rolls, jam, butter, instant coffee, and juice. I think they could have at least added cheese or eggs.
They say they have a restaurant -- not true.
Very loud -- street noise is inevitable, but the noise from the other guests was bothersome at times.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank mrpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

Great little hotel in a great location. Right in the centre of La Mariscal but on a very quiet street. Rooms and facilities were basic but perfect for the price (paid $38 per night). Comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, hot water, very clean and safe. Cable TV room for guest use. The included breakfast consisted of bread rolls, jam and coffee/tea but you could order additional items a la carte - bacon and scrambled eggs cost only 90c extra. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Clean, central hotel. Very good value for money. But was quite noisy (from other rooms more than outside). Owners were reasonably sympathetic when we arrived a day late due to flight delays casued by winter weather in the UK and didn't charge us for the night we missed.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Noisy
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#41 of 111 in Quito
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#32 of 111 in Quito
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 111 in Quito
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#18 of 111 in Quito
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#37 of 111 in Quito
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Hotel

Property: Cayman Hotel
Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-29 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#21 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cayman is an European owned and family operated Hotel; an intimate place in a world-class cultural touristic destination, Quito, Ecuador. Our hotel provides an alternative to big hotel chains, offering high standards, a peaceful surrounding, the highest individual customer service and a warm family atmosphere. Our professional staff will make every effort to make of your stay, a memorable one. After a day of exploration, our guests staying in one of the eleven rooms that the Hotel offers, can enjoy of an open air terrace, a romantic garden, a peaceful sitting room with a chimeney or a dramatic roof terrace overlooking the Pichincha Volcano from one of our exclusice rooms. Each room is unique and has been designed with tradition and elegance, using a color palette inspired by the warm and earthy colours of the Andes. They're immaculate, light and airy, equipped with the necessary amenities to make your feel at home. In your room, you will find fresh towels and a local Arriba Chocolate of the highest quality placed on your pillow to be savored. The beds are covered with ecuadorian textiles, using the finest cottons and traditional indigenous designs. If you must stay in touch, we have WIFI throughout the property for those with mobile devices, and a computer workstation for guests without a computer. The Hotel is located on a quiet side street in the Mariscal neighborhoud, just two blocks away from the Plaza Quinde and 15 minutes away from Quito's Colonial Old Town. It occupies an original refurbished house from the beggining of the XX century, part of the UNESCO Heritage site, while its surroundings have everything you need for a perfect holiday: museums, galleries, shops, boutiques, spas and more than 100 restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing