We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pleasure and a Bargain”
Review of Cayman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cayman Hotel
Ranked #38 of 115 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasure and a Bargain”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

In an excellent and quiet neighborhood, this hotel, once a private mansion, offers very clean and comfortable accommodations for a very reasonable cost. The common rooms on the first floor are large and inviting and very clean, a great blessing in Quito, and offer satellite television, free access to high speed internet service, and a dining area in which you may host visitors. The house has a private enclosed garden, as well. The kitchen offers snack and light dining service for moderate cost in the afternoon and evening, and you can buy bottled water, beer, etc. cheaply on site. There is an inexpensive laundry two doors down, as well. The staff is fabulous and helpful. We loved this place so much we used it as the anchor site for our explorations to the Galapagos and into the Andes, coming back to continue to explore colonial Quito between trips outside the city. Would recommend to anyone and will come back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chowchowlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    45
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
35
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2009

Service is terrible at this hostel. There is a lot of noise at night (not in the street but inside the same hostel). Rooms have bare walls and you have to wait ages for hot water. The worst thing about it is that the staff is really unfriendly, if you complain they won't care. I'm from Ecuador and I've been to incredible places that cost half of what you pay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecuadoriantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

the staff is rude and the owner of the hotel is very rude to the guest if are not european please don't go there. not tv ,no phone .the bathroom so small you can hardly take a bath there . not gay friendlly as advertised in web page
you have to share the tv with other guest same with the phones service is very bad.
i only stayed with my colleagues one night ...and they only take cash no credit card .if you dont pay the extra nights they call the police.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david3855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

This hotel is in the heart of the Mariscal. That may be a good thing to some people, but we should have realized the proximity to so much street noise. We stayed there during some of the presidential campaign parades at night...and during a weekend. Earplugs were provided, and were essential. They did help a lot. We stayed in 2 different rooms, and although small, they did offer some sensible storage space for your belongings.

The staff was very trustworthy, and willing to assist with whatever questions we posed. In addition, the pre-trip arrangements were handled professionally and no money was required to confirm the room.

The standard breakfast was not that memorable (only bread, marmalade, coffee, juice), but you can buy additional items at very affordable prices.

The main complaint for us would be the location -- the noise and a little too close to the Mariscal action. Our room faced the street and people were under our window late at night, playing guitar, smoking, drinking, etc.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LYFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
España
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2009

Funny that lynn mentions that earplugs were essential, because I was there the third weekend of January and earplugs were avaiable at the reception. It is in deed a little noisy saturday nights, but stil I think it is probably one of the most quiet hotels around the area since it is in a little side street. It was very nice, clean and definitely good value.

Before getting there this hotel was recommended to me by a couple I met back home in Spain and later on when making a reservation the owner was very kind in taking the time to respond all my questions in several mails and helping me organize my time in Ecuador. The hotel also offers a cheap shuttle service from the airport, I actually had the same owner (a polish lady... I cant remeber her name) of the place waiting for me at the airport.

I had also a pretty room with a small table/chair and a window with a garden view which was great, since not many houses in Quito have gardens.

Definetly the best things about it are: the location, the friendly english speaking staff, free Internet & Wireless and the general fact that is a little cute house/hotel, very confortable with HOT WATER 24/7.

  • Liked — Internet & WIFI, location, garden, comfortable beds, english speaking staff
  • Disliked — small breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caminantemundial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmerville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

The very helpful staff, the location (on the quiet street close to so much), wifi, & the clean rooms made this place a wonderful spot for me. I stayed here before & after my Galapagos tour. The breakfast was just ok but, for 2 dollars you could get a fabulous breakfast next door at the Big Sur. Also, 50 yards down the street was a laundry that would return your clothes back to the hotel for you. The Cayman will do laundry also but this was much cheaper. I will say for me earplug were essential.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The hardwood floors were a little noisey but earplugs solved that!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_from_Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2008

We stayed here for three nights before our Galapagos trip, and the first two days were great: terrific location in the heart of the bar/restaurant rows of Mariscal but on a quiet(er) leafy street, with fast broadband, simple but tasty breakfasts and a delightfully bright and cheerful place to enjoy them in. Our first room (#11) was upstairs, and though small with not much storage space, was clean, had a view out onto the street, and despite a clogged shower drain, I considered it fine value at $38/night (+tax) including breakfast for a double room.

Alas, we had to move to a different room for the third night, and what a difference! Still priced at $38/night, Room 3 (and 2, across the way) were tiny in comparison, with not even enough space for a nighttable between the two slim twin beds, and the only window opening out onto the breakfast room.

I only thought it reasonable to ask for a discount but the request was instantly dismissed by the owner/manager/boss Halina, with whom previously I had exchanged several friendly emails re: the booking. Her reply: “it’s not my policy to offer discounts for those rooms”, as she stubbornly pointed to the displayed rate card.

The next morning as we were literally getting into the cab, I thought just to check and see which room we’d been assigned upon our return…and was informed it was Room 3 again, for both nights. Halina stayed away in the office, even after the receptionist went to inform her of our dismay. When we tracked her down, she explained that she, THE BOSS, “had no control over this situation” and that she had “five years of relationships with tour operators who block-booked many of the rooms, after coming by to see them all and cherrypicking for their tour guests” and thus there was nothing she could do.

So there you have it.

To sum: if you’re staying here with a tour group, you’ll likely be very pleased with your room (Room 4, in particular, is a terrific twin with lots of space and a nice view out onto the side garden) and everything else about the place. If not, be sure to specify that you don’t want to stay in Rooms 2 or 3 (or the ones downstairs looking out into the breakfast room) because you’ll be paying the same price for a room that’s less than half as good as the others. With not even a discussion of a possible discount.

  • Liked — The location and the wireless
  • Disliked — The totally inflexible boss
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MHTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.0 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#39 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#31 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Posada Tambuca
Posada Tambuca
#24 of 115 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rio Amazonas
Hotel Rio Amazonas
#27 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#40 of 115 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayman Hotel

Property: Cayman Hotel
Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-29 y Reina Victoria, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Quito
#21 Business Hotel in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cayman is an European owned and family operated Hotel; an intimate place in a world-class cultural touristic destination, Quito, Ecuador. Our hotel provides an alternative to big hotel chains, offering high standards, a peaceful surrounding, the highest individual customer service and a warm family atmosphere. Our professional staff will make every effort to make of your stay, a memorable one. After a day of exploration, our guests staying in one of the eleven rooms that the Hotel offers, can enjoy of an open air terrace, a romantic garden, a peaceful sitting room with a chimeney or a dramatic roof terrace overlooking the Pichincha Volcano from one of our exclusice rooms. Each room is unique and has been designed with tradition and elegance, using a color palette inspired by the warm and earthy colours of the Andes. They're immaculate, light and airy, equipped with the necessary amenities to make your feel at home. In your room, you will find fresh towels and a local Arriba Chocolate of the highest quality placed on your pillow to be savored. The beds are covered with ecuadorian textiles, using the finest cottons and traditional indigenous designs. If you must stay in touch, we have WIFI throughout the property for those with mobile devices, and a computer workstation for guests without a computer. The Hotel is located on a quiet side street in the Mariscal neighborhoud, just two blocks away from the Plaza Quinde and 15 minutes away from Quito's Colonial Old Town. It occupies an original refurbished house from the beggining of the XX century, part of the UNESCO Heritage site, while its surroundings have everything you need for a perfect holiday: museums, galleries, shops, boutiques, spas and more than 100 restaurants, cafes, bars and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Cayman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayman Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing