We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Near Hit, but misses in spots.”
Review of Noe Sushi Bar

Noe Sushi Bar
Ranked #11 of 1,371 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In Noe Sushi Bar we have been able to offer the best of Ecuadorian-Japanese fusion cuisine through a combination with national flavors and asian tradition. The expertise of our Executive Chef, Ecuadorian Noe Carmona has developed more than 80% of the exquisite dishes served at Noe Sushi Bar.In a cozy, personalized and attentive to every detail, seduction starts with the presentation of our menu: colors, combinations and names of the dishes, that captivate the eye and the palate.
Fair Oaks, California, United States
1 review
“A Near Hit, but misses in spots.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Having twice visited this restaurant with a group of Japanese American tourists in May, the restaurant rated at best as fair even though the presentation of the sushi offerings were very well done, the restaurant fell short is not having used fresh oil in the tempura offerings, the food tasted of old rancid used oil. The coating on the tempura shrimp and vegetables was too thick, not like the crispy lacy coating that one sees in Japanese restaurants in the States as well as in Japan. The misoshiru was served too cool and lacked the proper miso taste that is expected from this basic offering in Japanese restaurants. Additionally, the green tea was served at too cool of a temperature, lukewarm, which is not a sign of a good Japanese restaurant.

The group visited the restaurant approximately a week apart and the results were consistently the same and rated the restaurant as at most fair giving its consistent shortcomings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eugene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    290
    81
    32
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Artfully crafted sushi with a decidedly Ecuadorian palate”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My wife and I eat at one of the NOE locations every time we are in Quito and we have yet to be disappointed. Excellent sushi, good service and reasonable (considering the quality) prices.

We wrote a more detailed review on our blog: www.wealthyinecuador.com/2014/05/restaurant-review-noe-sushi-bar/

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
265 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Noe @ Cumbaya - very good”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located on the outskirts of the city, this outlet mainly caters to the upscale residential areas nearby. Nice setting on the Cumbaya´s main square and a very extensive selection of sushi make it quite an attractive place and it attracts considerable crowds in peak hours. The food itself is also very good, try the house specials which add a local twist to the widely-known sushi combinations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We go all the time.. excellent”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We love it, the quality, service and variety. Our favourites are samurai salmon, noe especial. This place is very popular here in Ecuador because of this reasons I recommend you to stop by.. I like the NOE that its near the park in Cumbaya. The first one of the chain. Congratulations !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viviana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwlchtocyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“as always, Noe delivers quality....”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Noe always turns out a superb meal. This time was no exception - in fact, Quito Noe seems to know how to serve your meals at the right time. not wine and wait then all at once, it was just well planned. The only downfall was the unnecessary discussion over the price of the 1/2 bottle of champagne.. clearly in the menu at $22, we were charged $32.. and then had to send them back 3 times to fix the bill......

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beansnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Noe Sushi Bar also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Noe Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing