We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Theatrum

Theatrum
Ranked #68 of 1,331 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Latin, Ecuadorean, International, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant is located in Quito's Historical Center on the second floor of Sucre National Theater, Cultural Patrimony from the XIX century, an expression of renaissance classicism. In the entire second floor it is located the most important restaurant in Quito, THEATRUM Restaurant & Wine Bar that offers an extraordinary menu of the vanguard Mediterranean cuisine. One of our emblematic dishes is the Grilled tender octopus with mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, garlic tossed in pesto vinaigrette. Our classic Ecuadorian prawns on the grill with avocado mousse and tomato fondue.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Excellent restaurant with refined atmosphe decorated with heavy red velvet curtains resembling those of a theater. The atmosphere is romantic and ideal for a quiet dinner. The food is excellent and unforgettable. In addition to the great food the service is attentive and thoughtful. The wine list is varied, but the wines are very expensive. There is no beer list. There are only two domestic beers of good quality considered to be popular and not craft.
I recommend this restaurant for couples in love wanting to eat very well. Is very worthwhile.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curiuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    107
    35
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Very good experience overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to go there one night quite unprepared (underdressed) as we were growing super tired by the endless fried meats (tough) served with fried potato and rice. We expected something better and got a nice surprise in this elegant resto.
We were attended by 4 different people during our dinner and everthing was vert good. The shared octopus salad brought a warm grilled octopus on a plate of mixed greens - very yummy pulpo but the dressing was in a small quantity and we could not even feel it. Yet, we were very happy to be eating gren leaves even though my favorite, endive was missing as the waiter warned us they did not have it.
The mains were sea bass on quinoa and roasted peppers for me and delicious pork belly for my companion. The bass was tasty but the pork was better, really nicely salted and crispy. We accompanied it with half a bottle of Argentine Mendoza.
For dessert we shared amazing chocolate suffle with tomato del arbol ice cream, which blew our heads off. At the end of the very nice evening we could hardly breathe but left very happy. The bill was steep for Ecuador but the service and the food were quite deserving of it.

Helpful?
1 Thank LadytravelerAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GOOD, GOOD,GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Inside of the Teatro Sucre, has a great atmosphere and excellent food. The service is outstanding and they take over on their own transport to the restaurant and back to your hotel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ARTCOLLECTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous Experience and Excellent Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had dinner here one night. We were blown away with the 5 star cuisine, especially with seafood and wine selections. They were just as good as any 4-5 star seafood restaurant in Seattle. We were pleasantly surprised and that wasn't what we expected in Quito, Ecuador. The atmosphere is a beautiful, formal looking historic theater still in use with red velvet floor to ceiling draperies, maybe 40 feet in length or more. Unlike the building atmosphere, the attire was entirely casual which is I guess due to most of the patrons being tourists on their way to the Galapagos or their travel agents sending them here. The restaurant picks you up at your hotel and returns you after dinner. We were unduly concerned with our attire. Dinner here is an amazing experience with unusual items such as sauces with squid ink sauce on a seafood salad.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rwanda17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth it just for dessert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Recommended by our driver, we asked our hotel to book this for us. The restaurant sent a taxi for us and we were met by the Maitre d' scurrying across the square to greet us. The menu was excellent and the wine was expensive as we expected. The desserts were a triumph, a rose petal foam and a mango sorbet just delicious and beautifully presented. And then another (free) taxi back to the hotel. My only tiny complaint is that it was a bit cold inside - the place had few clients probably due to the fact it was a Monday and the prices above average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetandpearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatrum also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Theatrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing