We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Now we're talking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zazu

Zazu
Ranked #7 of 1,262 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, South American, Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Now we're talking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

This was by far the best food and dining experience we found in Quito and we made it a point to return a second time. Service was outstanding and the food even better. Presentation was perfect. First time, we did a tasting menu that was amazing. Every course better than the next. Winner was Sea Bass, but Osso Buco was exceptional.

Great drinks and a stand out wine menu round out the experience. THIS, in my humble opinion is Quito's gem of the culinary scene and if you like great food and appreciate a great dining experience... You cannot miss Zazu!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jon5cts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    296
    83
    36
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have lived in Quito for four years and have yet to find a restaurant with better service than Zazu. I eat there frequently and just had a private event as well and was incredibly pleased with the service and food. I have never had a bad dish at Zazu and would highly recommend going. The seafood risotto is fabulous.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 294308Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top dining. Fabulous pisco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Read a review in lonely planet about Zazu and went on the first night we arrived in Quito. We had not made a booking and turned up in jeans/trainers- should have made a bit of an effort as very trendy and we were slightly underdressed! However, waiting staff very pleasant, recommended the pisco sour cocktail which was awesome. Had salmon and steak for mains which was beautiful. We booked for a few nights later after returning from the amazon and were not disappointed 2nd time around!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyAreskoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We tried Zazu recently after reading the great reviews in guidebooks and on TripAdvisor. It certainly lived up to its reputation and provided a very nice dining experience. The restaurant is stylishly appointed with lots of glass, wood and stone accents and is fairly quiet for what can be a very busy space - on a Wednesday evening, nearly every table was filled. The food, with a Peruvian flair, was outstanding and nicely plated. Attentive staff ensured that you were well covered and that everything flowed seemlessly. This restaurant would hold its own in any metropolitan setting and is well worth a visit when you are in Quito. Can't wait to return. ¡ Buen provecho !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomasEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good top dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We visited here after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The food and service were very good, and great value, especially compared to similar styles of restaurant in London!

I've knocked one star off, purely because my starter (pork taquito things) was absolutely delicious, and the other dishes didn't quite hit that level of amazingness. Maybe we picked poorly. Also I was pretty full and tired by the time we got to dessert, and the chocolate sphere thing I had was massive (very tasty) but just too much.

Also to note, when we were there the menu was predominantly fish based. I'd managed to miss the fact it's a fishy restaurant, so that did limit my first choices somewhat (I don't eat fish)

I'd go back though, it was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kittyl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zazu also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Zazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing