We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent hotel in the Mariscal district of Quito”
Review of Fuente de Piedra 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra 1
Ranked #96 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel is well located near restaurants, parks, shops; historic district a short taxi ride away if you are not up to the walk uphill. The rooms are in a colonial home that has been updated with modern conveniences. The staff was very friendly and helpful, Some staff speak better English than others but are very kind. The adjacent restaurant served a good breakfast although it doesn't seem to vary. The rooms were quaint very clean and equipped with phone and TV. Bathrooms very modern. There was a computer in the lobby for internet access available to guests as well as WFI. The rates are very reasonable and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 'doble' means twin beds. 'Matrimonial' means a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were booked for 4 nights (1 at the start and 3 at the end of our Ecuador section). Room was supposed to be a matrimonial but was a tiny double ie. 2 single beds. When we walked in and put our cases down there was no room left to move. They obligingly moved us into a suite for the night after contacting the tour company. This room was adequate, but not available when we returned at the end of our trip so they offered us a room at Fuente de Piedra 2 on our return. I was sceptical because I had read some of the other reviews before we left home. However Fuente de Piedra 2 is in a much better location and our second room, while not as good as the suite at Fuente de Piedra 1 was roomy and at least had a queen sized bed even if they did try to use a single bed sheet on it! There hardly seemed to be anyone else staying at either of these hotels while we were there. Breakfast was poor at both and there was no bar, restaurant or room service. I felt much more comfortable at Fuente de Piedra 2 but the bathroom was dismal. Hot water tap in hand basin didn't work and there was no hot water in the mornings. No hair dryer and the powerpoint in bathroom was blocked by a soap dispenser. Staff at both were difficult to communicate with but did their best. I would not stay at either of these hotels again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shazza059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was the first hotel in South America where we had to pay upfront for our 5 nights!!! We were offered a room which had a smelly toilet (the receptionist knew this as she rang us in the room 3 minutes after we went in to offer us another!!).
The internet site proudly boasts an international standard restaurant for breakfast and dinner which was a big selling point for us. However when we arrived we told it was only opened for breakfast. as this is not the safest place in Quito (we were told not to be walking after 9 in the streets) this became a problem for us having to source meals away from the hotel. The hotel boasts a 4 star quality but i am afraid it is only 2,. The Staff were friendly but all interactions were very transactional. I would not recommend a stay here for any longer than one night!!...sorry

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

In general we asked our tour operator Neblina forest for a nice, colonial style hotel near downtown Quito. The service and staff were great, my only complaint was with the thin walls and floors. You could here loud steps and specially the lady above our room with high heels. We felt safe and the staff and breakfast was very good. The hotel is around 6 blocks away from a great group of restaurants in Plaza El Quinde

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tavonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The rom was clean, and the people friendly.

However:

1. The restaurant and bar are closed/

2. The area is not good and not safe on foot after dark (per the hotel). I didn't have a car so this was a pain.

3. I was told they would take checks, so I didn't bring cash for the room. However, when I was checking they advised they wouldn't take a check. So I agreed to use a credit card, but they then said they charge an additional 10% if I use a credit card.

4. I went to the ATM and got cash. I needed $5 back when paying the bill (the ATM gave me $20 bills) but they had NO money to make change. Hard to believe.

5. Plus, the rooms are quite small.

No a terrible hotel, but when I return to Quito in January I will stay someplave else.

greg

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Though the room was small and we were somewhat offput by the armed guard who greeted us at the gate, the hotel was very clearn and the staff at the front desk were very friendly. The room was a pretty small - not much more than a bed and a bathroom, but clean and quiet. The breakfast was Ecuador average - good bread with fresh juice and eggs. Overall good value in a convenient area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoLittleFeet13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This was our last stop on a multi-city tour of Ecuador. It was recommended in my Lonely Planet guide, we confirmed its value with all of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint.
We arrived late in the day w/o a reservation and were able to get 2 double rooms. They were very clean and the beds and pillows were great. Each room has a small TV with cable and clock radio. The bilingual girl at the front desk was unbelievably accomodating. She gave us recommendations on where to eat, arranged for a taxi to pick us up @ 4:30 am and take us to the airport and even offered to have breakfast made for us prior to our departure (which we couldn't accept in good conscience).
The only inconvenience was the coughing and creaking woods floors from the pacing of a very sick man staying in the room 2 doors down.

It's in an area of Quito with great little restaurants, cafes, and nightlife yet far enough away from it all as to not be bothered by any of the noise.

I can't wait to stay here again on my next trip to Ecuador.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sac204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.3 mi away
Fuente de Piedra II
Fuente de Piedra II
#105 of 116 in Quito
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
801 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
0.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra 1

Address: Wilson E9-80 y Jose Luis Tamayo, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: £41 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra I, built in 1996, is an enchanting and charming three stars colonial style hostel located in a quiet sector in Quito, near the neighbourhood of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic area of Quito. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra I features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation, service to gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fuente de Piedra 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra 1 Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing