We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place to stay in Quito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fuente de Piedra 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra 1
Ranked #112 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay in Quito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stay at this hotel twice a year when I travel through Quito. Rooms are relatively cheap and the quality of the rooms exceed the price. They just renovated the dining area this past year. The hotel is safe and it patrolled by guards, who are friendly and will help you with your baggage. The hotel is near some tourist districts and near the bus line. I wouldn't recommend walking alone at night in the area, but I'm not sure that I would walk alone anywhere in Quito. There is a little convenience store across the street where you can get water, drinks, and food.

The rooms are charming, simple, and clean. We always had hot water. They have reliable wireless internet and cable TV. We stayed in the junior suite one time, and loved it. I think it is worth the extra $30USD for the night.

The hotel serves a complimentary breakfast, which is simple and delicious. They also serve dinner and drinks, which are reasonably priced.

I have my favorite staff members. Jonathan definitely cares about your experience at the hotel. His english is very good and he will help you in anyway possible. Another guy, I forget his name, isn't as welcoming. When we requested a taxi to the airport, he called his buddy to pick us up. I don't think this was an official cab and the guy smelled like alcohol. Please make sure you are taking an official cab!

I would highly recommend this hotel. If you get a cab at the airport, be sure to have the address of the hotel. They do not know where this hotel is without it.

Room Tip: The junior suite is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah199112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    34
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Fuente de Piedra 1 is a great little boutique hotel in a relatively quiet, leafy area on the edge of La Mariscal , the main tourist area of Quito. It's about a 10 minute walk into Plaza Foch, the heart of Mariscal, which is full of bars and restaurants. The hotel is a charming 3 storey building with a sunny terrace at the back, a couple of sunny balconies and a nice bar/cafe area, great for a coffee, drink or just to sit and relax. The rooms are a reasonable size with private bathrooms, plenty of windows and very clean. Beds were comfortable and the rooms have safety boxes, wi-fi and TV. Breakfast was good, great freshly squeezed fruit juices every morning, eggs etc.

After booking in for a few nights we ended up spending over 2 weeks there in all. The staff were generally excellent, staff at Reception spoke good English and were very helpful with advice and organising taxis etc. The only problem we encountered was a hitch with one of our reservations, which seemed to go missing, but the staff quickly arranged another room for us and resolved the issue to our satisfaction.

There are a couple of great restaurants very close by, Mare Nostrum (seafood) on the corner of Tamayo and Wilson Streets, and Baalbek (very good Lebanese) on the corner of Wilson and 6th of December streets.


We really enjoyed Quito but it is recommended to take a taxi after dark and avoid walking in deserted areas.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 9 are on the corner of the building and get great light. Both are right next to the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayG_020454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location, quiet, safe, nice breakfast, dinner house on-site, staff very helpful, five blocks from Foch Plaza-the center of La Mariscal district. Originally planned to stay two nights, extended our stay to ten nights.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I moved to the Fuente de Piedra I from the Fuente de Piedra II after hearing it was a nicer hotel. While the building itself was nicer the room we had (a triple for 3 adults) was quite small and the bathroom was a teteris game to use. We ending up opting for a separate room so that we had enough space for our beds and belongings. The location felt quite secure and was 3 blocks from the center tourist plaza. There was a small safe big enough for an ipad but not a laptop. I decent place to set out to Quito adventures.

Room Tip: Good for doubles or singles. Book at the Fuente de Piedra II for triples of quads
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinsua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

The hotel is well located near restaurants, parks, shops; historic district a short taxi ride away if you are not up to the walk uphill. The rooms are in a colonial home that has been updated with modern conveniences. The staff was very friendly and helpful, Some staff speak better English than others but are very kind. The adjacent restaurant served a good breakfast although it doesn't seem to vary. The rooms were quaint very clean and equipped with phone and TV. Bathrooms very modern. There was a computer in the lobby for internet access available to guests as well as WFI. The rates are very reasonable and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 'doble' means twin beds. 'Matrimonial' means a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were booked for 4 nights (1 at the start and 3 at the end of our Ecuador section). Room was supposed to be a matrimonial but was a tiny double ie. 2 single beds. When we walked in and put our cases down there was no room left to move. They obligingly moved us into a suite for the night after contacting the tour company. This room was adequate, but not available when we returned at the end of our trip so they offered us a room at Fuente de Piedra 2 on our return. I was sceptical because I had read some of the other reviews before we left home. However Fuente de Piedra 2 is in a much better location and our second room, while not as good as the suite at Fuente de Piedra 1 was roomy and at least had a queen sized bed even if they did try to use a single bed sheet on it! There hardly seemed to be anyone else staying at either of these hotels while we were there. Breakfast was poor at both and there was no bar, restaurant or room service. I felt much more comfortable at Fuente de Piedra 2 but the bathroom was dismal. Hot water tap in hand basin didn't work and there was no hot water in the mornings. No hair dryer and the powerpoint in bathroom was blocked by a soap dispenser. Staff at both were difficult to communicate with but did their best. I would not stay at either of these hotels again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shazza059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This was the first hotel in South America where we had to pay upfront for our 5 nights!!! We were offered a room which had a smelly toilet (the receptionist knew this as she rang us in the room 3 minutes after we went in to offer us another!!).
The internet site proudly boasts an international standard restaurant for breakfast and dinner which was a big selling point for us. However when we arrived we told it was only opened for breakfast. as this is not the safest place in Quito (we were told not to be walking after 9 in the streets) this became a problem for us having to source meals away from the hotel. The hotel boasts a 4 star quality but i am afraid it is only 2,. The Staff were friendly but all interactions were very transactional. I would not recommend a stay here for any longer than one night!!...sorry

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregStory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 6 in Cotopaxi Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#53 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#13 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#17 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#7 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra 1

Property: Fuente de Piedra 1
Address: Wilson E9-80 y Jose Luis Tamayo, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 254 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra I, built in 1996, is an enchanting and charming three stars colonial style hostel located in a quiet sector in Quito, near the neighbourhood of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic area of Quito. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra I features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation, service to gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fuente de Piedra 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra 1 Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing