We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fuente de Piedra 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fuente de Piedra 1
Ranked #109 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I enjoyed staying here for couple of nights. Breakfast was great. Interior of the hotel looked interesting. Staff on reception speaks English. It seemed like a quieter location in Mariscal Sucre neighborhood, except that a dog on the street barked half of the night. :) Overall the room was pretty clean. The bathroom looked well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mijas12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    34
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
23
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This hotel is only a couple of blocks from Plaza Foch and the express bus to Old Town. The rooms vary from somewhat cramped to spacious. The staff are reasonably helpful. The breakfasts are okay but repetitive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
330 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here 6 nights. The location is great: a rather quiet street, close to the center of Mariscal Sucre. The building is an old colonial place, which might have a lot of atmosphere. The rooms are well equipped with good beds and bathroom, but somehow there is no atmosphere in this hostal. The staff is adequate, but not particularly friendly and one of the funniest things is that you have pay for the cost of the room. After two days that becomes annoying.
The breakfast is poor and the waiters very formal.There is no soul in this accomodation. You wonder whether the staff is working there with pleasure. This did not give a good feeling to us as guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the front on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had such a short stay here it's not easy to give much advice. The staff was friendly, the room was clean but VERY small with 3 people in it and 3 beds - the door to the bathroom couldn't open all the way because of the way the sink was built. It would also be nice if hotels would get up to date on having plugs available on desk tops for guests to be able to charge cameras, phones, etc... instead of having to push beds and night stands around to get at the plugs. Breakfast wasn't served until 7:00 a.m. and we had to leave for the airport at that exact time, they only gave us bread and jam - the kitchen wouldn't make us anything before/earlier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarktwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riobamba
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms are ok if you are lucky not to get a small tight room the staff is friendly but they hustle you every time for details, if you are renting a car DO NOT GO THERE no parking and the guars dont want to take care of the problem nor the hotel.

For some reason they asked for check out at 10 30 which really anoyed me since because they had no parking i had to ask a cousin for parking in his home and had to run back and road rage Quitos trafick

I will not stay here ever again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The hotel was cozy and comfortable for the price we paid, but there were no elevators, so with the thinning air of The Andes, it was hard to go upstairs without losing my breath. The hotel is located near a turistic zone with lots of restaurants and bars, so we enjoyed that. We were in a group of fisteen people, so this budget hotel was perfect for us.

Room Tip: pick a lower floor, the hotel has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FANNYJACQUELINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotels is in a very good location, close to the entertainment district and Plaza Foch with all the great restaurants and bars. The hotel is very clean and beds were very comfortable. The rooms could be bigger but the bathroom was large and the shower was great. The decor is a bit creepy with lots of saint statues - our room actually had a few! You could also hear everything that was going on in the courtyard and every single move of our neighbors upstairs. The breakfast was ok, not a lot of options, just eggs, bread and fruit. But overall, a decent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cuello de Luna
Hotel Cuello de Luna
#5 of 6 in Cotopaxi Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sierra Madre
Hotel Sierra Madre
#52 of 112 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antinea
Antinea
#37 of 112 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.3 mi away
Cafe Cultura
Cafe Cultura
#47 of 112 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente de Piedra 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente de Piedra 1

Property: Fuente de Piedra 1
Address: Wilson E9-80 y Jose Luis Tamayo, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fuente de Piedra 1 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuente de Piedra I, built in 1996, is an enchanting and charming three stars colonial style hostel located in a quiet sector in Quito, near the neighbourhood of La Mariscal, the most traditional, commercial and touristic area of Quito. It is the ambition to host our guests in our hostel, our home. Fuente de Piedra I features the authenticity and diversity of Ecuador with a heart for quality and a home feeling in every aspect ranging from accommodation, service to gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fuente de Piedra 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuente De Piedra 1 Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing