We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay.”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #1 of 77 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Located centrally in Cuenca this family run hotel has excellent rooms and breakfasts. We only stayed for one night but would happily have stayed longer if we had the time. It was surprisingly quiet given its location on a busy street. From here it was easy to walk to all the sites and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

This boutique hotel is amazing in its location, layout, and friendliness. The family that owns the hotel was exceptional, they went out of their way to help us when we had a small medical emergency. The hotel was charming, the rooms clean and unique, the staff impeccable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

The owner, Alberto, and all members of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Within a couple of days, they make you feel as if you are a valued member of the family. The entire staff seems to run to help whenever anything is needed. The inn has been in the family for more than a century, and Alberto has restored it substantially already: it is quite charming and very reminiscent of the riads of Morocco (which I guess is the origin of the Spanish colonial style in which C.O. is built). Breakfast in the courtyard is great from the perspective of both ambience and quality of food. Cuenca itself is a very pleasant place to visit for a few days. The hotel is conveniently located only a couple blocks from the main plaza, but it was nevertheless quiet in our room and also in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

The rooms are small, much smaller than their website leads viewers to believe. However, the charms of this hotel come from the fact that everything is small. The service at this hotel from all the staff, especially the owner, is second to none. The He actually took time to fix our cell phone, going so far as to escort us to a phone store (for a SIM card) and to his tech-savvy friend (to unlock the phone.) Common areas at this hotel is ample and, when added to the hotel's small size, is conducive to conversation among travellers. A cooked to order breakfast was included every morning too!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANCAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I just spent two nights at the Casa Ordonez and loved it! The owner, Alberto, has lived in the States and is very engaging and helpful host. He managed to score a reservation for us at the last minute at the Tiesto's restaurant, introduced us to some ex-pat friends who took us to see their apartment, and shared the history of the house which was originally owned by his grandfather.
The location couldn't be better....2 1/2 blocks from the main square.....and the accomodations were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was admittedly small but adequate. There was also a large and comfortable sitting room on the upper level where guests could read, watch TV and movies and relax. The cost was very reasonable and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. (Rates include a cooked-to-order hot breakfast.)

Judytravel

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I don't know where to begin. Casa Ordonez is definitely the place to stay in Cuenca, especially if you are thinking of moving there. Alberto is a great resource for any questions you may have about the area. The hotel is comfortable, charming and centrally located. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. Our many thanks to Alberto, Inez, Senora Ordonez (Mama) and Edwin. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larrysgirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We spent two nights in Casa Ordonez and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was very big and would probably be called a suite in other hotels. It is run by family members who are very helpful. They have a room with a big screen TV and a lot of DVDs. It gave us a chance to watch an English language movie. They actually brought us popcorn while we were watching the movie. They also have a good sized book exchange area with plenty of good English mystery books. Breakfast was good. The rooms are quiet and the location is very good.
Our only criticism is that the water in the showers did not get as hot as we wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimandcarolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#14 of 62 in Cuenca
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 62 in Cuenca
243 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 62 in Cuenca
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range: £36 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing