We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place to stay in Cuenca”
Review of Casa Ordonez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Ordonez
Ranked #2 of 70 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The ONLY place to stay in Cuenca”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed with Alberto and the rest of the friendly family for 10 days -- arrived for 7 and extended our stay to take in the special holiday weekend. We loved everything about the Casa -- its atmosphere, its comfort, the lovely sitting area on the second floor, and most importantly the wonderful hosts, Alberta, the Senora, and Ines, as well as Edwin, his mum and Rene, each of whom were so kind and helpful. Alberto gave us wonderful advice, arranged tours, made plane reservations and on and on. We also enjoyed the other guests and especially Alberto's special happy hour in honour of the holiday.

You must reserve as they prefer not to take walk ins, but despite being Trip Advisor's #1 (which discouraged me to begin with) they do not like to be full and rarely are. Just email and make a reservation at the most comfortable hotel possible.

My only suggestion? Alberto could you please put a large mirror in our room, Eugenia? (The rooms all have names!) Otherwise all perfect.

Room Tip: Some are bigger than others, but all are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
227
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Alberto, the owner, and his staff are just incredible. They gave us the warmest, most welcoming, and most memorable honeymoon experience possible. There were just a few other guests throughout our eight days there, all of whom were very friendly and helpful with tips and ideas of things to do and see. We were there over the Independence Day holiday in November, which was very fun, as well. Alberto threw us happy hours, suggested and arranged activities (the tourist bus, which I normally hate, but which was the perfect way to start off our time in Cuenca, as well as a wonderful guided hike through Cajas National Park), they accepted us happily when we arrived very early in the morning, the breakfasts were super fresh and delicious (and they varied them a couple of times for special occasions). We were concerned about the 11:00 curfew, but it actually was never an issue because the town shuts down well before then for the most part and the one day we thought we might stay out and party for the holiday, they arranged for us to have a cell phone to call when we got in and the live-in attendant would let us in; but we ended up getting in early that night, as well. With all of the walking and exploring we did (about ten miles per day), even us twenty-somethings were exhausted and ready for sleep by 10pm most nights. Overall, it was a completely wonderful experience and I would absolutely stay again if I am fortunate enough to return to Cuenca.

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique and charming in different ways, but somewhat small (to be expected in an ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had the suite which was quiet , wonderful and clean in an old Spanish colonial style building.The Ordenez family members Alberto, Innes ,Mother and the staff treated us like you were part of the extended family. They were very attentive to your needs and comfort .The location was great walking distance to the Centro and good restaurants.Alberto arranged our excursion to the mountains with very knowlegible tourist guides.
Last but not least ,we forgot our battery charger for our note pad in our room . They promptly contacted us by email and made all the arrangement to send the charger by special delivery for pick up at our other destination. They send the package to us with no charge to us. That is service!! .Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Fran and Sulaiman,Canada

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran2433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent 4 nights in Casa Ordonez. As mentioned in the other reviews, it was a delightful quiet sanctuary in the center of Cuenca which was an ideal base for exploring the city. The staff were all excellent, wifi was fast, bed was comfortable, and it was quiet.
My wife ate a salad in a cafe and grew ill. As she started to get better she said what she really wanted was chicken soup. I went out to try to find take-out chicken soup but couldn't. When I returned to Casa Ordonez Alberto's mother asked how my wife was doing, and offered to make Chicken Soup! Unbelievable! After that soup she immediately got better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Alberto has hired and trained his staff to the highest level. Their helpfulness and overall attention was exemplary. The hotel is quiet (although on a busy street), very clean and close to everything in old Cuenca. The ambience of the elegant colonial building has been maintained while updated to current standards. We recommend Alberto and his hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Alberto has retrofitted the building so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Being our first visit to Ecuador, we did a lot of research not only on which cities to visit but where to stay and what to do.

Casa Odonez came up as a must stay and wow, we were not disappointed!

From the minute we stepped through the grand doors of Casa Ordonez, we felt right at home. Our first room upstairs was very grand and we really liked it. The only issue was my partner was not feeling well and had a hard time sleeping even with the little bit of street noise so we asked to move the next day and it was not an issue at all. We were given a room on the main floor and it was perfect for the many days we stayed.

Every morning when we got up to have breakfast, the staff were there waiting for us and we were seated immediately and served right away. They would ask what we wanted for breakfast and were so quick to serve us and were always waiting off to the side to accommodate that we were never without food or drink for more than one minute.

Another example of how accommodating they were - we were getting ready to head out for the day and had asked where we could have our laundry done. The staff took care of it right then and there and we had our laundry back that evening (and I won't even mention how reasonable the price was as the hotel did NOT add a service charge like many others do). We also had dinner plans that evening and had asked to borrow an iron. Instead of giving us an iron, they took the shirts and ironed them for us and hung them back in our room while we were gone for NO charge.

Alberto, the owner, as well as his mother, sister and the staff were so amazing and friendly and willing to answer any questions, talk to you about the area, the hotel, the family history, the town history, make reservations for dinner, car service, tours, etc.

We have stayed at many many top rated resorts around the world but with the level of service we received at Casa Ordonez, it is near the top of our list.

Thank you to Alberto and family and like they say when you arrive, during your stay and when you leave, "this is your home" - and that never felt more true than during our stay. We are looking forward to returning again.

Room Tip: Gabriella I believe was the name of the room on the first floor we stayed in and it was quiet and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelseyville, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Great location easy walk to main square and all the good restaurants. Alberto is a fabulous host. He was very helpful when we had a very bad issue with Mio Tours. Beds were very comfortable and sheets and towels new. A great big screen movie room with lots of up to date movies to watch. Nice breakfasts and lots of good recommendations from Alberto and his staff of what to see and do. Would gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierro3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ordonez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ordonez

Property: Casa Ordonez
Address: Mariscal Lamar 859, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Ordonez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful restored "Old Spanish" home, family run, personal service. Our mission statement "Feel at Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Ordonez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ordonez Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing