We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forum Hotel(Cuenca)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria(Cuenca)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa San Rafael(Cuenca)(Great Value!)
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca(Cuenca)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ordonez(Cuenca)
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 31/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
25
2
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
2
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflower marketthree weeksenjoyed my staycentral locationgreat hotelbellslaundrycathedralecuador
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I won't stay here again.
That being said, location was great. It's in the heart of Cuenca. Easy walking around the city. The room was average. No dest or chair to sit. Basically a bed, closet and small fridge. Bathroom with shower was ok. Sleep was difficult as it was in the heart of town and right next to a church and the flower market. So heard cars, voices and activity. The church bells went off early in AM 6:30 then rang for about and hour off and on after that. So unless you're an early riser you're screwed for sleep.
The staff was however very very nice and helpful. If we needed something they immediately accommodated. They kept the front entrance door locked though throughout the day so each time we came in or left they had to run and unlock the door. If no one was at the desk we had to ring the bell and wait for someone to come and open the door.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the church but no elevators
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0505LiveLife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xavier R, Gerente at Flore Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

We kindly thank you for the review on our accommodation. This essential feedback helps us strive to better our customer relations for the future in ultimately providing exceptional service to all our guests.

Unfortunately due to circumstances beyond our control the church bells here in Cuenca are a common sound that occur daily throughout the city. And the influx of pedestrian noise at this time of year was simply due to the celebrating of an annual religious holiday which brings many people out into the streets. Though we are extremely sorry to hear this caused such disruption to your vacation. If it had been mentioned to us at the time we would have been more than happy to move you to a quieter section of the hotel with any requested items (desk, chair etc) that you found lacking in the previous room.

Again, regarding the public celebrations, this is why we were conscious of keeping our front doors locked also during this busy time simply to ensure our guests and their belongings were safe which is of the utmost importance to all of us here.

In saying that we do realize that placing a note or sign on the door for our guests during that time with alternate instructions on how to enter the premises would have been helpful and we apologize for that lack of communication.

Again we apologize for this unfortunate set of events that occurred throughout your time here. If in future you find yourself staying with us again please simply let us know of any inconveniences that may arise during your stay and we will do all that we can to ensure your comfort and relaxation.

Kind Regards

Xavier Rendón

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

This is a BEAUTIFUL AND CHARMING hotel. The kind people helping you out ARE the owners and see to your every wish. They single handedly planned my trip to the artisans of San Bartolomè, where i found my dream guitar. They take you back to a time where you actually feel appreciated and cared for, not just a dollar bill walking through the door. 11 out of 10!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay.

We found this hotel on booking.com and decided to book as part of our visit to Ecuador, we arrived a day early for our reservation and they were happy to welcome us despite it being the busy easter weekend.

Nothing was too much trouble for Jose and his fantastic team, rooms were kept immaculately clean and the housekeepers even did all our laundry for us ($20) which was greatly appreciated.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the city centre next to the cathedral and flower market. The only problem with such a central location is parking, but I believe the hotel has arrangements for something locally (we didn't take advantage if this).

As a hotelier, running a luxury property in England, I can say that the San ezequeal is very much achieving the standards I would expect, and for its price point it is an absolute bargain. (It's worth the price for the fantastic showers alone!)

When I next return to Cuenca I will be sure to book a room here (assuming it has availability!)

Hopefully Jose will have his restaurant open soon, as breakfast was the only reasonable addition I would make to this hotel.

Thank you San Ezequeal for such a memorable visit.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Loved the location, the rooms were very comfortable , the service was excellent and the people always eager to help you with anything you needed! Absolutely recommendable!! Cannot wait to go back!! Thank you for making our stay unforgettable and for enhancing our traveling experience in Cuenca!!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marcilla_Maria_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Very much enjoyed my stay at Hotel San Ezequiel. Best location you could possibly have in the center of the historical district, located right behind the New Cathedral.

The building itself has a beautiful historic facade, but the interiors are newly renovated - clean and modern - all new facilities. Rooms are large and stately. Great views too. (The only downside is that there is noise from the street below - but I understand in the future they will be blocking traffic from the central area.)

Best of all was hospitality and helpfulness of the proprietors and staff.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Higher rooms will be quieter. The configuration of the rooms varies greatly (not a cookie cutter hotel!)
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ericfmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews