We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Nova Inn - November 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview Hotel Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverview Hotel Cuenca
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Lawrenceburg, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Nova Inn - November 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I and two of my daughters traveled to Ecuador to visit my third daughter who is serving in the Peace Corp. in Machala. We took a bus from Guayaquil to Cuenca (I must confess I have never taken a bus so I was apprehensive but surprised how nice the ride was). There was an art festival going on the weekend we arrived at Cuenca so the city was filled with people, great art booths, fun music, and lots of food (I would highly recommend planning a trip to Cuenca to attend this festival). We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Villa Nova as it is located right on the beautiful Tomebamba river which runs through the center of downtown Cuenca and within walking distance to all the festival activities. I could go on about how much I appreciate Villa Nova and Cuenca but will cut to the chase -

Rooms - I had a room without windows though there were 2 skylights (#9 - Guapondelig) - I actually liked not having a window as I am not used to city living and needed some undisturbed sleep after a long plane ride and hours of travel. The beds were comfortable, room clean, and indeed there was hot water for my morning shower. Also, the rooms was straightened each day and included fresh bottles of water.

Staff - warm, welcoming, accommodating and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.

Breakfast - juice, eggs, bread - I am not the person to write a review about food (I will leave it at that)

Overall experience - perfect! What I loved about Villa Nova - long conversations with Bill (manager), sitting on the patio in the morning and watching the parents walk their children to school, sitting on the patio in the evening with a glass of wine, the sound of the river, central location. . . good food. . . .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieSchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    22
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
27
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huatulco, Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Trip Advisor describes the Villa Nova Inn as being 3.1 miles from Cuenca. This is not true. It is no more than a 5-7 minute walk from the main square. Don't be deterred!

The Villa Nova sits just above the beautiful Tomebamba River and directly across from a newly renovated public park.

You can fall asleep to the sound of the rushing river and wake up early for a stroll in the park!

The staff is extremely helpful and kind. They also speak English. There is a delicious breakfast on the patio overlooking the river every morning.

The hotel is under renovations to put in a bar and restaurant, which will only add to the atmosphere and appeal of this charming Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are the choice rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently spent one week at the Villa Nova Inn. It was my first visit to Cuenca to explore the possibilities of retirement there. Consequently the Inn served as my central base. The room was clean and well maintained. The staff were courteous and most bi-lingual.They provided an environment that made me feel quite at home.and were extremely helpful when I needed advice. The most striking thing about the Inn is its location, central and overlooking the Cuenca river.. Sitting on the patio, with the river rushing by in the foreground & in a park like surrounding, the sounds & ambience was all encompassing. The people strolling and jogging by really provided an almost "parisienne scene". I cannot wait to return to this lovely little Hotel/Inn.

Room Tip: My room #6, upstairs was roomy with a large bathroom/shower. It faced north & overlooked the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I enjoyed my stay there. It had a wonderful view of the river which I just loved. The staff was very freindly. At the time the cost was reasonable as I only payed 30.00 a day. I also had hot water and my own room and private bathroom. I stayed for 2 weeks. There was a complimentary breakfast.
There was also free internet service. I enjoyed having breakfast with other travelers. This was always my highlight of my day.

Room Tip: I think it depends on your needs and desires. Specify what you like private,quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK7412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

They messed up our reservation, they didn't know what to do.. but it was all paid for already!
They put us all in one room when we had 2 rooms, and it was uncomfortable to share only one bathroom between 6 people.
The queen bed was okay but the bunk beds where awfull!
Good breakfast, but i wouldn't go back again

Room Tip: There are rooms with NO WINDOWS! ask for one in the front that you don't feel like in a prison
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveller1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I´ve spent three nights at the Villa Nova Inn enjoying my time in room # 12. It seems to be the best room: huge windows you can open, rushing Rio Tomebamba right in front and lots of space. The only odd thing was the wardrobe placed in the bathroom - thankfully I´m a midrange backpacker and never depend on wardrobes or hangers. Some other rooms don´t seem to have windows at all, so spend some extra dollars on river view rooms to enjoy your stay.

Like at Casa de Romero, Guayaquil, the staff is not always at the reception when you need some help, but when they are around they are ever so helpful and nice. Intercom and video surveillance at the entrance make it a very safe place.

Not just the river makes it a great location but also it´s closeness to Calle Large, nice museums and places to eat and of course Parque Caldero with Catedral Vieja and Catedral Nueva (this is where you can hop on the tourist buses).

Breakfast is served in your room when it´s too cold to sit on the terrace, but needs some improvement because it´s way to basic (bread, jam, juice, coffee, small portion of scrambled eggs). And the telly should be fixed since the sound was mute no matter what buttons on the remote the staff and I pressed. Listening to some music would have been nice, but Rio Tomebamba made the nicest of sounds day and night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Villa is very conveniently, and beautifully located on the river across from Cuenca U.
Every morning in Cuenca we started with a breakfast overlooking the river and watched the runners and joggers on the loop by the Uni. We met new friends over breakfast and learned a lot about local events from the friendly staff.
The Villa is clean, and was quiet..and basic. Some rooms have no windows with the river view.
A great starting point for exploring Cuenca.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank denrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Macondo
Hostal Macondo
#18 of 60 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Emilia Hostal
Villa Emilia Hostal
#26 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Hotel Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Hotel Cuenca

Property: Riverview Hotel Cuenca
Address: Paseo 3 de Noviembre | 24-06 y Escalinatas, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador (Formerly Hostal Villa Nova Inn)
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverview Hotel Cuenca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverView Hotel Cuenca is a privately owned boutique Inn on the Barranco (cliff) over-looking the Tomebamba River and the Paseo (boardwalk) in Cuenca, Ecuador. With only nine rooms RiverView Hotel in Cuenca, Ecuador feels like home. Serving breakfast and lunch on site is The Vegetable Bar restaurant, open from 8am to 3pm daily and vegetarian friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Riverview Hotel Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nova Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing