We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Martha is just so great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa Cuencana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Cuencana
Ranked #10 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Cuenca
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Martha is just so great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 days in this hostel. Martha the owner is wonderful. It's not exensive at all, the breakfast is huge with fresh fruits, cereal, yogurt etc. She helped me to call my precedent guesthouse where I had left some stuffs. She talked to rhe owner and try to help me the most she could. Her son is also a guide. He loves to talk about his culture and he is passionated. I would recommend it!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexDurok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    45
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
14
49
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, New York, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and thought it was a great place. Marta the owner is great. We stayed in the building next door that they just bought and were finishing it up the day we got there so we were the first ones to stay in a brand new room with private bath and it even had a balcony.

The only drawback was the noise at night, which slowed down around 200am.

It is located in a very advantageous area for walking everywhere.

Just across the street is a nice little cafe that we ate at each morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheresRowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a great experience at la casa Cuencana. the private room was very nice, big and clean with small kitchen on the 3rd floor of a building next door. All the staff was helpful. Thank you to Marta, the owner who made us feel like at home. She was always very keen on giving any information we needed to discover the city and the rest of the country. We forgot some important staff in the hostel and she was so kind to send them back to us in Guayaquil by bus without charging us anything. She definitely went out of her way.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan camilo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hostel has a great location. Near the panama hat museum, near the big supermarket and down town in the old center. We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. This is the first negative point because there is only one bathroom including a toilet on the floor to serve (when it is full) at least 12 persons. You can imagine the line in the morning. This also wakes you up when there are early birds. It is a pretty noisy place in so you will here every footstep. The kitchen is badly equipped. Almost no plates or glasses and the pots are horrible to cook with. The owners try to make you feel home and are really helpfull which is a good thing. All in all a good and cheap option to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5 people dorm with the own bathroom if you want to sleep in a dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyhaique, Aisen del General Carlos Ibanez del Campo, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I don't have any complaints about the La Casa Cuencana. It's easy to find and in a great location for the price you pay. One downside is you probably will hear music when you're going to sleep at night. But if you're tired like I was, it's not going to make a difference. The family is very nice and very eager to help. Good people. I love that it was clean and somewhat ecofriendly with motion sensor lights. I would stay there again and recommend for the weary backpacker. Also, there's a full kitchen!

Room Tip: Top floor was good, I imagine you would hear people walking up the stairs because they're creaky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jameisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have been travelling for 11 weeks through Latin America and this is one of the best so far; I recommend this hostel for a number of reasons. the place is comfortable and the owner, Marta will make you feel right at home. If you are looking for a good nights sleep and a place to relax This is the place to do it. In addition, the place has a good kitchen, hot water and a little courtyard in the top floor, all floors have a living room to chill. From a location point of view, right in the historic centre of town, the hostel is near all the great restaurants and bars. I would recommend going to the tourist office (5 Min walk) and asking for a map and overview of the city. They will give you all the information you need to see the city and the surrounding area (Inca ruins etc...).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was nice to find that there is at least one place in Cuenca that is still maintained and owned by Ecuadorians. They actually spoke in Spanish which is rare in ex-patriot heavy Cuenca. The family that runs the place is of course extremely kind and helpful. I had a private room and it was very comfortable and clean. (the room is actually the one in the photo) The price was right as well. The only problem is that on the weekend it can be a bit noisy, not from the hostel but from the music playing at other establishments across the street. I recommend staying here because it is clean, comfortable, in a great location and most importantly Ecuadoran owned and operated.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#5 of 71 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Cafecito Hostel
El Cafecito Hostel
#37 of 71 in Cuenca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
#6 of 71 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Cuencana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Cuencana

Property: La Casa Cuencana
Address: Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cssa Cuencana Hostal, the original since 2005, We are a Ecuadorian family-run hostel. We proudly offer accommodation in a warm environment, cozy, comfortable and diverse rooms and common areas. We are located in the heart of historic district(El Centro) the best place to enjoy the local culture, history, nature and the lovely scenario of a city named Cultural Heritage of Humankind. We offer dorms and private rooms in our three buildings among great restaurants and bars, museums and the Tomebamba River and only a few blocks from the main square. Here in a safe neighborhood, you can relax and enjoy the warm hospitality of the Ecuadorian culture. Contact our email to check for availability and room options, room rates and large groups. We welcome to you to your home in Cuenca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa Cuencana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing