We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully restored home from early 1800s, no details missed!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Aguila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Aguila
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
1 review
“Beautifully restored home from early 1800s, no details missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had a great stay at Casa del Aguila! At this point, the hotel has only been open for maybe 4 months following a 2-3 full restoration of a beautiful old home completed in 1802. Doesn't seem like they missed a single detail!

Our room, though it wasn't quite to the scale of a modern hotel, was well proportioned and had a nicely sized bathroom attached, which was complete with all modern fixtures (sink, toilet, shower, etc.). Bed was incredibly comfortable. No cable TV in our room... but who needs it? You're in Cuenca!

We enjoyed the daily breakfast in a different patio, terrace, sitting room, or courtyard everyday. The staff was great and the food was delicious!

Also, the location of the hotel is really quite good. It's on one of the more quiet streets in the evening, yet close enought that you can be right in the middle of things with a 10-15 minute walk. There are great restaurants close by (try Tiesto's) and it is also a short walk to beautiful churches, plazas, and stores.

The staff knew a lot of great things to do in the area and even helped connect us with a great guided hike through Cajas National Park! An added bonus, if your Spanish isn't great, they do have bi-lingual staff.

Overall, we had a great stay here! For the price, it's a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mateo J, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear client

We highly appreciate your opinion. Thanks for your message and for your time writing them. We are pleased to hear them. If you have some questions, don't hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely

Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    83
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
118
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa FE NM
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We really lucked out on this one. A new, boutique hotel in an beautifully restored center courtyard 1802 colonial house. Everything is done right here; modern bathrooms, lovely linens, period furnishings, in room wifi that really works. We were able to walk everywhere, including the great Italian restaurant just around the corner. The staff here are truly outstanding; bright, knowledgeable and determined to make your stay memorable. The delicious breakfast, served in your own private dining room or terrace by a very engaging waiter was a highlight of our stay.

This is a great value in Cuenca.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annadelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Casa del Aguila is only a couple of months old. It is in a lovingly restored colonial building in the UNESCO historical area of Cuenca. The rooms are cozy, and the interior rooms are the quietest. The staff is helpful and incredibly kind.

Breakfast was a wonderful surprise every morning----the food and location! The waiter would decide which patio or balcony was the nicest that day and then set up a private table, or several. The included breakfast was outstanding---almost too much. Wonderful coffee, exotic fresh juices, yogurt with fruits, eggs, and bread and my favorite: arepas.

There are several common areas to sit and read, or work online, around the hotel. I was very happy there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMiguelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Casa del Aguila, responded to this review, 10 April 2015
Dear client

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on Tripadvisor and your valuable time.

This is a great source of motivation for us, and we feel eager to know that we accomplish your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

Cynthia Chacón
Reservations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.1 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Aguila

Property: Hotel Casa del Aguila
Address: Mariscal Sucre 13 56 | between Juan Montalvo and Esteves de Toral, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is located in a pictorial colonial-style building, which takes us back to a time full of tradition and magnetism in Cuenca. Located in one of the most beautiful places of the Historical center, the most important attraction is the diversity of all elements spread in its common areas and the magnificent conservative details in its decoration, which provide a different personality to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing