We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay!”
Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and from here you can explore Cuenca the best.
Its in the middle of the centre, and not far from many things to visit.
The hotel has very nice rooms, breakfast is very good and the staff is super friendly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankBastiaansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanHotels, Gerente at Hotel San Juan, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Google Translation
Gracias Estimado Mr. FrankBastiaansen, para nosotros un privilegio el haber sido parte de su elección en estadía de nuestra hermosa Cuenca, esperamos haya disfrutado su viaje y recuerde que San Juan Hotel estará atento de su pronto retorno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    21
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
34
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the Presidential Suite. This was not a suite, nor was it Presidential. The sound insulation is almost non existant, and we could hear the slightest conversations from the foyer, door bells at midnight as well as breakfast preparations at 6 pm. We checked out two days into our one week booking. My wife, left behind two garments. We returned three times and we were assured the garments were not there by management and cleaning staff. When we demanded to check the room, we found the garments in the top drawer........nuff said.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlessfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo M, Gerente at Hotel San Juan, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest.
I have read all of your comment and it makes me really sad to know that we didnt archive what we always do, a quality service.
I have talk to the mades and also with the front desk to ensure that this wont happend again.
I am very sorry thta you and your wife had sucha a bad expirience in our hotel, but we will take actions in this aspects.
Sincerelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed in the San Juan for two nights in December . Very welcoming, spotlessly clean , and with all the facilities a first class should have. Generous public areas mean the hotel never feels crowded. Close to the main square and to all the city centre restaurants. Breakfasts have a wide choice . The room we were given was very spacious, quiet with modern facilities . Oh and Maria on reception was very helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGBradley635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is THE Hotel you're going to want to book. I was at another Hotel for the first 2 days of my trip. Once I walked past the San Juan Hotel and recognized it as one of the options when I was pre-booking the trip... I went inside and did a double take. THIS is the place we need to be, Central, Beautiful, Clean, Quaint, Private and Secure. The Staff here at the San Juan are exceptional. I was traveling with my grade school girlfriend of 40+ years and the Staff assisted us with many different requests. (psst....most of the time we didn't even have to order a coffee, Manuel just greeted us with steamy cups!) Great location in the Heart of Cuenca and only a couple of blocks from the main Square, Park and Cathedral. Beautifully decorated, clean-clean-clean, lovely breakfasts, everything so Fresh! Don't want to go out after a busy day of sight seeing? No problem, Dinner is also available within the Hotel. Stroll on out to the Courtyard/Gardens and unwind with a nightcap beside the Fireplace. When YOU get there, tell the Staff "The Canadian Girls said Hello!! and Thank-you!

Room Tip: We thoroughly enjoyed our room on the 3rd floor overlooking the Courtyard. There is no elevator, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel San Juan, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Google Translation
Agradecemos profundamente sus comentarios, esto nos anima y nos consolida en nuestro objetivo de brindarle lo mejor de nuestros servicios. San Juan Hotel espera su pronto retorno y le agradece una vez mas por hacer de nuestro Hotel su primera opción en su destino de viaje.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is very conveniently situated in a fairly busy street within an 8-minute walk to the Cathedral. The furnishings are elaborate but somewhat dowdy. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and we were fortunate to have a back room ensuring quietness for sleeping, although the view is unattractive. Actually, the back courtyard is like a cloister, with a grassy centre and arcades around the side; a pleasant place to read and relax. The WiFi was rather temperamental, and frequently unavailable. The Dining Area ( hardly a “room”) is really part of the lounge and closes at 8 pm. There are, however, several useful restaurants nearby. Breakfast is served here each morning, but was mediocre at best. Service was not the best, but no real complaints. Reception was efficient when it really mattered. You will not go wrong here, but you can probably do better. As this was part of a package, I have no knowledge of cost and value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel San Juan, responded to this review, 20 September 2016
Google Translation
Estimado huésped es muy grato conocer su opinión sobre nuestros servicios. Reciba nuestras disculpas si nuestro menú no estuvo de su agrado siempre su opinión es muy importante para nosotros y nos impulsa a mejorar para cumplir con todas sus expectativas y hacer de su estadía una experiencia confortable y agradable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our 2 nights in the San Juan hotel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our room was huge, and the many social areas/ patios were very nicely decorated. And all of that for a more than reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEA1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Nice old world hotel within a quarter mile to excellent restaurants,main square,shopping,and old cathedrals. Nice size room and plenty of hot water. The staff recommended a couple of local restaurants that turned out to be excellent. Only sort of negative was our late night flight was cancelled and we tried to check back in around 1:30 in the morning and they wouldn't let us even though we had just paid extra for a 7:00 PM late checkout. Nevertheless, we'd stay there again on our next visit to Cuenca.

Room Tip: Our room was on the lower floor and the window faced an inner courtyard so we had to keep the shades...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.8 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 61 in Cuenca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rione Hotel Boutique
Rione Hotel Boutique
#28 of 61 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inca Real
Hotel Inca Real
#21 of 61 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zahir 360
Hotel Zahir 360
#10 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Property: Hotel San Juan
Address: Calle General Torres 9-59 y Gran Colombia, Cuenca, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Hotel is conveniently located, only 7 minutes from the Airport in the historic town of Cuenca. It is a large historic home converted to a luxury Hotel with a charming environment offering the pleasure of resting in old colonial style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing