We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sampling colonial Ecuador first hand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morenica del Rosario Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“sampling colonial Ecuador first hand”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This property is an overlooked gem. Needed a last minute room & this is my top recommend after staying @ 3 places in cuenca over 5 days. Its location, staff, amenities & decor beat the similar valued hotels hands down. Fluent English speaking stafokedf was appreciated. Our room overlooked a small courtyard. There are delightful nooks to escape to, including a very Col view of the church steeples from the rooftop. The only downsides were finding secured parking (yes, nearly next door) and some motor that ran outside a wall all night. PS : this place has cool balconies too.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room at the back to avoid street noise & the motor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    31
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
34
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

old world charm in colonial Cuenca; my room spacious, clean comfortable... bathroom a bit small, but adequate and clean. the staff went beyond to accommodate for anything you asked!! location: in walking distance to good restaurants and downtown area...

Room Tip: no elevators - if you need a downstairs room -- I think they have two -- ask in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Ecuador has a lot of history, culture, traditions and arts - and with a stay at Morenica del Rosario in one of the country's most charming cities, Cuenca, your accommodations encompass all of that.

Morenica is almost as much a heritage museum as it is a hotel. Sprinkled throughout its four floors are artifacts, handicrafts, antiques and other pieces from Ecuador's cultural timeline. Part of the pleasure of arriving into the hotel is wandering through the place taking it all in; even the stairway is filled with treasures.

This also creates some wonderful common-area spaces in which to relax, work, or socialize. In addition to the K'ipa cafe/bar on the ground level, the second floor has a beautiful, large sitting area. Around the corner is a hidden stairwell to a hideaway nook just beckoning to guests.

Another impressive thing about Morenica del Rosario is the view from the upper floor windows and rooftop terrace; its location right by the Iglesia Santo Domingo allows for stunning views of the cathedral's twin domes from on high - even more dramatic at night, when the church is lit up.

The location can't be beat; Morenica is in the midst of all that is happening in Cuenca, just steps from the main Nueva Cathedral and central plaza, along with top restaurants and shops. Guest rooms are luxurious and comfortable, each with its own unique decor.

Rates include breakfast, which is a fairly extensive buffet including fresh fruits and amazing fresh-squeezed juices, hot/savory items and a meat and cheese plate. Every morning there seemed to be a different local specialty also on hand.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NamasteFromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here in a pinch when a reservation at another hotel ran into problems. I am so glad it did. Morenica is a wonderfully comfortable hotel with an exquisitely attentive staff - one of those places where the front staff always greeted me by name when I went in or out. The morning breakfast was good, but the evening tea and coffee was even better and more relaxing. Free Wifi in the rooms, and it is right in the center of town, with everything in easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The wifi i set up at the front of the hotel at the business center, so try to avoid getting a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuayaquilWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent four nights in Cuenca and chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We tried to book at some of the higher ranked hotels, but on short notice they were booked up, where as Morenica del Rosaria had rooms. During the time we were there, it didn't seem very busy - I'm not sure why - perhaps the time of year. We had a room on the ground floor with a window into a central atrium. The room was quite adequate for our needs - very clean and comfortable bed. Free wi-fi worked well, breakfast was well presented and plentiful. The front desk staff, were always very helpful, willing to speak pretty good English when our Spanish didn't quite cut it. This hotel is close to everything on a very nice street only about 10 minutes from the airport. I thought the rate was very fair at $75 a night. There is a lovely common area on the second floor and a cute little roof top terrace with good views of the city. I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: There was a bit of a humming noise from an adjacent building at times in my room on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is maybe small, but great in other ways. The staff are very friendly, and always up to help you with whatever you need. Very cozy and you get that special sort of home-feeling. Room and bathroom are good and clean. Location in the historic district of Cuenca is perfect. You can stroll down to the river, or just through the streets. Cuenca is a beautiful city. And Morenica del Rosario adds to that impression. I would definetly stay here again next time I visit Cuenca.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torkjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A small place with a big heart, great service, friendly staff, just a couple blocks from the main plaza. Breakfast is excellent and the rooms are cozy! good price value ratio.

We visit Cuenca 3 or 4 times a year and always stay at Morenica. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galapago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inca Real
Hotel Inca Real
#21 of 60 in Cuenca
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Ezequiel
Hotel San Ezequiel
#17 of 60 in Cuenca
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#26 of 60 in Cuenca
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morenica del Rosario Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morenica del Rosario Hotel

Property: Morenica del Rosario Hotel
Address: Gran Colombia 10-65 | (between General Torres and Padre Aguirre), Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Morenica del Rosario Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morenica del Rosario, is located in the historical center of Cuenca just two blocks from "Abdón Calderón" Central Park. "Morenica of the Rosario" it is an unique thematic hotel in Cuenca that presents different aspects that characterize to the city like the basketwork, pottery, popular holydays, gastronomy, forges, among others as part of their decoration ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morenica del Rosario Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing