We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our stay in Cuenca”
Review of Hotel Los Balcones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Los Balcones
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very helpful, English fluent desk staff and maitre d. Small with beautiful old world architecture. Covered courtyard extending all 3 floors. Beautifully decorated. Good breakfast served in covered rooftop area, which was also a great spot for late night wine sipping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeretom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel with extremely helpful & attentive staff. Breakfast is served on the heated roof terrace serving fresh fruit yoghurt eggs pancakes toast & very strong coffee. The restaurant downstairs is pretty good too. Its right in the historical centre of cuenca. Highly recommended! Guillermo keep up the fantastic service!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cbb570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We booked the 2 bedroom suite for our family of 4. It was advertised with a balcony on booking.com. The suite was large with 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, two bedrooms etc, but no balcony, nor windows. The suite was dark and the wall partition did not go all the way up. The floor was extremely squeaky, so were the beds. Everytime anyone moved, both rooms would hear it.
Result was two sleepless nights for the whole family.
The staff was helpful and the breakfast was basic. Location is good and one can easily walk around Cuenca.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tashak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

In 2013 Feb. I spent one week at the hotel. I was very impressed during my short stay. When we returned for a 6 week stay this year I was welcomed back by Luis and Janet the owners. We just love this hotel! The desk staff , Belen, Tom, Jonathan, were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel and apartments are very clean, beds very comfortable. The location is great and just 2 blocks to the market and 4 blocks to the city center.

We are thinking of returning next year and will stay in this place again for sure. The food is great. Try sea bass with lemon white wine and capers sauce! To die for! Genato, the waiter is excellent

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very charming hotel with helpful staff. Can't say enough about how sweet and helpful the desk clerks and dining room kitchen staff were. Tom went out of his way to make telephone calls, arrange taxis and vans, research on their computer restaurants, addresses, tour activities and guides, special dietary requests, whatever. One front desk staffer gave us a Cuenca doll as a gift...and Genaro arranged an afternoon treat of Cuenca pastries in our room one day. The owners are very nice people who care about their employees, guests and providing a pleasant ambiance. Sure, the rooms on the street can be a little noisy when big trucks and buses go by and the floorboards may creak a little bit. You may hear people walking outside the door down the hall but it's all part of the experience. The windows are nearly soundproof with inside wooden doors over them so that you can shut out the street noise. Genaro, dining room waiter, is a gem, very pleasant, warm and helpful. After nine days we were sad to be leaving our lovely Cuenca home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeOrli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

In the morning we woke up and had no hot water. We called reception and they said someone would come in 5 minutes. No one ever came. After 15 minutes we called reception again, twice. No one answered. I got dressed, walked down two flights of stairs and the receptionist was there. I complained again and was told I would have hot water in 5 minutes. I walked up the two fligts to my room. After 15 minutes I complained again. No action. Finally took a slightly warm shower 45 minutes after initial complaint. Left message twice to see manager. In remaining two days in Cuenca manager never called or came too see me. I would never stay in this hotel again. Other minor issues: 2 of 3 overhead lights in room did not work. Room was dark. Small shelf in bathroom which was only place to put toiletries was broken. Shower was not in bathroom but in closet in bedroom. Taking a shower meant making bedroom wet. Breakfast was very good. Lunch was below average. The staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful. But it is clear that they were ill equipped to deal honestly with a guest.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Andymhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Los Balcones in Cuenca, Ecuador, is a fantastic experience for those who wanr a personalized, warm, and intimate hotel. We have stayed there for about two weeks and everything just seemed to get better and better. The hotel is in an old house which is historic and about 150 years old. In one room one can see the old cane and reed ceiling. In another room the HUGE adobe bricks are visible. The staff is extremely personalble, each and every one of them, and they are helpful and caring. They can give good suggestions about other excellent restaurants, tour companies, places to see, and suggestions about anything one might need to know. The breakfasts are excellent and have eggs in different styles on different days, always fresh fruit choices, fresh fruit juices, ham, cheese, toast, cereals and yogurt. It is served on the roof..
The restaurant in the old courtyard of the hotel is marvelous and reasonable. The quality of the personal attention and the friendliness has made the Hotel Los Balcones a place which seems to welcome all the guests home at the end of the day.
The friendly owner is present most days and the manager/concierge makes sure that everything is perfect and asks if the guests need anything on a daily basis.
If you want a wonderfyul and genuine experience. If you are tired of cookie cutter big chain hotels, Los Balcones is the place to go. We have polled the other guests and all agree that they think that it is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: Well, it is on a corner in the older part of town, so there is traffic. All the rooms are lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjmick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 62 in Cuenca
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#7 of 62 in Cuenca
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#13 of 62 in Cuenca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Balcones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Balcones

Address: Presidente Borrero 12-08 y Gaspar Sangurima esquina, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: £47 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Los Balcones 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Balcones Hotel is located in the center of Cuenca, to 10 minutes of Mariscal Lamar Airport.Our rooms are designed with fine details, each different and equipped with the requerments os a first-class hotel in a unique colonial setting.Sole Mio works in the central courtyard of the Hotel Boutique Los Balcones, which highlights the magnificent decor and atmosphere. The restaurant combines traditional Ecuadorian culinary trends with finest Italian cuisine, thus providing unique flavors. With ingredients imported and region, always emphasizing the sublime in our menu to the taste of our customers... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Los Balcones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing