We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Quality”
Review of Casa San Rafael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa San Rafael
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Location and Quality”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Casa San Rafael is a boutique hotel, in the heart of Cuenca's historic district. It is a family run business that excels in hospitality and ambiance. When we return to Cuenca, this will be the first place I book. The interior of the hotel is outstanding. We had eggs with cheese and ham each morning, the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    66
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
98
165
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My first stay in Casa San Rafael was very nice. I asked for a quiet room and got a small one with no windows upstairs which worked out great. Small room but more than adequate. Great location in the heart of town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y546LDtimothys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What a find! This great little hotel is easy walking distance of all of the main tourist sights in Cuenca. The owners are friendly and helpful and do everything they can to make your stay great. We had a corner room with a small balcony facing the street. The room included a bathroom, stocked with the expected toiletries.

The hotel arranged a car to pick us up from the airport. A full breakfast was included each morning with fresh fruit, toast, and eggs cooked to order. Also, fresh juice and coffee.

If you want a Colonial City in Ecuador that isn't as big as Quito and is at a lower altitude. Cuenca is our recommendation. And Casa San Rafael is a great place to base your visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was absolutely dynamite. We are just a short few blocks to the main square of Old Cuenca, which we absolutely love. Breakfasts were lovely with fresh fruit, coffee and eggs, and the rooms are quaint and full of charm. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to gorgeous Cuenca--one of the most beautiful little cities I have ever visited!

Room Tip: We had a suite which is really an atic room, but very charming and plenty of space for the two of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
273 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel with excellent service. The hotel is located in the downtown area of Cuenca so you can walk to all the major attractions of the city.
The rooms are a bit small but have everything you need. Although the mattresses at first instance seem a bit hard they are perfect for sleeping.
Breakfast is small but sufficient and coffee and tea are available all day. The personnell is very friendly and will help you with everything.

Will stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Cuenca is a walking city. San Rafael's location is 10 minutes to the main square and 20 minutes from dozens of great restaurants and shops. The staff speaks enough English to give easy directions. The hotel has a guest lounge on the second floor that is furnished as an upscale living room with a fire place. Great place to unwind and enjoy a bottle of wine. (bring your own). When we wanted a car to see the surrounding area the staff arranged for a roomy car with a driver for $10 an hour. For our week stay we requested a quiet room. They gave us a room in back where the street noise was barely audible. Great Hotel! Great Location! Great Staff. Great nights sleep. What more can you ask for? Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Having traveled extensively throughout the world, but having never been to Ecuador, we did not know what to expect of the hotel.

After being here almost two weeks we can honestly say that the staff and owners have treated us like family. They have advised on tours, activities and have provided a wealth of information on Cuenca, customs and surrounding areas.

The English-speaking staff have, with a smile, assisted us with our broken Spanish and have provided exceptional service.

The hotel is situated in an ideal location for exploring the city. It is a beautifully restored colonial, with exquisite hand painted murals, fresh flowers and lovely furnishings.

For the moderate price paid per night, we have found the comfort and service to be world-class.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bardg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 61 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Rafael

Property: Casa San Rafael
Address: Bolivar 5-05 y Mariano Cueva, Cuenca 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Rafael is the brainchild of a Cuencan family, that invites you to share the special warmth manifested in every corner of a charming heritage house of Cuenca, staffed by the extended family of the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing