We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, confortable, and friendly”
Review of Casa San Rafael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa San Rafael
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a renovated old little gem.....beautiful, with a vintage feel. The beds are comfortable, and the staff are the nicest people. They are very helpful and attentive. I actually did not feel like getting out of the hotel - that is how cosy and comfortable it was. Plus, the location is excellent, and frankly for the quality of service the price is not bad at all.

Room Tip: Only small problem - not really a problem - is that given the wooden floor, you may wake up to peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reemoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great Hotel right in the centre of Beautiful city of Cuenca. Very impressed with Cuenca and its people, very corteous, educated and friendly.
We really like the Hotel, an old style big house, well renovated, good cleanliness and breakfast but we liked even more Sra. Eugenia (the owner) and Paulo the recepcionist that were really Great with Great travel advices.
Congratulations and wishes of continuation of Sucess!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank infinityom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Casa San Rafael is a boutique hotel, in the heart of Cuenca's historic district. It is a family run business that excels in hospitality and ambiance. When we return to Cuenca, this will be the first place I book. The interior of the hotel is outstanding. We had eggs with cheese and ham each morning, the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My first stay in Casa San Rafael was very nice. I asked for a quiet room and got a small one with no windows upstairs which worked out great. Small room but more than adequate. Great location in the heart of town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y546LDtimothys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

What a find! This great little hotel is easy walking distance of all of the main tourist sights in Cuenca. The owners are friendly and helpful and do everything they can to make your stay great. We had a corner room with a small balcony facing the street. The room included a bathroom, stocked with the expected toiletries.

The hotel arranged a car to pick us up from the airport. A full breakfast was included each morning with fresh fruit, toast, and eggs cooked to order. Also, fresh juice and coffee.

If you want a Colonial City in Ecuador that isn't as big as Quito and is at a lower altitude. Cuenca is our recommendation. And Casa San Rafael is a great place to base your visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel and absolutely loved it. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was absolutely dynamite. We are just a short few blocks to the main square of Old Cuenca, which we absolutely love. Breakfasts were lovely with fresh fruit, coffee and eggs, and the rooms are quaint and full of charm. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to gorgeous Cuenca--one of the most beautiful little cities I have ever visited!

Room Tip: We had a suite which is really an atic room, but very charming and plenty of space for the two of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel with excellent service. The hotel is located in the downtown area of Cuenca so you can walk to all the major attractions of the city.
The rooms are a bit small but have everything you need. Although the mattresses at first instance seem a bit hard they are perfect for sleeping.
Breakfast is small but sufficient and coffee and tea are available all day. The personnell is very friendly and will help you with everything.

Will stay here again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#18 of 62 in Cuenca
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#9 of 62 in Cuenca
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
2.2 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Rafael

Address: Bolivar 5-05 y Mariano Cueva, Cuenca 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: £21 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Rafael is the brainchild of a Cuencan family, that invites you to share the special warmth manifested in every corner of a charming heritage house of Cuenca, staffed by the extended family of the owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Casa San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing