We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday refuge in a town that is mostly closed that day”
Review of Akelarre

Akelarre
Ranked #109 of 556 Restaurants in Cuenca
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Like others I headed here Sunday night when the Italian in the La Posada turned out to be closed. Sunday night (only) they over paella with a decent selection of clams, shrimps, calamari, mussels (try to fine the pencil sized chorizo). 1/2 carafe of vino tinto @$10 USD was a good buy. Staff a little quirky but nice. Place named for ancient witchery. Exited for $25 USD/pleased with result but not compelled to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seedsedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigosag, Propietario at Akelarre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

we would like to thank you for your advise, we try to make the best paella in town, over 10 years , ours customers come back every sunday to taste it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We wandered into this restaurant after 5 on a Sunday. The other restaurant that we had planned was closed. Tapas were advertised, but were not on the menu. We had some crepes and I had the trout, which was delicious. the crepes were ordinary. The girls had crepes for desert which they must have liked, since nothing was left. The ambiance was unspectacular. The attached Inca Real hotel looked old and interesting. Not enough interest for a revisit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ragu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigosag, Gerente at Akelarre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

We are surprised to know that you didnt get any tapas, it is our speciality, Our crepes are made by the french recepie, as we learned in France.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stumbled on this place by accident. I'm glad we went in. Nice casual European style tapas bar. Worth a stop.

1  Thank Cocibolca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigosag, Gerente at Akelarre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Thank you four your lines. We are happy that you have enjoyed , we try to do always our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had spaghetti and meatballs (average - very garlicky meatballs) and chicken cordon blue with fries and steamed veggies (good). Extensive drink menu. Bread served with zesty sauce. Good coffee. Recommend the crepe desserts. Attentive staff. Nice seating area around bar with overflow in colonial center courtyard. Jazzy blue music background music

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigosag, Gerente at Akelarre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

Thank you for your comment. That is the idea to continue in our work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We eat here a union soup en a ceviche a vegetarian crepe and a steak
The union soup was not good and te cheviche was not special
The crepe was not good and the steak was very salty also the ''sauce'' was very salty
If i had a chef like that i would fire him directly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrankBastiaansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indigosag, Gerente at Akelarre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2014

We are really sorry you are so disapointed, maybe that day the cook was unhappy, Salt is always in our dishes, but that day was too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akelarre also viewed

 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 
Cuenca, Azuay Province
Cuenca, Azuay Province
 

Been to Akelarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing