We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A business hotel outside of the city center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A business hotel outside of the city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I'm a bit late with this review for my three night stay at Hotel Oro Verde in March, 2013. I just dug the card out of my handbag. I visited Cuenca with three friends who wanted to tour the area. We each had our own room. Through some misunderstanding (I wasn't involved in the reservations), we were placed in the unrenovated part of the hotel the first night, which was not acceptable. The next day, hotel staff gladly moved us to the new wing that was under construction but still a huge improvement. The guest rooms were new and clean, with a modern business feel, uncarpeted with Pergo-type flooring, quite functional except that there was no wireless coverage in the wing. The view out the window was of a parking area with the river beyond, rather utilitarian.

Breakfast was included and was pretty good, plenty of choice for a non-breakfast eater like me. There is a small deli/bake shop on the property that did not have a working espresso machine, only the push-button type and didn't have much selection. Amenities like a separate lounge and working pool were missing, maybe due to the construction and off-season.

The front desk staff spoke perfect English; in fact, one clerk attended university in the States. The hotel has an airport shuttle that we used.

The location is less than ideal for a tourist, as it is well outside the city center, maybe a 3 km walk each way, fine if it isn't raining. On the positive side, the room was quiet, even with the window open. Taxis are plentiful and reasonable, and Cuenca drivers are notably safe and sane. As much of the charm of the area is outside Cuenca anyway, the inconvenience was only a dinner-time.

It's a little hard to rate this kind of property. Compared to fine international hotels, it is decidedly average. Compared to hotels in Ecuador, it was very good. And we didn't go to Cuenca for a resort experience, so we were satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillValleyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for your comments. Its glad to know that you enjoyed your staying.

We want you to know that we have finished the hotel remodelation, we are continously improving to offer to our guest just the best of our service in our new facilities.

We are looking forward to have you here with us again, please contact me the next time you are comming, it will be a pleasure to meet you.

Best regards,
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    120
    15
    0
    4
See reviews for
225
119
19
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

You gotta love their new rooms and personal attention.
They still have some work to do with their WiFi.
I'm keen to taste the pool once they do the whole temperature controlling thing on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnegronv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your coment about our room and our staff.
We´ve finished the job we were doing for the right wi fi conecction.
And about the pool we have found some tecnic inconvenients which won´t allow as to finish the job in the estimated time.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to have you here soom.
Best regard,
Marcelo Ferrari.
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I also had our company's conference on Friday and the cooridnation and service was great. Regarding the rooms, the only issue was about the elevators not working, so the walk and stairs were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Char,
Thank you so much for your comment.

It help us to know we are doing a good job. I want you to know that we are continuously working to improve the quality of our service, we want to surprise you with more the next time you come.

We all really happy to announced that the new elevator is already working since yesterday.

I hope to have the pleasure to have you again soon in our hotel, your home.

Kind regards
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad de Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I can honestly say this is the best hotel I have stayed in, and the nice people so helpful just make it even better. My 3 night business stay was great. It´s totally remodeled and got to stay at a 5 star hotel at a 5 star treatment thanks Oro Verde keep up the good work, Carlos

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comment and I´m glad to know you have enjoyed your staying here, we are working hard to offer to our guests the best treat we can.

I hope to have the pleasure to meet you soon in your next stay.

I want you to feel as part of our family and this is your home in Cuenca.

Kind regards
Marcelo Ferrari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Do yourself a favor and avoid all reviews! 7 months ago this hotel went through a very deep renovation. Rooms are great, floor heating, modern design, very comfortable.
The service, impresive, their new manager Marcelo Ferrari knows his job, very proffesional, makes you feel right at home. The restaurant has a great peruvian chef.
We visit the hotel while it was full and the service was perfect.
If you are planning a trip to cuenca this is your hotel, great price, they are triying to bring people back thats why you'll find a great deal.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JorgePGuayaquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcelo F, Director General at Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Muchas gracias por su comentario.
Como bien menciona hemos terminado la remodelación de nuestro hotel en un 98% aún tenemos mas mejoras para beneficio de ustedes, ya contamos con nuevas maquinas en el gimnasio.
Continuamos trabajando en capacitaciones con nuestros colaboradores para ofrecerles el mejor servicio de manera que se sientan mejor que en su casa.

Saludos cordiales,
Marcelo Ferrari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
2.2 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca

Property: Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Address: Av Ordonez Lasso S/N, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador (Formerly Oro Verde Cuenca Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#2 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca 4.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuenca Oro Verde Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing