We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Macondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Macondo
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
baltimore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a hostel. We had a room with 3 beds $8/bed with toilet/ shower in the room. Beautiful old building in the quite area 5 min walk from the heart of the city. Clean rooms, very quite, nice garden. There is a kitchen to cook or you can order a basic breakfast. Very friendly personnel. Receptionists do speak English.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank borismail01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    64
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
66
45
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

i fell well treated. is like comingo to my OWN HOME, the other costumer were agreed with me at the brake-fast, while we had nice fresh fruit coffee or a delicious omelet. the workers are plesant and respectful. the place is clean my room was beautiful, decorated with a nice painting, mixture of tradition and bright color, this place for me like home, i can walked and read, or work with my computer in the garden under the sun, also drink some hot chocolate if is raining.

Room Tip: rooms close to the garden if you like to be awake by the music of the birds, rooms in the hall of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
284 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Spent 3 nights here in a room without a bathroom. This was one of my favorite places I stayed in all of Ecuador, and I´m almost sad I didn´t spend much time in the hotel itself. Cuenca can be loud, but I didn´t hear any street noise at all in my room. The interior courtyard and the lobby space were both beautiful and looked much nicer than expected for the price ($19). Room was also very nice. Breakfast was fine. Included food is minimal - bread, marmalade, cheese, juice, coffee, tea. But if you want extra food, it´s a good value (eggs for $1, yogurt parfait for $1.50).

My only negative was a lack of hot water one night for my shower - I could only get warm. But otherwise, I have nothing but positives to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevin_from_AKandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

the service was expectacular, nice polite, clean, warm confort in my room and clean, Macondo's is very close to the tryp of churches around the Catedral, museums, and handycrafts market. nice mornings with delicious and healthy breakfast, with a home made mermelade, :).
my family love it, thanks at all wonderfull tryp.

Room Tip: rooms are pretty. 5 is close to the garden peacefull and perfect for a cozy afternoon with a book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

I have stayed in Hostal Macondo on four different occasions and have never been disappointed. Located in the heart of the city in an old colonial period courtyard home, Macondo offers a variety of clean and comfy accommodations - from rooms with private baths to shared dorm rooms or private rooms with shared bathrooms.

The social/dining/kitchen is a good gathering place to share travel stories with fellow guests, watch movies and generally hang out. For lunch or dinner, guests are welcome to use the kitchen facilities to cook their own meals. For breakfast, guests have their choice of the free continental brekkie or ordering something a little heartier from the menu.

Since Macondo is in an old courtyard home, all rooms are well back of the noise from the street....You will have a nice little courtyard garden to lounge in just outside your room and your sleep will not be disturbed by traffic noise.

The hostal also has laundry service at a very reasonable price.

There is usually English speaking personnel at the front desk and the staff is very helpful in offering directions and suggestions of things to do and see in the beautiful city of Cuenca.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LenLangevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Nice hostal with clean, neat rooms. Close to Cuenca's historic center, restaurants and bars. We stayed for two nights in a two bed room. It had a clean bathroom with a hot shower. The weather was a bit chilly but the room had thick blankets on the bed. The reception helped us arrange a tour to Cajas National Park and it was great. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1riot1ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

It is a very nice place to stay, although more expensive than we would usually spend.
The rooms on the courtyard at the back were nice and clean, and quiet, away from city noise.
There was hot water with enough pressure. The WiFi was good and free.
As other reviews mentioned, breakfast was quite small for the price.
The accommodation price was a bit high for what you get.

Room Tip: try to get the rooms in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Posada Cuencana
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Macondo

Property: Hostal Macondo
Address: Tarqui 11-64 Y Lamar, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown hotel built around a beautiful garden. A very peaceful place in the heart of colonial Cuenca offering --travel and tour assistance --free breakfast --luggage storage --free maps --lending library --wheel chair rooms --24 hour check-in --plenty of hot water --kitchen use after 1PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Macondo Cuenca
Hostal Macondo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing