We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Hostal Macondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Macondo
Ranked #18 of 61 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

An excellent hotel with all your basic needs. Nicely located on quiet street 6 blocks from the central square. Super nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magmaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    65
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
67
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I could have moved into this place it was so beautiful. The rooms were rustic and cozy, the staff was helpful and the ambiance was serene. It was a real place to put your feet up and relax for a week or so. Rooms weren't all that expensive and they were clean. There was also a communal kitchen if you wanted to cook your own meals. See my pictures of Cuenca:
http://womentravellingalone.blogspot.com/search/label/Cuenca%20-%20Ecuador

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms outside in the back, but there are also dorm-type rooms if you want to save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in this hostal for 1,5 week and we were quite pleased with the place. The city Cuenca is ok, we liked the buildings, being more of a sight then the average contrete waste city or village we see, but the black fumes the city buses pour out on the street and the invading traffic are horrible. Macondo was always a quiet retreat from these horrors. There is a nice garden, lots of places to sit or hang. If you skip the occasional loud co-tourist the place usually is very quiet. There is a well equiped kitchen guests can use. This must be the best and cleanest kitchen found so far (after travelling for 4 months now through south america). The staff are relaxed and friendly, they provide very good service. Can still see Tanya running around to make the best out of it and enjoying herself also. For us there were no downsides, and comming from us, professional complainers, says a lot. As i observed a lot of snow-birds (Canadians) and USA citizens are staying here, as do quite a few teachers, as this place used to be a school.

We payed 30 dollar a night, breakfast included. If one stays for a longer period (think a month or more), there´s a discount. Beds are good, showers can be hot as should be and everthing is as clean as you would like a hospital to be :-)

Other points: don´t try to look for ceramics or textiles (as in Otavalo quality) in the city centre, there is none. There´s a mercado for such things at a square in the northern part but the quality is very poor. The fruit and vegetable market is amazing though, try it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roverda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is cold, dreary, and we were shuttled around to a different room each night. My wife's cold developed into pneumonia while we stayed there. It's one virtue is that it's cheap, for Cuenca.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pal0mnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here four nights and overall the experience was good. We had to switch rooms after two nights (due to not having reservations) from a really big room to a tiny one, both with shared baths. The hostel layout is pretty cool with an indoor courtyard/sitting area and an outdoor one with tables and chairs. You can also use the kitchen in the afternoon and evening, which is a plus. Just outside the main part of town, so it's quiet but a 10 minute walk to get anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whereonearth07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the Macondo and found the locaton of this property to be perfect for easily walking to most places. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and a continenral breakfast was included which for an additional 2$ you could upgrade to a freshly made hot meal. There was a fridge available for guests use and a lovely courtyard where travelers all gathered at the end of the day. We had room number 10 which was huge and had 2 double beds plus a single bed, had a large bathroom with tub and shower and our cost $36.00 for the 2 of us. The hostal is extremely secure, rooms are cleaned daily, fabulous location, would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room #10 was huge and just by the lobby but nice and quiet, Room #9 had a musty smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here for 13 nights ~ one week by myself and six days with my husband. This is a lovely place to stay and great value for the price. My room was in the back so it was quiet; I shared a bathroom with one other person. The hostal is incredibly clean ~ the staff clean the bathroom multiple times during the day. There are multiple seating areas and a lovely garden. The coffee is the best I've had in my two months of travelling in Ecuador ~ served with real cream every morning and freshly baked bread. The restaurant also serves breakfasts like homemade museli and/ or fruit at incredibly reasonable prices. Again, I'd highly recommend this hostal!

Room Tip: Choose a room in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arden T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#30 of 61 in Cuenca
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.1 mi away
Blue Bird Bed & Breakfast
Blue Bird Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 61 in Cuenca
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 61 in Cuenca
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rio Piedra
Hotel Rio Piedra
#32 of 61 in Cuenca
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#21 of 61 in Cuenca
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Macondo

Property: Hostal Macondo
Address: Tarqui 11-64 Y Lamar, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown hotel built around a beautiful garden. A very peaceful place in the heart of colonial Cuenca offering --travel and tour assistance --free breakfast --luggage storage --free maps --lending library --wheel chair rooms --24 hour check-in --plenty of hot water --kitchen use after 1PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Macondo Cuenca
Hostal Macondo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing