We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Hostal Macondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Macondo
Ranked #18 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Not sufficient hot water in the shower and a very poor breakfast were quiet a dissapointing start of the day.

The service is NOT too freindly though, but there is cleaning all the time.
We didn.t like the rooms in the house, as there is NO window to the outside, just facing the indoor pation.
The rooms in the back, facing the garden are very tiny, ca. 9m2, i assume.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

I have been to Cuena a number of times and the stay at the Macondo was exceptional. It is now my home when I am in Cuenca. The prices are very reasonable, the staff super helpful, the place is clean and quiet.

The location is perfect. An easy walk to El Centro but on a quiet safe street.

If you choose the Macondo you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NAinEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here 3 nights whie visiting Cuenca and after searching reviews. This is in the older part of the city so it is not as convenient as other places as those in the newer section. Because of that, you cannot use paper in the toilets. That's a negative for me. There are also no TV's which was a double negative. The breakfast was your typical Ecuadorian breakfast which was fine, nothing special. I requested a quiet room and stayed in the very back which was very quiet. However, if there are other guests staying next to you, the walls are paper thin. I probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, ask for rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetskijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a beautiful house turned into hostal. We stayed in the renewed part, the decoration was simple, nice and clean. They have continental breakfast, and if you want some eggs or pancakes, which are delicious, it's just like a $1 more. The staff is really friendly, but there was a new person everyday on the reception. Maybe the reason why they had forgotten we had made reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

An excellent hotel with all your basic needs. Nicely located on quiet street 6 blocks from the central square. Super nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magmaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I could have moved into this place it was so beautiful. The rooms were rustic and cozy, the staff was helpful and the ambiance was serene. It was a real place to put your feet up and relax for a week or so. Rooms weren't all that expensive and they were clean. There was also a communal kitchen if you wanted to cook your own meals. See my pictures of Cuenca:
http://womentravellingalone.blogspot.com/search/label/Cuenca%20-%20Ecuador

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms outside in the back, but there are also dorm-type rooms if you want to save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed in this hostal for 1,5 week and we were quite pleased with the place. The city Cuenca is ok, we liked the buildings, being more of a sight then the average contrete waste city or village we see, but the black fumes the city buses pour out on the street and the invading traffic are horrible. Macondo was always a quiet retreat from these horrors. There is a nice garden, lots of places to sit or hang. If you skip the occasional loud co-tourist the place usually is very quiet. There is a well equiped kitchen guests can use. This must be the best and cleanest kitchen found so far (after travelling for 4 months now through south america). The staff are relaxed and friendly, they provide very good service. Can still see Tanya running around to make the best out of it and enjoying herself also. For us there were no downsides, and comming from us, professional complainers, says a lot. As i observed a lot of snow-birds (Canadians) and USA citizens are staying here, as do quite a few teachers, as this place used to be a school.

We payed 30 dollar a night, breakfast included. If one stays for a longer period (think a month or more), there´s a discount. Beds are good, showers can be hot as should be and everthing is as clean as you would like a hospital to be :-)

Other points: don´t try to look for ceramics or textiles (as in Otavalo quality) in the city centre, there is none. There´s a mercado for such things at a square in the northern part but the quality is very poor. The fruit and vegetable market is amazing though, try it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roverda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#35 of 62 in Cuenca
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 62 in Cuenca
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#13 of 62 in Cuenca
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.3 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#20 of 62 in Cuenca
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Macondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Macondo

Address: Tarqui 11-64 Y Lamar, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cuenca
#10 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range: £17 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely downtown hotel built around a beautiful garden. A very peaceful place in the heart of colonial Cuenca offering --travel and tour assistance --free breakfast --luggage storage --free maps --lending library --wheel chair rooms --24 hour check-in --plenty of hot water --kitchen use after 1PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Macondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Macondo Cuenca
Hostal Macondo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing