We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely overnight in beguiling Cuenca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely overnight in beguiling Cuenca”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We only had one night at Santa Lucia but it proved the perfect base as we explored the beautiful and beguiling city of Cuenca. Our room was high ceilinged, featuring an unexpected mezzanine above with two single beds, decorated and furnished throughout in keeping with the hotel's historic status. The hotel shared area ceilings are particularly impressive and add to the sense of grandeur, alongside gilt mirrors and plants aplenty. The bathroom was well laid out with good amenities, the bed extremely comfortable and the wifi, rare in Ecuador, blazing fast. A solid if unspectacular breakfast was in the hotel's Italian restaurant, while I just wish we had time to enjoy the stunning courtyard and atrium which defines grand Cuenca houses. As a nice touch, it offers free tablets alongside traditional magazine racks to let you choose to browse digitally or traditionally. All in all a fine 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Penandforkinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our buffet breakfast and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    120
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
86
170
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hotel Santa Lucia is located in the historic area of Cuenca, Ecuador near the main square. It is a restored mansion and is beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable. The dining excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MaryanneW900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our restaurants and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It is impossible to be the ideal boutique hotel in my book, without offering 4 characteristics. It has to be cute as a button, offer great dining, be well situated and reek with ambiance. Hotel Santa Lucia has it all!

This another of Cuenca "grand mansion" hotels, a great family town house, preserved and enhanced, the central traditional courtyard has been gracefully complimented with flowing sheer fabrics and lighting soaring 3-4 stories high to create the ideal dining hall for 50-60 people while somehow keeping every table special and intimate. It is surrounded by quiet alcoves, little lounge areas. It is the best venue we have seen for a small formal affair..I wish we had married there. The rooms are on the second floor, well designed, beautifully appointed and replete with a Master Suite that would delight the most discerning of brides.

The Restaurant, Trattoria Novecento, serves from two menus, traditional Ecuadorian fare and a large but exquisite Italian oriented cuisine with not a dish on it that fails to delight. The staff is friendly and the maitre d' soon become a good friend. The restaurant is a favorite for us here. We enjoy it regularly.

The street front of the Hotel, offer two bonuses. A perfectly elegant yuppie bar and a warm little bistro. The place is situate within steps of the heart of Cuenca, Parc Calderon. Everything is at the doorstep, from daytime shopping to night bars and dancing.

Room Tip: Second floor, street side, either suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our hotel and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly Staff, rooms (ask for one upstairs not facing the main street), perfect location and the food was also great - loved it!

Authentic decore and relaxing atmosphere

Try the bar/lounge which is really cool and the italian cafe which had a great risotto menu

Great value too!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our italian restaurant and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed for three nights and didnt want to leave. Friendly staff, clean, spacious rooms. Loved the complimentary toiletries and water. Hotel was good enough to let us check out an our later as both my partner and i were ill. Very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 204 is spacious and furthest from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLSuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our amenities and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is located about a block away from the main plaza in downtown Cuenca. If you decide that you don't want to enjoy the bar and restaurant in the hotel, you are only a short walk away to numerous bar/restaurant options. The rooms are all well appointed and have an old world charm. The interior courtyard is a great place to enjoy a meal or a drink.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheatly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our hotel and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Situated within an easy walk to all of the many fabulous sites in Cuenca, this is the gem that the reviews I read had promised. Exceptional staff, extremely comfortable accommodations and wonderful food. Could not select a better location from which to explore Cuenca. A short $2.00 taxi ride to the airport. Once you're checked-in, enjoy your walk to the Parque Calderon, down to the Rio Tomebamba then go for a leisurely stroll along the river walk. This is the 12th city in South America we have visited and it is by far the most enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vw97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornelioV, Director General at Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at Santa Lucia Hotel with other travelers. I am very glad to know that your expectations were surpassed with our food and that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,

Cornelio Vintimilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#7 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia

Property: Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Address: Presidente Borrero 8-44 y Mariscal Sucre, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Cuenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#6 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful colonial hotel located in the center of Cuenca. Just two street blocks from the central park, it has twenty exquisite decorated rooms. Each room is different from each other and they have all the comfort of a modern style room. Inside the hotel there are two restaurants considered two of the best restaurants of the city. The first one is named Bacus Caf., and it serves a modern Ecuadorian cuisine Nouve style. The second one is a Trattoria named Novecento. It is considered the best Trattoria of the whole country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Lucia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing