We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party”
Review of El Dorado Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas Party”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We recently attended a large Christmas Party at the Hotel El Dorado. The management and staff more than adequately handled our group. The food and beverage was outstanding. Can't wait until our next party there. Plan your next gathering here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Karl2010,

Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel so that other travelers can read them.

On behalf of the entire staff of El Dorado Hotel, we would like to wish you a happy new year, we are so pleased to know that you had an outstanding experience during your Christmas Party, it´s our job and we love it, this is your home and we will be honored to organize your next gathering.

Sincerely yours,


Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
GERENTE GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    65
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
34
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our room 117 had a small terrace overlooking the street there was some traffic noise but not enough to disturb our nights sleep shower was good and plenty of lotions provided we found the staff were very pleasant and helpful the hotel is in a very good position for visiting the town centre
It would help if you could speak a little Spanish although there are English speaking staff who are most helpful too We were lucky to have dinner included which was very nice wine was about $20 per couple or you could enjoy the range of local beers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishdragon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear cornishdragon2,

Thank you for sharing your experience at El Dorado Hotel with other travelers around the world, let me wish you on behalf of our entire staff a happy new year.

It is so fulfilling for us to know that you took advantage of our perfect location and enjoyed the quality of our rooms, the food served and specially the service provided by our dedicated staff, I will immediately share your comments with them.

Once again, thank you for your comments and hope you visit us soon.

Sincerely yours,


Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
GERENTE GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We loved Cuenca and this hotel is in a good location just a short walk away from the main historical centre. The hotel itself is a bit lacking in character however the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Extremely comfortable bed and pillows. Food service was a little haphazard however the cuisine was extremely good. Young manager is very hands-on and customer focused so expect standards to continue to improve.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWilkosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear TheWilkosUK,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with other travelers.

I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed the strategic location of our hotel and the quality of our rooms and cousine. Our entire staff is extremely guest oriented and our daily mission is to meet or exceed our guest expectations, we will certainly keep improving our products and services continually, it is our promise.

Thank you again and hope to have you back in Cuenca in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
GERENTE GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks Alberta Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay if you have never been to Cuenca before..The rooms were clean and very tidy. Staff above normal. Price was great although other places were cheaper. They provide English speaking staff ,very curtiouis, The breakfast at no charge was second to none all I can say was I was greatly impressed. provided security I don't know if it was needed,but it was there 24 /7 Safe's are provided in rooms Price range around $80.00 single

Room Tip: It was a good choice of any room and it was $2.50 from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Royrs,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your experience with us and specially for recommending our hotel as that first choice to stay in Cuenca.

I am so pleased to know that our rooms, breakfast and the service provided by our staff was up to your expectations, I will immediately let them know about this. For all of us it is a pleasure and we love what we do.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you very soon in Cuenca, please remember, this hotel will always be your home away from home.

Sincerely yours,


Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
GERENTE GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First of all, manage your expectations, and this is hotel will be an "average" experience for you. It's not a business hotel in a major city, so the Internet connection is OK. Nothing special.

The hotel is old, but it's been recently updated. The rooms were very clean, and I think the bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept on in a hotel. I don't know what it was about it, but the bed was the best thing about my stay. The location in the heart of Cuenca is excellent, too.

The quality of the breakfast and service was mediocre at best.

If you plan to be in Cuenca, try to stay in one of the old, historic houses which have been converted into hotels. There seems to be at least one on every block and in every price range. It just seems to be the right thing to do if you're going to be a tourist in Cuenca, Ecuador.

Room Tip: The rooms which end in 14 are suites and the largest on each floor, but they face the street. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanisinecuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear alanisinecuador,

Thank you for sharing your comments with other travelers.

I am very glad to know that you enjoyed our location and the beds in our rooms, the reason is that all our rooms have been equipped with luxury pillow top memory foam mattresses that provide our guests with an incredible level of comfort.

In deed the hotel was built in the 1980´s but we underwent a major renovation in 2006, I am sorry to know that you had an average experience with us since our mission is to meet and exceed our guest expectations, I will certainly address your comments regarding the quality and the service during breakfast with our restaurant Captain and our Chef.

Once again, thank you for your comments and if you visit Cuenca again, please let me know so that I can improve the experience that you had with us.

Sincerely yours,


Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
GERENTE GENERAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed two nights on a business trip. My favorite thing was my pillow and bed, really comfy.
Breakfast was really good, specially the little croissants, yummy!!!.
The location is really good, it's in the middle of the old Cuenca.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarielaVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear MarielaVV,

Thank you for posting your experiences at El Dorado Hotel and sharing them with other travelers.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our premium new pillows and mattresses, we just implemented them a couple of months ago in all our rooms to provide a more pleasant sleep to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and please remember that El Dorado Hotel is your home in Cuenca.

Sincerely yours,

Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,025 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Definitely, I recommend this property while in Cuenca. It is perfectly located just in the center of the downtown, so you would not miss any of Cuenca´s historical spots by walking distances. You will have also a wide range of restaurants within the surrounding area, but food at their Goda restaurant is great. You will start the day with a nice breakfast buffet that is a clever combination of American and Ecuadorian style. They run another restaurant named Fogo Grill & Bar, which is located far from the hotel, but worthy to visit if you want to change the ambiance, get a wonderful view from one of the hills in Cuenca, and to enjoy a very good selection of grilled dishes and drinks.

Their staffs are more than welcoming and friendly, and rooms are comfy and clean, although I´m a truly lover of their Presidential Suite, and if not available, the Junior Suite at the last floor. The hotel has a small and cute GYM and SPA besides the Presidential room.

Thanks to be given to Liliana Pinos, a lovely Sales manager who always strives her efforts to grant my queries, KUDOS to these people!!!

Although you do not have swimming pool, I´m rating you excellent to not affect your qualification, so my apologies in advance to the readers.

Room Tip: "get the Junior Suite at the highest floor, the room and the view are fantastic"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank idrovoviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hdorado, Gerente at El Dorado Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear idrovoviva,

On behalf of the entire team of El Dorado Hotel, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your comments about us with travelers from all around de world.

I am so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to eat at Fogo Grill & Bar as well, it is exiting for all of us to know that our guests are having a great time while staying at El Dorado Hotel.

Your comment will be immediately shared with all our associates and I will especially congratulate Mrs. Pinos for her outstanding service.

Please remember that this hotel will always be your home in Cuenca and we will be honored to have you back.

Sincerely yours,

Ing. Pedro Vázquez M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#2 of 60 in Cuenca
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cuenca
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel

Property: El Dorado Hotel
Address: Gran Colombia 7-87 y Luis Cordero, Cuenca 010101, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cuenca
#8 Business Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — El Dorado Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Dorado Hotel welcomes and invites you to delight yourself with a different concept in hospitality provided by a unique, modern and minimalistic design, thought by executives for executives; count with us to become your best business ally or simply enjoy all of our services during your leisure trip. We are strategically located in the heart of Cuenca´s historic and commercial centre, just one block away from the Cathedral and only 5 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El Dorado Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing