We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hostal in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Posada del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Posada del Angel
Ranked #6 of 64 Cuenca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hostal in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The family that own this Hostal really make you feel at home, its like staying at a big family gathering.
The rooms were big and spacious, ours had 4 beds, one on an upper level despite the fact that there was only 2 of us.
The breakfast was very good (Certainly by Ecuadorian standards)
The places has a communal feel as it was originally a courtyard which has been roofed over. In the centre is the main dining area, and the reception, and then to the sides on 2 floors are the rooms.
My only criticism is that on the first floor all of the floor is made up of exposed wooden boards, so if someone comes in late, or has to leave very early you know about it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    79
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
53
59
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very comfortable, charming hotel with good breakfasts and nice sitting areas in an excellent location with very helpful and hospitable staff. Angie and Paul were particularly helpful in guiding us to the main tourist attractions and for transport to other parts of Ecuador. I can't recommend Hotel Posada del Angel enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was a great little family owned place. Rooms were clean and quiet, despite the wooden floors in the hallways. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was one of the better ones I had in Ecuador. It was a bit pricey by Ecuador standards, so look around first. I just arrived in Cuenca late and night and this was the first place I saw in my guidebook that looked clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renkum, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
343 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Entering the patio of Posada del Angel for the first time is a very pleasant surprise! You enter into a kind of big community house with a lot of comfort and cosiness. The room we had (7) was spacious, with a small balcony to the street from where al lot of traffic noise came. So we closed the windows/doors at night and slept then very well. The breakfasts are generous, wth yoghurt and musli, eggs at your choice, rolls and toast, fruit juice and fresh fruit and coffee and tea at your choice. Tea, coffee and water are free available all day. The staff is very dedicated and helpful by organizing trips and unusual wishes. The posada is combined with an Italian restaurant "Mangiare bene", where you eat very good luches and dinners in an Italian style. also their housewines are good and friendly priced.. So if you look for an accomodation in Cuenca: go to hostal Posada del Angel!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

On our last day in Ecuador, we had to find a hotel at the last minute, and we landed at the Posada del Angel. This was a dream come true! I had tried to book this hotel through the internet, without success, and I was finally going to experience it. I turned out to be as charming as described in the Lonely Planet guide. The decor is interesting, and the old colonial building gives one the feeling that you are far from the city, especially if your room has a window onto the breakfast patio. We dined in their restaurant for the evening meal, and the food was good, although pricier than in other restaurants. The breakfast the next morning was good, and such a delight in the glass covered atrium. Personnel were very helpful, and my overall experience was very positive. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a comfortable hotel experience (the queen beds are a nice surprise) , in a decor that is lively and charming. Most staff speak English, so try booking through this email address: <posadadelangel@hotmail.com>

Room Tip: The rooms that face the inner courtyard will be quiet, although the breakfast service will allow for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverGreetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanocouver,BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in November and found the staff very friendly and helpful particularly as one of use was ill The staff went out of their way to help us out. Their English language skills were quite good.

The rooms are are comfortable and clean but could be a little noisy if near the courtyard.

Centrally located in the historical area.

The restaurant in the hotel was excellent as was the complimentary breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Toutman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Writing this review has been hard. We stayed at the Posada del Angel 3 nights and made the reservation based on the reviews on TA. I was aware of the squeaky floors but knowing that the building was historical, I proceeded to make my reservation.

The review is difficult in the sense that I have an opportunity to speak with the owner and his son, who are committed to improving the customer experience and will be addressing the noise factor of the rooms.

The first 2 nights we had a neighbor that had 2 small children. The first night they had guests visits and it appeared to be a kindergarten with the kids running and jumping on the beds. With wooden floors at sway, you can only imagen the seen. We ended up calling the front desk and they quickly resolved the issue.

The owner tried to address the issue for our 3 night by offering and alternate room. We refused since it was our last night and we were told that our noisy neighbor had checked out.

We believed we would have a quite night. Not so!!! A tour group checked late and again, they were noisy. Appears that the package included dinner at the restaurant located under part of our room, so we had to contend with the noise from the music below.

In summary, do not expect to get an early noise free bed time...... the traffic dies down at around 11p.m. -- same with the restaurant and also with the guest staying at the hotel.

I would recommend that you avoid room 5. The rooms is spacious, with 4 individual beds, large bathroom and nice entrance, but this is the corner room and you will hear the noise of the road. A portion is also above the restaurant and therefore if business is good, you will have to contend with the music. I would also recommend that you avoid rooms adjacent (3, 4, 6 and 7).

Once the owner manage the noise factor better, this will be a highly recommended property.

Room Tip: avoid room 5 and also adjacent - 4, 6 and 7 due to road noise and restaurant below
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its-wat_it_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#3 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
0.1 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Santa Lucia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Posada del Angel

Property: Hostal Posada del Angel
Address: Bolivar 14-11 | Estevez de Toral, Cuenca, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Posada del Angel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Posada del Angel is located in Cuenca, Ecuador cultural heritage of humanity, we are located in the historic center in an old house but we totally rebuilt with beautiful rooms in which you will feel at home, also we have 2 large courtyards, spacious reading rooms inside a breakfast in which you can make an amazing breakfast, also have one of the best restaurants in Cuenca visited by local and foreign our specialty is Italian food. Hostal Posada del Angel will be your best option in Cuenca Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Posada Del Angel Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing