We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price”
Review of Hotel San Andres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Andres
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, great price”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

It's a smaller boutique hotel located almost center of downtown Cuenca. For the price, we paid $60 US a night ( breakfast included) it was great. It's within walking distance of almost everything downtown, if you need to call a cab $2.50 was the most we paid. Hotel is very quaint, great atmosphere, staff was extremely helpful (helped us book 2 tours) , took their time in answering any questions we had. Room was very clean , looked very nice, bed was comfy. We had a room with a view to the inside patio which was away from the street noise. Note there is no A/C nor heating in the rooms, but it was not needed, temps in Cuenca are moderate 70's during the day and 50's in the eve, we slept with the window open. Bed had great fluffy comforter which kept us warm.
The only 2 negatives that I would give was that the area inside hotel is open on all floors to the 1st floor so it may be a bit noisy in the rooms if there are people outside in the halls, talking etc. The other would be that breakfast is supposed to be from 7 to 10am, but they were never ready by 7 it was usually 7:20/7:30 . But when in Cuenca again I would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blkdoggy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
12
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Think we were the only guests in nicely restored property. Staff speaks limited English but are very accommodating. Great covered openroof allowed nice breeze throughout. Nice breakfast. Lovely grassy garden @ rear of property.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel and were very pleased with our choice. Actually it was a review on TripAdvisor that encouraged us to look at it online, and we decided to book it. We were not disappointed. It is an old colonial building which has been tastefully decorated and is nice and peaceful inside, although it is on a fairly busy road. It is close to the central square and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. It is clean and we felt safe. We had a spacious room with a good comfortable bed and a nice shower. There were sitting areas outside the rooms on the landings, although the day we decided to sit out there for half an hour or so we were quite cold. The staff were friendly. There is a small garden at the back, which is lit in the evening, and you could sit out there if you wanted to. The breakfast is served on the fourth floor, where there is also a small terrace. We thought the breakfast was fine - they offered eggs, and gave us toast, cheese, a choice of juice, coffee or tea. When I declined the eggs, they offered me fruit instead. There is unlimited pure water available on each floor. The only small negative as far as we were concerned was that there were no chairs in the room, although there was enough space for one or two.

This hotel is very good value for money, and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a garden-view room, which obviously had an outside window looking out onto the garden. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaretjoe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SAN ANDRE... A, Gerente at Hotel San Andres, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por dejarnos ser parte de su estancia en el Ecuador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed one night in this well kept hotel. The staff could not have been more accomodating and gracious. The hotel agreed to keep two bags for us in secure storage as we departed for a jungle tour a week ahead of our stay at Hotel San Andres. On a late arrival at 11 pm, after that tour, our bags were already in our room. As no restaurants were open at that time the fellow at the front desk agreed to bring us some milk and yogurt at that late hour (gratis). My wife had not been feeling well prior to our check in. The next morning, the desk person suggested and had delivered tea along with a mild medication pill that worked well. On top of that we had great difficulty verifying our TAME flight reservations for later that day and the desk staff solved that problem too. They must have lots of experience and tolerance for helpless gringos! The only disappointment was we did not have time to experience the beautiful courtyard out back. This hotel is well kept and well run with historical significance and charm and it is well located in El Centro. Only caution, four floors with no elevator. We really enjoyed our room #204 in the back overlooking the flowered courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OandK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Hotel San Andres in Cuenca is a beautifully restored traditional colonial building - it's absolutely stunning inside. The hotel is centrally located on Gran Columbia, yet it's very quiet and peaceful. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, the beds are quite comfortable, and the staff is exceedingly friendly. Breakfast is included in the price. I've stayed at the San Andres a couple of times now, and they've recently added Wi-Fi, with pretty decent connection speed. The manager and the owner's daughter speak English, and one of them is almost always on-site. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back, overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcuadorHomesOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTEL SAN ANDRE... A, Gerente at Hotel San Andres, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por preferirnos, estamos gustosos de servirle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I found this place by accident when I arrived at the highly rated Morenica del Rosario, realised it was a huge disappointment and went walking to look for alternatives. San Andres is almost literally across the road fro mthe other hotel, and both are in a fabulaous location forthe city. San Andres is however $10 a night cheaper and offers a large, bright spacious room with double bed and writing desk and good bathroom, while the other was small, cramped and dark. The staff were extremely helpful and the total experience a delight. The only drawback is that rooms at the back do not get wifi.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, you have to take a room in the front section - where windows open onto a central a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

THIS IS WHAT I LIKED: Exceptionally clean, comfortable beds, nice decor, 32 inch flat screen TV,
location, FANTASTIC shower with never ending hot water, the best in Ecuador (not known for good and tot showers :( ) Good coffee. Very helpful hotel manager.

THIS IS WHAT COULD BE IMPROVED: No WiFi in the room Service, though, but indifferent, Given that it is a an expensive, for Ecuador, hotel (around $50/day, single, with all taxes included), they should do better The breakfast cooking/serving person was not there one morning and had to bee found, though I was one of the very few guests

Room Tip: Check the room before signing on. The first room I was offered was very small, had no windows. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movingtoEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel
#30 of 60 in Cuenca
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Macondo
Hostal Macondo
#16 of 60 in Cuenca
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cuenca Hotel
Cuenca Hotel
#21 of 60 in Cuenca
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Andres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Andres

Property: Hotel San Andres
Address: Gran Colombia 11-66 y Tarqui, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Andres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Andres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing