We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hosteria Duran
Nearby Hotels
US$44
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$85
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa de las Rosas(Cuenca)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$51
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Villa Del Rosario(Cuenca)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Crespo(Cuenca)
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
60
41
9
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
41
9
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthermal poolsdegrees celsiusspring poolhotel facilitiesupstairs restaurantdowntown cuencamuratsaunafireplacerelaxationrobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We arrived at Hosteria Duran and were greeted by Marcelo Barros (Gerente De A&B), who treated us like royalty... We given a tour of the property, and shown to our room which was far and away more than expected.

We were given fresh towels and robes each day for our use as we strolled around the property moving from the Steam baths to the Pool or Private baths.

The food is off the charts great! They have French Chef that creates some of the most surprisingly incredible dinners.

We ended each day sitting in an alcove with a fireplace and comfy sofa. We asked that they bring us a pot of CaniLazo which is a hot Ecuadorian drink made of Cane Liquor, Cinamon, and Maracuya (Passionfruit). What a delightful way to end each day of luxury.

They have private baths which you may reserve that have hot spring water running into a roman tub. You have a cold water tap to adjust the temperature to your liking. How wonderful to be able to enjoy the mineral springs benefits in privacy!!!

Of course the Turkish Steam baths with Eucalyptus are incredible as well. They have Mixto (coed) as ladies only Steam rooms. We enjoyed many hours of switching between the steam and the pool.

What surprised us the most was the place was "white glove" clean everywhere you looked. Windows everywhere with not a single smudge, railings and stairways that where completely dust free.

It seemed that our host (Marcos) was ever present. Each time we went in search of something, there he was asking how he might help. This is not to take away from the remaining staff. They were all incredibly helpful and at our service.

Do not miss the Message!!! At $30 for an hour long full body message it is a true bargain, and not to be missed. Schedule yours on arrival for the next day, you'll be glad you did.

The American Breakfast that is included has wonderful Ecuadorian Fruit (the most delicious you ever had), lots of eggs, meat and breads as well. But for us, the chance to completely indulge on the fruits was the ticket. Given the Eternal springtime of this part of Ecuador, you will find that the fresh, ever present fruit is beyond expectations. (it makes coming back to the US and shopping for fruit pale in comparison)

The price point for this place with all the amenities and service (not to mention the meticulously maintained grounds and facilities) is a complete surprise. At check out, I retrieved my cash from the safe, and needed very little of it to satisfy the bill. We stayed 3 glorious nights and ate, drank and soaked like kings for a mere $400.

Next time, we'll have one of their "honeymoon suites" that has it's own fireplace!

Room Tip: I do not like anything poolside, but if that is your thing they have them as well. Next time, we'll be in a room with a fireplace, but the room we had was perfection.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y nos enorgullece como Hostería el saber que su estadía fue de su agrado y cumplió con sus expectativas. Le esperamos nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y que disfrute de todas las instalaciones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

First night we checked in with our 77 year old father. They gave us rooms three levels above the pool. Then they went one level down. We had a wonderful dinner. The next morning all tables were dirty. They made us wait 30 minutes before they cleared the table off. Then a long wait to order breakfast and get coffee refills. The morning staff clearly did not want to wait on Americans. Because when Ecuadorians came in they were taken care of immediately. Complaints to the reception desk did nothing and never an apology or any sign of caring. I have traveled all over Ecuador and never received this type of treatment. Upon arrival from sight seeing in Cuenca the pool had been drained and was not available till 7 the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Pool Level.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank landlocked55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Como Hostería Durán nos interesa su comentario, y nos pone contentos que su estadía haya sido de su agrado. Es importante para nosotros su inquietud como huésped para mejorar la Hostería en lo necesario y así ofrecer servicios de calidad y valor agregado. Se le espera nuevamente en Hostería Durán para que disfrute y más que satisfacer, encantar a nuestros huéspedes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

After staying downtown in one of the converted mansions, we checked Hosteria Duran and decided to spend our last two nights in Cuenca here. Very nice place, a great value, cluean, nice staff, free internet and relaxing pools.
There is not much around to do, but you can walk up to the hill to a beautiful church. There is also another public bath a little up from the hotel.
If I were to go back to Cuenca, I would stay here. After walking the city, it's nice to relax by the pool.
Restaurant is good too and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagnumSauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Se le agradece por su comentario hecho a Hostería Durán y es importante para nosotros esta opinión para mejorar como Hostería, así poder brindar a nuestros clientes servicios, alojamiento, alimentación e instalaciones de calidad. Se le espera nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una experiencia excelente como se merecen nuestros huéspedes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

The best place to relax. There are 4 swimming pools that are fed by water from hot springs. There is nothing more amazing than spending time in a giant "spa". The food in the restaurant was exceptional and the service in the restaurant was outstanding. Overall, the staff at this location does their best to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJG048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su comentario de Hostería Durán en Tripadvisor, se le agradece por las opiniones, dando así que su estadía fue placentera y cumplió con sus expectativas. Se espera su regreso a Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y disfrute de los servicios que se ofrecen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Located outside of Cuenca, in a suburb area called Banos. Not to be confused with the famous Banos town of the same name, in the Central Highlands.

Breakfast included. Our family of 4-- 2 adults and 2 kids ages 11 and 5. Stayed two nights. Room 203 overlooking the pool area. We have lived in Quito, Ecuador, for 4 years. Stayed here Dec 27th and Dec 28th, 2008

Pros:

• Hot (39 degrees F) volcano water fed the 4 pools spread through out the property. The main outdoor pool is inside the actual hotel. Gorgeous gardens and limited seating with table around the pool area, flanked by Turkish steam baths, poolside food and drink service. All pools are kid friendly and well staffed. Good pool side snacks. Great burgers and Ecuadorian food available.
• Great bar food and drinks and the service is quite good
• The lobby is small but boast nice artwork and quality finishing and staff is friendly people. English and Spanish are widely spoken
• A small shop is just outside the main hotel building that sells goggles, sun screen, swim suites, soap etc, the usual travels things one may forget or run out of
• The upstairs restaurant/bar and lounge are quite nice and rather comfortable
• Rooms are immaculate. Bathrooms are spotless but the hot water was not readily available which was odd as the HOT pool water flowed endlessly. Beds and linens were all fine, clean and comfortable
• TV cable in the rooms
• A huge games rooms with pool table, fuzz ball, pin pong and other sports amenities are available to all guests but ask at the reception for equipment and there is small soccer pitch with a net ball court and net
• A small playground for kids is behind the hotel
• The food, overall, is excellent. The breakfast was well put together and the coffee was amazing but the serving staff are a tad grumpy but provided good service and seemed to like the kids
• The bar plays the worst music I have ever-heard in a bar but that is my own music tastes. I really do not enjoy listening to show tunes, Zamfir and or orchestral music as I sip on my scotch and chat with my family. It became annoying to me---again, that is me, not a criticism of the Hosteria Duran
• Call taxi’s to Cuenca are easily arranged by reception
• The atmosphere is pleasant with many little nooks and crannies to poke round in, fountains and gardens and seats here and there if you need a quite moment.
• Internet is available, free, for 30 minutes but no one seemed to be counting, in the business office. Not sure about WiFi
• Excellent Value for the $$$$
• The main pool in the hotel area is closed every Monday for a complete drain and scrubbing and re-filling. We saw them do this. It is an all day project. AMAZING!
• The staff are attentive to security and to keeping the place quiet at night
• Plenty of secured car parking
• A real family place!!!


Cons:

• Hosteria Duran is located outside of Cuenca, in a suburb called Banos. It is really hard to find Banos. The signs are limited to non-existent passing through Cuenca so ask for directions because I do not have any decent advice. We just kept driving around asking locals until we stumbled upon a sign that read, BANOS, with an arrow pointing to the right. Or take a taxi or a bus is better!!
• All pool areas at the hotel are public access pools. This causes a lot of crowding, which we did not know about before making the booking. The crowds were rather awful. Not the people, just the crowding. This issue made the hotel feel less like a 4 star rating and a bit more like a public pool setting---YUCK
• Rooms are SMALL for a family of 4

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ExpatDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y nos enorgullece como Hostería el saber que su estadía fue de su agrado y cumplió con sus expectativas. Le esperamos nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y que disfrute de todas las instalaciones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews