We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely charming”
Review of Hosteria Duran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hosteria Duran
Ranked #24 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hosteria Duran. The service at the desk could not be nicer, and the wait staff is also excellent. The rooms were clean and lovely. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleonora d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su comentario de Hostería Durán en Tripadvisor, se le agradece por las opiniones, dando así que su estadía fue placentera y cumplió con sus expectativas. Se espera su regreso a Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y disfrute de los servicios que se ofrecen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is a magical place! Hosteria Duran offers all the amenities of a 5-star hotel. Elegant colonial architecture nestled up in the mountain offering gorgeous vi ews from morning to night. The hot springs pools filled with volcanic waters are just fantastic, suiting for young and old in a very friendly atmosphere surrounded by snack bars and amenities. We enjoyed well prepared meals at their beautiful restaurant, evening chats by the fireplace sitting areas, and great conversations with locals and foreigners much in love with this enchanting place and city. Ecuador, Cuenca, and Hosteria Duran, we are coming back! Next time, we will also enjoy the spa services, I hear that are just awesome and the upcoming facilities will be even better.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Se le agradece por su comentario hecho a Hostería Durán y es importante para nosotros esta opinión para mejorar como Hostería, así poder brindar a nuestros clientes servicios, alojamiento, alimentación e instalaciones de calidad. Se le espera nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una experiencia excelente como se merecen nuestros huéspedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A good selection of typical Ecuadorian food with great trout dishes. Best to keep away from the rooms by the hot pool since there were many children during our stay. Clean and tidy and good value!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y nos enorgullece como Hostería el saber que su estadía fue de su agrado y cumplió con sus expectativas. Le esperamos nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y que disfrute de todas las instalaciones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I recently returned to Cuenca (with my wife and my grandson in tow) for the second time in the last two years, and as I did during my visit in 2010, I chose to stay at the truly enjoyable Hosteria Durán on the western edge of the city. Once again, I was extremely impressed by this Spanish colonial-style hotel originally established in the 1930’s. The first thing a visitor will notice is the beautiful architecture and the splendidly maintained grounds. The hotel itself is on a small bluff near a volcanic vent which is the source of their hot mineral water used to fill the three large pools on the property (there is a little bit of traffic noise from the road below).

The maintenance, both interior and exterior, is very good. The rooms are simple but still elegant, and the hotel as a whole is usually spotlessly clean. The room we chose, #218, was very large and gave our family plenty of space – it could easily sleep four and had a large bath as well. The staff at the hotel, beginning with Monica at the front desk all the way to the security guards at the front gate, was consistently superb. The ladies who took care of our rooms were friendly and efficient and always paid attention to detail (they were anticipating that we would be in another suite and Betty had the fireplace going for us as soon as we checked in). One of the maintenance staff took us on an un-programmed tour of the entire facility; the security folks would routinely escort visitors in and out of the parking lot with umbrellas if it was raining; etc., etc. Great service!

Most of our direct contact with management was through the hotel’s food and beverage director, Sr. Marcelo Barros, who went out of his way to see to our needs, even recommending preferred local taxi drivers who he felt would serve as excellent guides in addition to being responsible drivers (they were!). At Señor Barros' invitation, we joined a large group of Cuencanos in a wonderful Valentine’s Day fiesta in the hotel’s adjacent ballroom. We had flown to Ecuador from Miami having just completed a brief Caribbean cruise with one of our favorite cruise lines long noted for its excellent cuisine (Celebrity), and were absolutely tickled to find a spectacular (genuinely spectacular) Valentine’s dinner prepared by the hotel’s chef, Sr. Jose Clavijo. Sr. Clavijo had routinely impressed us with his skill in the hotel’s main dining room on a daily basis, but really outdid himself with this holiday feast.

All in all, I really can’t say enough good things about this quietly elegant but completely unpretentious Cuencano hotel. I know there are several fine hotels in this splendid old city, and the people of Cuenca will routinely make a visitor feel welcome, but I know that on my future trips to Cuenca I will return to the hospitality and the “at home” feeling of Hosteria Durán. For families or couples I can’t recommend this hotel strongly enough.

Room Tip: Room #218 is very spacious. Room #302 is very cozy and romantic (it has a wood-burning fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWDWestwood_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su comentario de Hostería Durán en Tripadvisor, se le agradece por las opiniones, dando así que su estadía fue placentera y cumplió con sus expectativas. Se espera su regreso a Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y disfrute de los servicios que se ofrecen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We (self, wife adult son) stayed here 2 nights and it was a highlight of our trip round Ecuador. Real style and attention to guests, good, interesting food, excellent buffet breakfast, spacious rooms. The pool of course was great, and was available until late in the evening. Our rooms were spacious and attractive and quiet. The only flaw was on our day of departure (monday) there was no buffet breakfast due to small numbers and service was rather slow. Although we had a hire car, we took a taxi into Cuenca which wasn't expensive. Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cymraeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Su opinión nos interesa y le agradecemos por escribirnos, La hostería Durán brinda alojamiento, alimentación y servicios aumentados de calidad y valor agregado con instalaciones acordes al cliente, para una mayor satisfacción. Le esperamos en su próxima visita a la Hostería Durán para que disfrute de este junto a su familia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We arrived at Hosteria Duran and were greeted by Marcelo Barros (Gerente De A&B), who treated us like royalty... We given a tour of the property, and shown to our room which was far and away more than expected.

We were given fresh towels and robes each day for our use as we strolled around the property moving from the Steam baths to the Pool or Private baths.

The food is off the charts great! They have French Chef that creates some of the most surprisingly incredible dinners.

We ended each day sitting in an alcove with a fireplace and comfy sofa. We asked that they bring us a pot of CaniLazo which is a hot Ecuadorian drink made of Cane Liquor, Cinamon, and Maracuya (Passionfruit). What a delightful way to end each day of luxury.

They have private baths which you may reserve that have hot spring water running into a roman tub. You have a cold water tap to adjust the temperature to your liking. How wonderful to be able to enjoy the mineral springs benefits in privacy!!!

Of course the Turkish Steam baths with Eucalyptus are incredible as well. They have Mixto (coed) as ladies only Steam rooms. We enjoyed many hours of switching between the steam and the pool.

What surprised us the most was the place was "white glove" clean everywhere you looked. Windows everywhere with not a single smudge, railings and stairways that where completely dust free.

It seemed that our host (Marcos) was ever present. Each time we went in search of something, there he was asking how he might help. This is not to take away from the remaining staff. They were all incredibly helpful and at our service.

Do not miss the Message!!! At $30 for an hour long full body message it is a true bargain, and not to be missed. Schedule yours on arrival for the next day, you'll be glad you did.

The American Breakfast that is included has wonderful Ecuadorian Fruit (the most delicious you ever had), lots of eggs, meat and breads as well. But for us, the chance to completely indulge on the fruits was the ticket. Given the Eternal springtime of this part of Ecuador, you will find that the fresh, ever present fruit is beyond expectations. (it makes coming back to the US and shopping for fruit pale in comparison)

The price point for this place with all the amenities and service (not to mention the meticulously maintained grounds and facilities) is a complete surprise. At check out, I retrieved my cash from the safe, and needed very little of it to satisfy the bill. We stayed 3 glorious nights and ate, drank and soaked like kings for a mere $400.

Next time, we'll have one of their "honeymoon suites" that has it's own fireplace!

Room Tip: I do not like anything poolside, but if that is your thing they have them as well. Next time, we'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y nos enorgullece como Hostería el saber que su estadía fue de su agrado y cumplió con sus expectativas. Le esperamos nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y que disfrute de todas las instalaciones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

First night we checked in with our 77 year old father. They gave us rooms three levels above the pool. Then they went one level down. We had a wonderful dinner. The next morning all tables were dirty. They made us wait 30 minutes before they cleared the table off. Then a long wait to order breakfast and get coffee refills. The morning staff clearly did not want to wait on Americans. Because when Ecuadorians came in they were taken care of immediately. Complaints to the reception desk did nothing and never an apology or any sign of caring. I have traveled all over Ecuador and never received this type of treatment. Upon arrival from sight seeing in Cuenca the pool had been drained and was not available till 7 the next morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on Pool Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank landlocked55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Como Hostería Durán nos interesa su comentario, y nos pone contentos que su estadía haya sido de su agrado. Es importante para nosotros su inquietud como huésped para mejorar la Hostería en lo necesario y así ofrecer servicios de calidad y valor agregado. Se le espera nuevamente en Hostería Durán para que disfrute y más que satisfacer, encantar a nuestros huéspedes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
3.4 mi away
Valgus Hotel & Suites
Valgus Hotel & Suites
#17 of 62 in Cuenca
80 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 62 in Cuenca
128 reviews
2.9 mi away
Santiago de Compostella Suites-Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hotel Yanuncay
Hotel Yanuncay
#15 of 62 in Cuenca
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Duran

Address: Av. Ricardo Duran | via a Banos Cuenca, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Duran 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Duran, located in Cuenca, surrounded by a natural environment that offers rest and tranquility in its comfortable rooms, invites you to enjoy the benefits of its natural thermal waters of volcanic origin, Turkish bath, thermal baths, thermal mud, sports courts , private parking, unlimited internet, etc, All this with the best service of qualified personnel. Our Spa "Novaqua" with the best massages and body treatments, thermal water pool, Turkish bath, drawer baths, contrast baths ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Duran Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing