We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”
Review of Hosteria Duran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hosteria Duran
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were really looking forward to the hot spring pool. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday to find the pool filled with "townies" including a multitude of yelling and screaming children. Monday morning was slightly better, but stay out of the way of "club" members who come to swim laps. The Turkish bath is a simple sauna, and no therapist was available for massages. The rooms were mediocre and my friend complained about the dirty carpet in her room. Service was not fantastic as we had to chase down a bartender. On the positive side, the restaurant is good, with excellent and inexpensive food. The grounds and layout of the hotel are very attractive, even though we didn't care for the actual "in-town" location of the hotel. Security felt a little "iffy". Too many non-guests roaming around.

Room Tip: Check it out first. Get a room as far away from the pools as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Como Hostería Durán nos interesa su comentario, y nos pone contentos que su estadía haya sido de su agrado. Es importante para nosotros su inquietud como huésped para mejorar la Hostería en lo necesario y así ofrecer servicios de calidad y valor agregado. Se le espera nuevamente en Hostería Durán para que disfrute y más que satisfacer, encantar a nuestros huéspedes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was not visiting for the thermal pools so I can't judge that aspect of the hotel. Room was clean and comfortable and I was far enough away from the pool that the noise did not bother me. No internet service to the rooms was a negative for me, and in the lobby and dining area the internet service was spotty. Breakfast at hotel was excellent and dining area was pleasant.

Room Tip: far away from the pools - noisy crowds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su comentario de Hostería Durán en Tripadvisor, se le agradece por las opiniones, dando así que su estadía fue placentera y cumplió con sus expectativas. Se espera su regreso a Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y disfrute de los servicios que se ofrecen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The view takes your breath away. The environment is relaxing. The manager was very professional. My kids had a good time in the pool. And we enjoyed their delicious hamburger. A perfect place to stay in Cuenca, Ecuador.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mari_in_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Su opinión nos interesa y nos dice que su estadía fue placentera junto a su familia, todo lo mencionado nos sirve para seguir mejorando como Hostería, así brindar servicios de alta calidad. Se espera su visita nuevamente en Hostería Durán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Having lived in Ecuador for many years, visiting many, many hotels in different cities, this one came in with very mixed reviews. I will break it done this way.

Security – one star
Service – two star
Room – four star
Restaurant- four star

Security. Ecuador’s crime rate is rising rapidly and Cuenca is no exception although certainly safer than Quito or Guayaquil. The hotel offers two large public hot pools outside the hotel proper. They also have a lovely large hot pool inside the hotel amid the guest rooms. To my surprise this pool was also offered to the public at a slightly higher price than those outside (I think it was 5 or 6 dollars and ½ that for children). My husband and I were paying $130 a night for a queen bed and sofa bed for our daughter. We mainly went to this hosteria to enjoy the hot pools. Sad to say, the hot pool was extremely crowded and full of non-guest adults and children. No armbands are required for outside guest, thus they are free to roam the hotel facilities. Anyone living in Ecuador knows that to leave your personal belonging in a hotel room with this kind of breach in security puts your room in serious jeopardy for theft. We were not at all comfortable joining the large crowd down at the pool nor were we comfortable leaving our electronics in the room or elsewhere. Usually at a higher end hotel one leaves ones cell phone or ipad on the table while enjoying the pool or other amenities. Not so here. I had no doubt these type items would have disappeared quickly. The pool is open early and closes late which means the noise levels from the public crowd begin and end accordingly. Twice a week they drain the pools which also means that guest cannot use the hotel pool in the evenings after the crowd leaves. Why this is not done late at night or early in the morning indicates again that the high paying guest are lower on their priorities than the public crowd. Lastly, although I am quite glad that they do not use chemicals in the pool, when the crowd is as extensive as it was when we were visiting, I have to wonder about the sanitary level of the pool. Should the hotel issue armbands for the public crowd and raise the price to 10.00 or more for adults and 7.00 or more for children, this would slim down the crowd and beef up security. Otherwise, I would recommend staying in Cuenca and paying the very low rate for the hot pools, sauna, etc and enjoying them as a public individual, not as a hotel guest. Or you can enjoy the even lower rate outside the main hotel facilities. Oh, and the day before they change the water - the pool temperature is a bit chilly.

Service. Service was lacking but the effort was obvious. The room got quite chilly when the fire went out. Hot water bottles would have been nice or a space heater. The first night our shower water was cold, we had to inquire twice to have the gas tank changed. The second evening, we had no wood in our fire basket and they did not refresh our towels and robes for the pool. Probably not a big deal in the states but things don’t dry here in the rainy season and it is very chilly, so wet cold towels and robes were not ideal. There is more, but the staff was sincere and I think this could be a hit or miss thing.

Room. The room and the facilities were lovely. Everything was aesthetically pleasing. The mattress, pillows and blankets were of good quality.

Restaurant. I actually found the restaurant to be above average for Ecuador. They said that their cook was French – I can’t confirm this, but the meal was good. The Cream Puff dessert I ordered was not really a cream puff. I’m not sure if this was a translation issue or what, but I still found the dessert very delicious. Also I would have liked to have seen a higher quality of bread at breakfast. These are minor things and overall I would certainly return to the restaurant.

Due to security issues and the swimming/hot pool situation, we left a day early and went to stay with friends in Cuenca.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank a_wolf325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Amigo: a_wolf325
Agradecemos mucho su comentario y su experiencia en nuestra hostería, sabemos que personas como usted hacen que nosotros podamos tomar los correctivos necesarios para un mejor servicio, su hospedaje fue en el feriado de Carnaval, en donde el hotel esta 100% ocupado, es decir mas de 100 personas, la gente que entraba a las piscinas eran socios y accionistas de la empresa, como usted puede entender nuestra hostería no era la única con este problema al ser este feriado uno de los mas importantes del sector turístico, es substancial informarle que todas nuestras instalaciones cuentan con cámaras vigilancia de esta manera podemos garantizar la seguridad de nuestros huéspedes; Los Horarios de atención de la piscina son los siguientes: Lunes, martes, jueves, viernes y sábado: 7am-22pm; Miércoles; 7am-14pm ; domingos: 7am-18pm, estos horarios son establecidos ya que tenemos un sistema de cambio de agua de la piscina, procesos que han sido muy estudiados para dar una mejor prestación. Las aguas termales con las que nos beneficiamos son poseen la particularidad de ser hipertermal, es decir que contiene propiedades que son indicadores de contaminación nula, es por esa razón no usamos productos químicos y el agua de la piscina esta todo el tiempo recirculando, de esta manera medimos el nivel sanitario de la piscina. Con esta información que le entregamos esperamos poder tener un poco de su comprensión, y así como usted a sido muy gentil en poder darnos sus sugerencias queremos invitare a pasar un día en nuestro SPA termal NOVAQUA ubicado a 200 metros de la Hostería, será un pacer poderles recompensar de alguna manera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We spent a couple if nights here before moving into Cuenca and really enjoyed the quiet and relaxation. The pools are great for hanging out, but could have been warmer for my preference. The staff was very nice and the restuarant was good, but not great. The hotel is large and there were not many people there when we were, so he had a whole section practically to ourselves. The rooms were adequate, but look like they haven't been updated since the place was built. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Le agradecemos por su comentario en Tripadvisor a Hostería Durán, nos enorgullece que que su estadía ha sido la adecuada, según lo dicho en su comentario la Hostería Durán se ha ganado sus clientes gracias a sus instalaciones que tienen su toque rustico pero se mejoran siempre para ofrecer servicios de calidad. Le esperamos nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una nueva experiencia en las instalaciones y que su satisfacción sea total.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Ecuador always amazes me with how incredible the food & lodgings can be for such low prices...but Hosteria Duran was a little disappointing. The food was expensive, but not nearly as good as some of the $3.00 almuerzos you can get in smaller restaurants. The "hot" springs (the ones included in the room price) are not really "hot" so much as "warm," and on the days before they empty the pool (Sunday, Wednesday) they're lukewarm at best. There's hotter water at the spa, but of course you have to pay extra for that. The rooms are clean & comfortable, but some are better than others. I guess overall I just felt like the place should be $20 cheaper per night.

Room Tip: Room 301 is the best, by far. Fireplace, sitting area, and sort of isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsharp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

We are terribly sorry you had this perception, but I would like to tell you that we are a hostel that is in the "luxury" category. For the past three years we have been recognized two times with the First Place Award "EKOS PYMES" - Ecuador Edition, which ensures our quality of facilities and service. All of our prices are also within the normal average of the local hotel market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

A great room and excellent restaurant. The pool is filled with water thermally heated by the local volcanoes-- a giant hot spring.

An absolute beautiful view of the city at night. Everyone was friendly and the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edkravcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinesmv, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Duran, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013
Google Translation

Gracias por su comentario y nos enorgullece como Hostería el saber que su estadía fue de su agrado y cumplió con sus expectativas. Le esperamos nuevamente en Hostería Durán para una mayor satisfacción y que disfrute de todas las instalaciones.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 62 in Cuenca
756 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 62 in Cuenca
122 reviews
3.1 mi away
Valgus Hotel & Suites
Valgus Hotel & Suites
#16 of 62 in Cuenca
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#3 of 62 in Cuenca
448 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hacienda Uzhupud
Hacienda Uzhupud
#26 of 62 in Cuenca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Duran

Address: Av. Ricardo Duran | via a Banos Cuenca, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cuenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range: £54 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Duran 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Duran Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing