We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and friendly atmosphere in our favorite neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Casona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Casona
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Cuenca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly atmosphere in our favorite neighborhood”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Although we stayed at various hotels when we first moved to Cuenca, we were happy to find a lovely hotel in our favorite neighborhood for regular visits after moving into the country. The hotel is a big, beautiful, "estate" like manor with a restaurant that seems like the old library. Staying here is as comfortable as it sounds. The rooms are nice, clean, with some overlooking the garden; and even though they are on a corner, it is quiet. The staff is friendly and accomodating, whether bringing an extra pillow, a glass of wine, or simply checking in or out. Breakfast is an ample buffet with fresh coffee, fruits, juices, and breads; and eggs cooked to order. The neighborhood has restaurants (Roux) and convenient shopping, and is an easy walk over the river into el centro.

Room Tip: We like overlooking the garden, especially on the first floor. (Rm. 105 was nice.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoznKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonahotel333, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear RoznKen,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel La Casona. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed our location and facilities. We look forward to your return!

Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
32
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The house is antique but very well preserved. In a very quiet part of the city, but in a centric location. Nice and big room, good prices, very nice people works there. Private garage, hot water, nice view. But internet does not work, and the plates in breakfast are tinny!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonahotel333, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel La Casona. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings with the internet, I can assure you that that was a temporary problem that has now been solved. We will take into account your suggestion about our breakfast buffet plates, we will do our best to provide bigger ones. We look forward to serving you again!

Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very nice, clean, safe, quiet place to stay. Part of its charm is that is more in a residential neighborhood, and a walk to the center of town. Cab access anywhere within minutes. Staff was very helpful and spoke english reasonably well. Breakfast was typical Ecuadorean.
Our daughter lives in Ecuador, and next time we're in Cuenca, we will stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonahotel333, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Richard,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel La Casona. We are delighted to know that you are planning to return and we cannot wait to welcome you back!

Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour. Beds were clean and comfortable actually the hotel standards reminded me a bit or a travel lodge or holiday inn. The bathroom was nice. The hotel was in walking distance of a shopping centre and some nice places to eat taxis cost next to nothing so getting the hotel to order one is a good idea for going further out as cuenca like all big cities isn't the safest place at night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonahotel333, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel La Casona. We are happy to know that you found our facilities comfortable. We would love to know your opinion about how to improve our services. Please feel free to contact us to info@lacasonahotel.com.ec if you have any suggestions about how to serve you better. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again!

Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Only a 20 minute walk or a $3 taxi ride from the old town the hotel has virtually no passing traffic at night, ensuring a good night's sleep. The staff are friendly with some English. The architecture is interesting and pressed tin ceilings in the good sized rooms indicate the hotel dates back to the 1930s or thereabouts.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdunchob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonahotel333, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Pdunchob,

Thank you for giving Hotel La Casona a 5-star review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and location. And your dating is extremely accurate, professional architects have told us that the distinct and unique architecture does indeed date back to the 1930s. Please consider returning in your next stay in Cuenca, we would love to see you again!

Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel through a tour and it's one of the nicest ones in Ecuador. It's clean, rooms are comfortable, bathrooms are nice and the staff are friendly. Location was pretty good too and breakfast was not bad.
I recommend it if you're travelling to Cuenca.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lacasonahotel333, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Casona, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Emilia,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel La Casona! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we look forward to your return!

Felipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Nice location in a Cuenca about a 15 minute walk from old town historic center.

Room was clean with nice bathroom appointments, located on first floor. Room was adjacent to back of kitchen and heard cooking/cleaning noises most of day into late evening. The reception area was down the hall and most of the noise from this common area during high traffic times funneled its way to the room as well.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Good breakfast and decent overall restaurant.

Spotty WiFi internet with dropped connections.

Same day laundry service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms above first floor and away from kitchen side for quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.8 mi away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#4 of 60 in Cuenca
424 reviews
0.9 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 60 in Cuenca
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#15 of 60 in Cuenca
105 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kuna Hotel
Kuna Hotel
#8 of 60 in Cuenca
116 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
Hotel Oro Verde Cuenca
#1 of 60 in Cuenca
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casona

Property: Hotel La Casona
Address: Miguel Davila Cord 2124 | Azuay, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cuenca
#8 Family Hotel in Cuenca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casona 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most beautiful areas of the city of Cuenca, between the rivers Tomebamba and Yanuncay, is found an old stately house, beautifully restored, which now functions as the Hostaled la Casona. The hotel is located in a secure and tranquil residential zone, very close to historic downtown, and just a few minutes away from museums, theaters and the principal financial and commercial districts of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Casona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casona Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing