We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little haven at the top of San Cristobal”
Review of Pimampiro Hosteria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galapagos Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pimampiro Hosteria
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a lovely little complex at the top of the hill on San Cristobel island. We had a great view of the water, the room was clean and airy, the breakfast delicious, and the staff were wonderful. The pool is an added delight. Much recommended!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bronwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Pimampiro Hosteria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Alejandra and Fernando are really nice.
I spent new years there with my girlfriend and we stayed for almost 10 days. Breakfast is great and rooms are cool. Best ones are upstairs..
Its a little far from the beach but you can just grab one of the bikes in the hospedaria.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Franceix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This place was an absolute gem to find during our 3 week island-hopping tour of the Galapagos. Its a gated hotel at the top of the hill a half mile from town.

We were given a large room with a kitchen area at one end, this had a table with stools and a tablecloth, a fridge with a big jug of chilled water and glasses in it, a nice stainless sink and a view of the swimming pool.

There was a strong safe, a TV, bedside lamps and a freshwater shower with hot water, soap and shampoo and a hair dryer, the room also had working air-conditioning.

The room was cleaned each day and we were given fresh towels daily.

The windows were screened, this gave a lovely light airy feel when you got up in the morning and had nice orange tied-back curtains. It rained hard on a couple of nights, but the screened windows did'nt leak, which suprised me.

Breakfast was cooken in front of you, there was fruit salad, scambled eggs, wholemeal bread toast, cereals, jam and as much coffee as you wanted. The staff were really good.

I really liked this place and looked forward to coming back to it each evening. Thoroughly recomended.

Room Tip: We thought they were all good, but the upstairs rooms have better views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sakarag0ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We booked "budget" hotels on 3 islands through Sharksky and this was the nicest of the three. The room was comfortable and pretty quiet despite having only screens (no glass) on the windows in the front of the unit. There was a concert of some sort on the edge of town we could hear pretty clearly on the Saturday night we were there, but it ended by 10pm. It had a little kitchen area which we didn't have a chance to use other than the fridge, and the pool was a nice change of pace from the chilly ocean.

Be forewarned that if the power goes out on the island (which happened early in the morning of our stay), the water also goes off (but this seemed to be true everywhere else in town too). Breakfast (eggs, toast, juice, tea) was served without a hitch, though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunettes_noires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved every second of it.
The room was massive and clean, the showers had a really cool design, the beds were comfortable, there was airconditioning, a safe, and a little kitchen.
We also had a pool just outside our bedroom door, and they offer free bicycles for their guests (save you from renting them in town for $4 per hour.
Breakfast was also very good with generous portions served.
Overall, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelReviewer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Alexandra and her husband are very kind people who run a great establishment. the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the pool is a great addition after a long day exploring the fantastic island. Its not far at all from the Malcon and serves a great breakfast.

Its already a Tripadvisor winner and if it carries on as is, will continue to be. Large rooms, with good views can be had on the top floors. I'd recommend it. whole place is very secure- no sea lions creeping in here ;)

Alberto the attendant is every present and friendly. the pick up services was a nice extra that backpackers don't often get.

Muchos gracis

Room Tip: go for upstairs over the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed in Pimampiro Hostal for the first night of our 5 day backpacker tour we booked with Sharksky ecoadventures. We upgraded our hotel options to include this hotel based upon Trip Advisor ratings and were really happy we did.

The hotel is a few blocks up the hill from the town, but this is not a problem as it's a pleasant walk. The owners here are super cool and very friendly. They do a great job of looking after their guests. Our room was huge with 2 bedrooms and a lounge and kitchen! Breakfast was really nice. We would definitely stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galapagos Islands hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
Casa Opuntia Galapagos
#2 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar Azul
Hotel Mar Azul
#2 of 8 in San Cristobal
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
Golden Bay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Miconia
Hotel Miconia
#5 of 8 in San Cristobal
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
The Eco Hotel Arena Blanca
#6 of 8 in San Cristobal
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Sunset
Galapagos Sunset
#3 of 4 in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimampiro Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimampiro Hosteria

Address: Avenue Quito y Tulcan, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Galapagos Islands
Price Range: £41 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pimampiro Hosteria Hotel Galapagos Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing