We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value,”
Review of Posada el Castillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada el Castillo
Ranked #19 of 173 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Bow, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Value,”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here two nights. Great environment, quiet part of town, average breakfast. A bit of walking to the main attractions of Arequipa, but I did not mind since I like to walk. The premises were clean, great garden, impressive architecture in main building. I'd stay here again. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    24
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
69
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I still dream about our stay here. This little BandB is tucked away in a quiet area. The architechture and the rooms are extremely classy and sophisticated. The entire facility is super clean, and they have fantastic bathrooms. We had a gorgeous view of the city. The place is owned by a really friendly couple. They were very helpful and friendly. I'm surprised this place does not have more reviews, but it's probably because it's small. On display, they have many original artifacts that were discovered when they dug up the land to make the breakfast area. This was one of the best places we have ever stayed on any of our travels, and we have traveled quite extensively. If you are going to Arequipa, STAY HERE, you will love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangForBuckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We visited Arequipa primarily to move on to the Colca Canyon. We stayed most often in hostals, but this was a reasonably priced hotel. we had a big room and a fantastic bed. The hotel is in a quiet part of town within walking distance of the town center.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huib V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Due to our flight arrangements, we were required to stay overnight in Arequipa from Lima to Cusco. Our travel agent recommended this place even the local taxi driver had problem finding this little oasis. We arrived late (after 10pm) and had to leave by 6am the next morning. Wished we had more time enjoying what this place has to offer with its gated garden with beautiful flowers and a swimming pool area. The hostess stayed late to check us in and got up early the next morning to prepare our breakfast. Its bathrooms are all refurbished and feel new.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gl0baltr0tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was part of the medical team in June, 2013. A number of our group have already written! The service was superb. The morning breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a B&B. The rooms are extremely comfortable, and attractive. The location is just far enough from the center of town to avoid the congestion, but near enough that it can be walked comfortably.

The hotel is owned by a lovely couple who bend over backwards to make your stay pleasant!!

Room Tip: Second floor in main building is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed 2 weeks while on a medical trip in Arequipa. This hotel has some Inca ruins that were discovered while they were renovating. It has a nice pool and the rooms are spacious and nicely renovated esp the bathrooms. We were in the main building overlooking the pool. The dining room is beautiful with artifacts that were dug up in the renovation placed behind glass. You will feel secure from the outside world as there is a large gate at the entrance. It is a 20 min walk from the main plaza and a safe walk in the evening if not alone. One thing that would be a benefit is for the hotel to supply coffee/tea for people to prepare for themselves especially midday and early evening and snacks to purchase.

Room Tip: the rooms in the main building are the best, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for three nights based on the very positive reviews but although the hotel is in a beautiful property and the room was pleasant enough with a really great view it is not in a great location. We found the bed very hard and the bedding uncomfortable. It is a good 20 minutes walk to the town making it feel quite cut off, especially at night when walking was scary. The other recent very positive reviews are surprising and the hotel was empty when we were there. There are plenty of much cheaper hotels much nearer the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivorbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arequipijn, Owner at Posada el Castillo, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hello mister Borkin,
I can inform you that after several calls the electricity company has repaired the light post just in front of our hotel, so it is not scary anymore to return to the hotel. As a resident of Peru you should know, that it is very hard to get some one to repair things, especialy them. And for being a resident we have to charge you the tax of 18% over the bill, I am sorry .Maybe that is why you think our hotel is more expensive than others. We know that some hotels don't do that .
Complainig the hotel is 15 minutes walk away of the center, surprises me, because you made the decision on the tripadvisors revenues, and almost all say that. It is simply a fact, old patrician's houses never are in the center, and all of our guests love it for that. Besides that, what is 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes taxi. You are passing some remarkable things..
It is a pitty you didn't tell us the bedding was not confortable, we would have loved to give you two blankets and a sheet in stead of the feather deck.
I hope things went better in Nazca, because,, as you said, it was a wrong decision to go to 2300 meters after having a hart attack 5 months before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1.2 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
1.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
1.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
Beausejour Boutique-hotel
#1 of 173 in Arequipa
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada el Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada el Castillo

Property: Posada el Castillo
Address: Pasaje Campos 105, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada el Castillo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada el Castillo is one of the best hotels in Arequipa, charming and comfortable. A mansion of impressive architecture looking over the whole city, the three volcanoes and the iron bridge, designed by EIFFEL, at the edge of the historical city center. The hotel is run by a Dutch/Peruvian couple, has 18 rooms all spacious, with balcony and/or garden view. Our breakfast is famous with fresh strawberry juice to die for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Posada el Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing