We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent restaurant in Central Arequipa”

La Trattoria del Monasterio
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$26
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant in Central Arequipa”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our first night in Arequipa so we chose here - we were advised to book and it did fill up later. An Italian / Peruvian fusion sort of place set into the walls of the monastery. I had cannelloni but stuffed with Peruvian flavoured beef, my wife had slow roasted lamb - both were very good. Desserts were rich and filing. The staff were efficient, friendly and well organised.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    160
    46
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We went to this restaurant for lunch and it was a fantastic experience. The whole ambiance and setting of the restaurant was very nice. Having already done the tour of the monestary of Santa Catalina earlier on the week made it into a very nice experience eating at the restaurant. It is a beautiful setting and the staff were very pleasant, professional and provided a very good service. All of us were very happy with the food, from the bread, main courses and the deserts. We will definitely come back to this restaurant before we depart Arequipa in a few days time.

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I had high expectations for this restaurant. People were saying it was one of the few "real" Italian restaurants in Peru.
Sadly, that's not the case. The food felt bland, and didn't have anything special. The service was terribly slow, and they didn't even open in time. The waiters seemed inexperienced and couldn't or wouldn't learn who had ordered the different plates.

We ordered some lasagnas and the taste was just not there. For the price, you're better off going someplace else

Helpful?
Thank arturogoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We came to the restaurant after the visit to the Monastery and we were impressed by the good service as well as by the delicious Italian and fusion specialties. As I am from italy I was a little skeptical but this restaurant can really compete with the Italian ones! We had cannellony and meat served with pasta and we were both satisfied.
The only thing to improve could be to get some heater so that one can sit without the jacket inside.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra_Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting in extraordinary monestary”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This little restaurant is situated in the wonderful monestario of Arequipa. We had diner over there and found it was an excellent experience during our travels through Peru. looking for Italian food we ended up in the Trattoria del Monestaria and very much enjoyed the experience. The restaurant is rather small with different, separate dining rooms, an interior in line with the atmosphere of the monestario. The staff was very professional and friendly. Food was excellent and according to my wife ( who is Italian) fairly "Italian" according to south American standards.
Choice of wine good and prices very reasonable (there is probably cheaper restaurants in Arequipa); so we recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a special atmosphere, cosy restaurant and good ( European) food;

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Trattoria del Monasterio also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to La Trattoria del Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing